The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

lancerfan

Postby lancerfan » September 9th, 2006, 11:51 pm

venum wrote:^^^ F5M42 may indeed be a better suggestion, with a change o teh flywheel

F5M41 will line up with same engine as some F5M42, with a change of flywheel

as with the CK4 Lancer MR (Manual)

seems the f5m42 seems to have a few versions..there's 1 with 4.529 FD..anyone know the code of this box..

lancerfan

Postby lancerfan » September 10th, 2006, 12:43 am

sorie guys...i've check...yup..think it's the gen2 boxes (f5m42) that may fit..ignore my above post...thx...

fras

Postby fras » September 14th, 2006, 10:03 am

Ok guys I dropped the manual to scan... but the guy say it would be a while cause of the amount of pages and he doing it at work. so hopefully soon.
Anywayz with power steering fluid yall using :?:

Postby ronsin1 » September 14th, 2006, 2:18 pm

Hey guys I ended buying one off these lancers (GDI) I got it in Tuesday it running nice holds the road good

But someone also told me that the engines give trouble is that true or is this just a rumor.

venum

Postby venum » September 14th, 2006, 6:08 pm

it's neither tru nor a rumor

GDI engines call for some special love and attention in certain areas

those who do not know how to deal with this, then call it trouble

maintain it well and you will have no trouble

TB tends to act up

Postby ronsin1 » September 15th, 2006, 10:30 am

all my pass cars were maintained to the fullest always took care of them but what areas need this attention.

fras

Postby fras » September 18th, 2006, 1:54 pm

Anyone done rear brakes conversation on their CS3A/CS2A :?:
WTK :?:
I don't like the responce I get from the car when I brake at high speed... the car kinda wobbles and the back sways like (like it wanna fishtail or spinout or something)

Postby Rainman » September 19th, 2006, 7:05 am

^^^i get that with mine too, but i also get it with a lot of ABS equipped cars.

as far as the rear disc conversion, i havent seen anyone doing this "yet".

fras

Postby fras » September 19th, 2006, 11:20 am

RainMan you think the rear disc would help :?:

Postby Rainman » September 19th, 2006, 12:17 pm

generally; vibration when braking is an indication of warped rotors. options are to either have them re-surfaced or changed. adding brakes in the rear will not correct a problem in the front of the car. it is better to correct the problem in the front. before doing any modifications.

venum

Postby venum » September 19th, 2006, 5:52 pm

frass wrote:RainMan you think the rear disc would help :?:

I'm not Rainman but I do not think that rear disc setup will solve this prob, at least it shouldn't be the first thing to attempt to solve the problem

check the rear brake bias first

you may be getting different brake forces at the rear wheels (one wheel getting more braking power that teh other) causing the apparent mis-handling.

rear discs will provide some improvement to drum, but since the majority of braking power (~70% - 80%) happen up front, you have only marginal room for improvement in the rear

Postby ronsin1 » September 20th, 2006, 6:18 am

on another issue I know that the throttle body in the GDI sometimes give trouble is there any early warning signal that you could pick up on and how often would you have to service the TB to try and prevent anything like this occuring also where is the best place to do the service.

venum

Postby venum » September 20th, 2006, 6:17 pm

^^^ I think that a general warning sign is the apparent loss of power

but that is when it has already went bad and needs some attention

fras

Postby fras » September 20th, 2006, 6:29 pm

venum wrote:
frass wrote:RainMan you think the rear disc would help :?:

I'm not Rainman but I do not think that rear disc setup will solve this prob, at least it shouldn't be the first thing to attempt to solve the problem

check the rear brake bias first

you may be getting different brake forces at the rear wheels (one wheel getting more braking power that teh other) causing the apparent mis-handling.

rear discs will provide some improvement to drum, but since the majority of braking power (~70% - 80%) happen up front, you have only marginal room for improvement in the rear

What I meant Venum was that if I added rear disc would it help with my brakin problem :!: I only have disc at the front (stock)

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » September 20th, 2006, 11:12 pm

i had my tb repaired 3 times(free of course) before complaining to d man and he give me a new one.

Postby ronsin1 » September 22nd, 2006, 6:33 am

on another issue I know that the throttle body in the GDI sometimes give trouble is there any early warning signal that you could pick up on and how often would you have to service the TB to try and prevent anything like this occuring also where is the best place to do the service

Hey guys Still looking for some info on this

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 4th, 2006, 8:51 pm

I serviced my tb by an auto garage in claxton bay. R's Auto Diesel & Body Works. Doh mind d name he deals with all vehicles. tel 659-2017. guys name is Richard. warning signals would be engine reving without any input (gas pledal). this also happens while the throttle is it at a steady position but the car sort of jerks forward and back while accelerating. oh and rough idle. this idle is very noticeable believe me.

Postby ronsin1 » October 5th, 2006, 5:32 am

Thanks man

fras

Postby fras » October 20th, 2006, 11:29 am

Anyone done a manual conversion?
WTK average?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 20th, 2006, 11:37 am

^^^ seriously interested in that

fras

Postby fras » October 30th, 2006, 12:07 pm

Bump :!:

R@lli@rt

2001 lancer engine mounts - wtb

Postby R@lli@rt » October 31st, 2006, 2:08 pm

aye fellas, i need to find me rear and front engine mounts 4 a gdi lancer - 2001...

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 31st, 2006, 6:57 pm

wow i was actually looking for some today. well i sent a guy to get for me. he got 2 of them someehwere in diego and i already had one of them from some store in the east. ill see if i can get the names of these places

venum

Postby venum » October 31st, 2006, 10:50 pm

^^^ in diego is prob Jurawan's

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 31st, 2006, 11:49 pm

yeah dat was it.

fras

Postby fras » November 1st, 2006, 4:58 pm

venum wrote:
Frass start teh ball rolling, does mom have any probs with hers?

these cars come with teh F101A CVT tranny and teh F5M41 gearbox

the gearbox is teh same as that on teh CK(1-4) lancers

Venum u sure the CS3A and the CK's use the same gear box F5M41 :?:
And my tranny is on the passenger side :!:
Last edited by fras on November 3rd, 2006, 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » November 1st, 2006, 8:22 pm

Nice thread so far and info for Lancer owners

But somehow the GDI model seems to give more probs generally speaking than the CK model....has anyone else noticed this???

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » November 1st, 2006, 8:23 pm

ronsin1 wrote:Hey guys I ended buying one off these lancers (GDI) I got it in Tuesday it running nice holds the road good

But someone also told me that the engines give trouble is that true or is this just a rumor.

^^^^^^^^^^ I noticed this too!

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 1st, 2006, 9:51 pm

the glx models dont give as much problems

venum

Postby venum » November 3rd, 2006, 5:31 pm

frass wrote:Venum u sure the CS3A and the CK's use the same gear box F5M41 :?:
And my tranny is on the passenger side :!:

the CS has the F5M41 gearbox, seen it myself

the CK has the F5M41 gearbox also, but the CK will not fit bolt-for-bolt on the CS, although it's teh same gearbox code

there are differences that the rest of teh gearbox code describes

can't say for certain just yet

Return to “MITSUBISHI”