What to look for????

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Reddo!

What to look for????

Postby Reddo! » July 27th, 2008, 12:06 am

Yeah fellars, jus to get some info? I had a C-34 laurel 25det, this was sold...so in light of this, I'm looking at the 'legacy' 2004 model roro (GT). Any ideas on what to llok for and what about the mtc'e cost???? any how often does it requires a tune-up?
hollar back...
"Burn rubber and not your Soul"

Reddo! aka I.C.E.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 27th, 2008, 6:32 am

Well, in actuality, most "turbo" Subarus have longer OEM-specified m'tce schedules than some regular cars. (e.g. these cars already come with platinum sprak plugs....longer m'tce interval - up to 100K km).

Unlike your regular "ol' time" turbo project cars (no offense to your former laurel, sir), these cars are most often start and drive, as most Legacy owners can attest to.

The important thing is to make sure to do your oil changes on time and use a good oil, and also as with any good car, don't go and abuse it.

Rx

Postby Rx » July 27th, 2008, 9:28 am

^^ well said , pallie.

Parts can be a bit pricey ... but i guess it's the same with other performance cars on the market today.

The Legacy is a really great car. 4 doors , a reasonable amount of boost , lots of luxury as well . It stands out from others in it's class.

Thumbs up !

riderz

Postby riderz » July 27th, 2008, 10:44 am

Nah I dont think parts are pricey depending on where you buying them. Having owned two Subarus and bringing in parts for countless others, the Subaru parts local when available new are affordable. Because of unavailability of new on the market people resort to used and then become victims to overprices parts.

I suggest, get a free skybox, a manageable credit facility (creditcard, paypal) and a good mechanic. Silverstar in St James are probably the safest option.

There you fix. Read as much as you can, ask questions on the forums.

And as knight1 said, run good oil. The most common engine failure is the Spun bearings and that is normally oil related.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 27th, 2008, 6:46 pm

Parts can be a bit pricey ...

I disagree there.

Compared to other cars in its class, parts in many cases are cheaper (compared to accords, camrys etc), as some parts are shared with other EJ20 powered cars.

Rarely will parts prices greatly exceed those of the other cars I mentioned. And I'm speaking from a "walk-in-the-firm-and-by-parts" standpoint. :wink:

Rx

Postby Rx » July 28th, 2008, 10:43 am

lol ..

I stand to be corrected . Parts are not pricey . :wink:

I keep comparing the parts to my previous car a Nissan B14 .. lol ..

thanx guys :)

Postby tr1ad » July 28th, 2008, 10:53 am

parts from the firm are well priced imo for the type of vehicle.

taking care of the car with regular service, proper oil ( as mentioned b4 )
u can bring in on your own, but remember usdm and jdm or sdm can differ
u need to ask urself is it worth it to sit an search for the part and ship down or is it easier to pay for the availability locally

a good amt of info has been shared thus far

good luck with your choice

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 28th, 2008, 11:31 am

u need to ask urself is it worth it to sit an search for the part and ship down or is it easier to pay for the availability locally

Best advice here tr1ad. Sometimes, it isn't sensible to wait for a part to be shipped in.

e.g. A gasket bought online may cost me 50.00 TTD landed,

But here it's 70 TTD. Yuh honestly gonna wait 2 weeks (and stop yuh mechanic for 2 weeks) for 20 dollars?

No ;)

But in other cases, it might be more prudent to do so for other m'tce parts! (e.g. fuel filter down here is circa 300+ TTD, I got mine for 210 shipped in myself).

Postby tr1ad » July 28th, 2008, 12:30 pm

Knight1,

yup

needs and wants are two different things altogether

imo if u saving 150$ + on an item that isnt urgently needed, u may come out better as an individual, then again if ur car is ur one and only and is down u may need to fork out the extra cash just for the availability

Reddo!

subaru 2004

Postby Reddo! » July 31st, 2008, 11:49 am

thanks alot guys...however can you all tell me the difference between the GT-B4 and the Spec-B. Hollar back...

I.C.E 'when you see me, you jus freeze'

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » July 31st, 2008, 6:46 pm

spec.b is just a sportier legacy...stiffer suspension, closer gears, SI drive etc...

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » August 1st, 2008, 12:51 am

For starters the car in your avatar is not a spec b............

Reddo!

Postby Reddo! » August 1st, 2008, 4:35 pm

ok no scene...however I'm getting this car.

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » August 1st, 2008, 9:56 pm

it's still an excellent ride, many owners can attest. :wink:

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » August 10th, 2008, 2:34 pm

Good choice... you will enjoy

Return to “SUBARU”