WTK: fmic for vf37

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

jussblaze

WTK: fmic for vf37

Postby jussblaze » May 25th, 2012, 12:03 am

Doing some research and looking for as much advice as I can get..want to know what is the best fmic to fit my Rex....in terms of correct sizing, installation issues, reasonable price, etc...thanks in advance.. Its a stock sti with 3" turbo back exhaust..

Re: WTK: fmic for vf37

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 25th, 2012, 7:27 pm

If I had that choice for an STI, I'd go with this.
http://www.airpowersystems.com/wrx/apsw ... 5_fmic.htm

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » May 25th, 2012, 8:48 pm

that's one of the kits I was looking at..seems ideal but hoping to get something just a little less expensive...thanks for the advice...

kai

Postby kai » May 26th, 2012, 8:18 pm

Whats wrong with the stock intercooler

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » May 27th, 2012, 6:45 pm

the stock top mount is ok....i'm going to upgrade the turbo eventually and i'll need to go fmic...but i've seen people running a fmic on the 37 doing good numbers so want to try milking the 37 before i upgrade.

kai

Postby kai » May 27th, 2012, 8:27 pm

What exactly is good numbers?The sti intercooler will give you 330whp and better response than any front mount especially on the stock turbo,it was designed for your car.

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » May 28th, 2012, 12:04 am

ok cool....but i intend to go to the gt-30 eventually which would require the fmic...my thought was to get the fmic with the 37 and see how it performs then slap in the 30...i have a 4" DP currently (should have gotten a 2.5 or 3 smh) which has me kinda spiking....so my intentions 3-port ebcs, fmic, upgraded actuator and re-tune.....should have better performance within a better safety margin as opposed to the top mount heat soaking.....just my two cents....correct me if i'm wrong.. thanks for the reply..

air wick

Postby air wick » May 28th, 2012, 8:57 am

was looking at this kit for my bugeye, it comes with the bumper beam and the coolant bottle relocation kit
i have a TD05H-16G turbo, it's an ebay kit

http://www.ebay.com/itm/02-07-WRX-STi-F ... 76&vxp=mtr

kai

Postby kai » May 28th, 2012, 10:51 am

You will lose the great spool characteristics of your car with the gt30.Yes the front mount is better for that turbo but I would take an aps top mount with meth.Thas just me ,cause going in a straight line is boring and our cars were designed for so much more than that.Let us know how it works out :mrgreen:

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » May 29th, 2012, 1:02 am

ok cool thanks again

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 29th, 2012, 7:03 am

Just in case you're still deciding...

here's where I did some logging with the TMIC and afterwards with the FMIC.
Noticeable difference in ambient temps during daily driven conditions.

Also note that I did not experience any sinificant increase in lag or spool time.

viewtopic.php?f=34&t=334191

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » May 29th, 2012, 11:21 am

thanks... i read this post when i started looking for reviews on going fmic...and i really think it is the better way to go given our climate...my engine bay is super hot after a day drive and even worst in traffic.. so i think i'm going the fmic.

Postby 16 cycles » May 29th, 2012, 2:55 pm

jussblaze wrote:thanks... i read this post when i started looking for reviews on going fmic...and i really think it is the better way to go given our climate...my engine bay is super hot after a day drive and even worst in traffic.. so i think i'm going the fmic.

can try a turbo wrap / blanket to help minimize the heat soak in the engine bay - might be cheaper than a FMIC set-up and give you better turbo response as well....

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthr ... ?t=2227536
^ example of a review

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » May 30th, 2012, 9:10 pm

thats one of the things i have to get too.....still doing more research before i milk the life out this 37...thanks for the replies..

Postby honda hoe » June 5th, 2012, 8:52 am

kai wrote:What exactly is good numbers?The sti intercooler will give you 330whp and better response than any front mount especially on the stock turbo,it was designed for your car.

a turbocharged system is a CLOSED, pressurized system

i don't understand how ppl think that more piping = more lag, less response.

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » June 5th, 2012, 9:57 am

More piping,bigger core=more time to build pressure.

Postby Monk BANzai » June 5th, 2012, 12:07 pm

^^ yup...its a mistake that the VR4 guys do as well...go with big intercoolers and then have issues with lag with the stock tiny turbos that that was one very responsive.

Postby honda hoe » June 5th, 2012, 12:51 pm

ususally when ppl go from tmic to fmic they go bigger.. sometimes with bigger turbo as well

my original question applies to installing a fmic that is the same size as the tmic

assuming u don't change the turbo, will the extra piping lag a significant amount? i don't think it would.. but i new to turbo so feel free to correct me

also, would the benefits of no longer experiencing heat soak on the tmic offset the lag?

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » June 5th, 2012, 1:15 pm

banzai if i'm not mistaken you are running a 37 with a fmic setup....care to share any before and after experiences in terms of response, tuning, lag, etc

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » June 5th, 2012, 2:17 pm

^^^^He aint reach dey yet but soon...

Postby Monk BANzai » June 5th, 2012, 6:29 pm

^^ see Ragnarok? ppl tieen k meh car fassup.....nah i now upgrading to the 37....i considering the FMICactually... seeign that CERTAIN ppl *poke poster above" making meh poor....

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » June 6th, 2012, 3:58 pm

If you want a FMIC i getting that for u too...oh u still want the uppipe?

Postby Monk BANzai » June 6th, 2012, 5:39 pm

^^ nah... getting a set of Kinugawa headers and up-pipe.

kai

Postby kai » June 7th, 2012, 7:02 pm

honda hoe wrote:
kai wrote:What exactly is good numbers?The sti intercooler will give you 330whp and better response than any front mount especially on the stock turbo,it was designed for your car.

a turbocharged system is a CLOSED, pressurized system

i don't understand how ppl think that more piping = more lag, less response.

It will lag with the fmic compared to the stock tmic with the stock turbo,I know this for a fact,how how significant?Enough to go back from fmic to the tmic boy,time you ready to shift,the car with the tmic gone

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » June 7th, 2012, 8:52 pm

ok fellas. ithinking about installing water meth first with the tmic as this from what i have researched and was advised(feel free to comment) was the better path to take. whats the best kit to install.. there are a few kits i've seen but aquamist has one of the best kits in terms of their features that is install, operation and fail safe....was watching the A.E.M but the failsafe for that kit is not that reliable....

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » June 8th, 2012, 9:20 am

Who u getting to tune ur car when the meth kit installed?

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » June 8th, 2012, 9:34 am

There is sidken(Paul) in Diego martin and I've heard lyndon does good work also.....can u recommend anyone...

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » June 17th, 2012, 10:31 am

^^^^^

Return to “SUBARU”