Troubleshooting noise in the 03 WRX

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Redeyeblueeye

Troubleshooting noise in the 03 WRX

Postby Redeyeblueeye » December 12th, 2007, 6:28 am

I am hearing a humming drone noise only above 180kmh (goes away below this speed)

Other Symptoms:

A knock at the front right shock going over humps, bad roads etc. but it goes away after running the car for a while like say one north south down the highway.

My clutch is going. (grabby in 2nd and a chirpy single squeek occurs when engaging)

My tyres are not new

Any views or suggestions as to why the noise is occuring?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 12th, 2007, 9:02 am

My tyres are not new

Might be the cause of your humming noise.

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » December 12th, 2007, 10:23 am

where is the sound coming from?
the gearbox?
the wheels?
the back of the car?
the front?

Redeyeblueeye

Postby Redeyeblueeye » December 12th, 2007, 7:33 pm

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:23 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

where is the sound coming from?
the gearbox?
the wheels?
the back of the car?
the front?

It is really difficult to pinpoint at that speed since the frequency of the sound is very low. (hence a hum)

The tyres are a possibilty but concerned if it something more serious...(need to explore all other possibilities in the leiu of a high speed mishap)

Where are all the Scooby tech buffs who feel they got this one?

Postby tr1ad » December 13th, 2007, 9:12 am

your diffs are ok?

Redeyeblueeye

Postby Redeyeblueeye » December 14th, 2007, 10:42 am

I hope the diffs good...but if one was bad it would hum below 180 kmh too nuh?
I want to believe that its not mechanical (diffs or bearings) since its occuring only at critical velovity...;) But who knows...?

Any more suggestments from the experts?[/quote]

Mr.Scoobs

Postby Mr.Scoobs » June 4th, 2008, 4:17 pm

Check your bearings!

Return to “SUBARU”