Renewal: BL5 Legacy Turbo Steering Module(Roll Connector).

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

ramishrrr

Renewal: BL5 Legacy Turbo Steering Module(Roll Connector).

Postby ramishrrr » December 5th, 2010, 4:24 pm

OK Folks,
The 2005 Subaru Legacy Turbo problem started off with the Airbag light going on. Then the horn went, then the tiptronic. The module was removed from the steering column, and I opened it. There are two see-through ribbon cables with a separator. Both ribbons are attached to the moving part of the module, and the non-moving part. Both cables are in poor condition (with various breaks), and cannot be repaired. I have contacted one of my dealers in Japan, and sent him all the info he requires. I also have to check N&M if they have it and for a price. Whenever I get a reply from Japan, depending on which will be cheaper I will have to get two, as a pal has the same problem.

The side with the yellow sticker is ZF10E400254
The opposite side is 04NOV11120099J0066.
The Blue stickers on the third photo are V415 and 27546AG000

I heard that it is a common problem with the BL-5 Turbo. Is it so ?
If any BL5 owner have this problem let me know, as I may be able to import it from Japan.
Regards,
RR.
2 Legacy Turbo Steering Wheel.jpg
2 Bar Code ZF10E400254 .jpg
2 Bar Code 04NOV1112009950066.jpg
27546AG000 B 1.jpg
Last edited by ramishrrr on December 22nd, 2010, 6:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

nemesis

Re: Renewal: BL 5 Legacy Turbo Steering Module.

Postby nemesis » December 6th, 2010, 12:25 am

Never heard of it before, but how much use did it go through to get to that I wonder. Before you import yourself you should contact sellers like AWDMotorsports and Sleepoy as they bring many stock parts. Might be cheaper if it's included in a regular shipment of some form.

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » December 6th, 2010, 8:44 pm

I went to N&M South today. The parts lady checked it out, first saying that the chassis number is "short", meaning that the JDM chassis number has fewer numbers and letters than those for the local market.
They have a name for this module, "clockspring" !!!
Anyway, I will have to go to Morvant for them to check on the computer image. I would like to check the steering wheel on the local car. If anyone has a local Legacy Turbo, please post a shot of the steering wheel.
I was told however, that it may be in the vicinity of TT$5,000 to order this module !!
I spoke with the Japanese supplier last night, so I hope that soon he will have some info. I hope it will be cheaper.
Regards,
RR.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 9th, 2010, 8:39 pm

^^^ what causes this module to wear out ? .... i changed my power steering pump a few weeks ago and it cost 3800 8] .... the prices of these things are frightening, isn't it !! lol.

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » December 10th, 2010, 6:36 am

Because you have movement inside, the ribbon cables can go bad, develop a break, or detach.
Worse still, if the steering rod has to be uncoupled from the rack, and some farse person rotates the steering wheel.................end of story for that module. It allows only about 3 turns either way !
But I believe that will happen to any vehicle with extra buttons on the steering wheel. However I know of two Legacies Turbo with the same problem.
Regards,
RR.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 10th, 2010, 7:06 am

^^^ well life could be worse, we only have have one life to live =] , spend all the money while we still young , heheh.

air wick

Postby air wick » December 10th, 2010, 8:13 am

the proper name according to the Subaru OEM catalog is "Roll Connector"

i got one for my 2004 Impreza by Gobin in the bamboo. Just carry the old one if you decide to check him.

online on http://www.subarugenuineparts.com/ it retails at $220 USD

air wick

Postby air wick » December 10th, 2010, 8:22 am

marcus8860 wrote:^^^ what causes this module to wear out ? .... i changed my power steering pump a few weeks ago and it cost 3800 8] .... the prices of these things are frightening, isn't it !! lol.

i had a bad steering rack and the steering wheel did more rotations that it supposed to and the ribbon cable burst.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 10th, 2010, 10:26 am

^^^^ ok !! , i now understand =] ....... so i guess to keep this from breakin, you need to inspect your rack =]

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 16th, 2010, 2:16 pm

marcus8860 wrote:i changed my power steering pump a few weeks ago and it cost 3800 8] .... the prices of these things are frightening, isn't it !! lol.

I changed mine at the cost of $1200 las month...u need to shop around dude :mrgreen:

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 16th, 2010, 2:30 pm

buh what trouble is this !!! ..... is that original ?

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » December 16th, 2010, 3:00 pm

Well folks,
Driving a Subaru ain't exactly for free.
My supplier in Japan is sending me a new unit for US $384 with air shipping. And like Travis said, it is called he "Roll Connector". As a matter of fact I have ordered two today, as another Legacy owner is having problems too.
While I may be able to get one cheaper from the Bamboo, it will be used and will have a shorter lifetime, as it is problematic on the Legacy.
On subarugenuineparts.com, it is described as LHD. It means that the owners after all that money spent, would have to get somebody to do some conversion...........too much drama !

One Legacy that was in a crash had the wiring harness damaged............over 250 wires had to be joined. The wiring harness in Japan is US $2,904 without shipping !!! The weight of it is about 10KGS !
Anyway, my advice is.......Whenever your steering rod has to be disconnected from the rack, get a pair of handcuffs and handcuff the steering wheel, so no garage apprentice will turn that unnecessarily. After 3-and-a-quarter-turns.......PAX!!!!!!!!!!!! Yuh ribbon an dem gorn !!
New Roll Connector !!
Regards.
RR.
Last edited by ramishrrr on December 22nd, 2010, 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 16th, 2010, 3:20 pm

^^^^ i dont see any problems there man , just send the bill to the garage that busted it in the 1st place =]

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 16th, 2010, 6:39 pm

Put wide enough wheels that you can drive normally but at almost full lock you'll hit your strut/shields so you can't go any further. :0)
Will increase your turning radius, but save your steering.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 17th, 2010, 8:45 am

nemesis wrote:Put wide enough wheels that you can drive normally but at almost full lock you'll hit your strut/shields so you can't go any further. :0)
Will increase your turning radius, but save your steering.

I like the way you think.
Been drooling over some 18x9's a while now, but i gotta slap myself in the face and say 'Focus VexXx, Focus.'
My humble 17x7.5 will suffice for now ;)

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 19th, 2010, 10:33 am

marcus8860 wrote:buh what trouble is this !!! ..... is that original ?
buh what trouble is this !!! ..... is that original ?

It's from a place in the US that re-builds the origional pump u have in your car..from research its really the seals by the banjo bolt that does fcuk up hence y it leaking all over d place..the OEM u got is fine...but might suffer from the same flaw eventually since its a manufacture defect

the 2008 wrx oem pump corrects this however..but its about $400 USD

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 19th, 2010, 10:45 am

hummm.

ramishrrr

Re: Renewal: BL5 Legacy Turbo Steering Module(Roll Connector

Postby ramishrrr » December 31st, 2010, 11:39 am

Yes Folks,
The 2 Legacy Steering Roll Connectors were collected from TTPost today. The cost of each was TT$2,580.
Regards,
RR.
2 New Roll Connectors.JPG
Last edited by ramishrrr on January 2nd, 2011, 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 31st, 2010, 1:07 pm

^^^^ congrats man , dias yuh new years gift !! lol =] .... so what you're saying is that through ignorance it broke ? .... don't forget to carry in your bills to the garage eh =]

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » December 31st, 2010, 10:19 pm

No,no,no Marcus,
It was not damaged in a garage.
This was "normal wear and tear", which I prefer to call a inherent problem with Subarus. I am finding out that there are quite a few owners who had to renew their roll connectors. That means a faulty design in the unit.
If it starts going in a car, as far as I see, there is no way that a person can fix that. To try and fix that, even removing it from the vehicle without prior knowledge of installation/removal, is to ask for more trouble. The only solution is renewal.
Regards,
RR.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » December 31st, 2010, 10:46 pm

^^^ gawwd !!! , so how do you know when it's going !!

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 1st, 2011, 6:29 am

Ok !
Now and then:
1.The horn doesn't blow.
2.The tiptronic buttons does not give you the gear-change when you press the button.
3.The Air bag light starts coming on.

Until you have no function at all.

RR.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » January 1st, 2011, 8:33 am

happy new year btw =] ..... ok so far im not seeing those symptoms =] .... this means i have time to start saving !! heheh =] ... what color is the legacy ? ... i right in v/bella .

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 1st, 2011, 7:23 pm

Dark blue. PCH
RR.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » January 1st, 2011, 7:29 pm

ok mines is pck grey with dark rims =]

Postby Redman » January 24th, 2011, 6:04 pm

Well my airbag light came on this weekend
Havent used the tiptronic in a WHILE
Neither the horn

I eh like this thread

Later

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » January 24th, 2011, 6:19 pm

^^^^ lol.

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 24th, 2011, 8:54 pm

The cheapest part of the whole scenario ?
I paid TT$100 to get it installed at Shannon's at Union Park Junction.
Boy, after all that money spent, I do not want to experiment. Let the pro do the job !!!
Regards,
RR.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » January 24th, 2011, 9:04 pm

wayys , like redman get blight there lol

SUBARUIST

Re: Renewal: BL5 Legacy Turbo Steering Module(Roll Connector).

Postby SUBARUIST » March 23rd, 2018, 4:11 pm

Bump.....

Return to “SUBARU”