WTK: Tune Legacy for super gas

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

MJ

WTK: Tune Legacy for super gas

Postby MJ » October 6th, 2012, 10:41 pm

would like to know who i can go to to tune my 2007 Legacy GT for super gas.
i'll be installing an AEM water/meth kit one time.
what are the cons of doing this? i am aware of the pros... at least in my case

marcus8860

Re: WTK: Tune Legacy for super gas

Postby marcus8860 » October 10th, 2012, 7:49 am

i dont know about the 07 model , but i have a stock 05 model and i've been using super for the past 2 years =] , no ping nuttin !! ..... there's a little drop in power but who cares at a midlife age of 37 =] ... i would cost me $100.00 from san fernando to pos and back .... and with super its an unbelievable $30.00 with cruisin speed , its like the needle is stuck =] .... i can imagine how much it costs to full up with premium now.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 10th, 2012, 8:59 am

if you let the tank run to 1/6 mark, it would take about 275.
the only way you can know for sure is to do some datalogging on the super under various conditions.
I suspect that in midday heat and high traffic conditions, the ecu would retard timing the most. A lot of time the knock may not be audible in newer engines, because the ECU is already attempting to compensate by pulling timing. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but dont WMI kits only work under WOT?

It also depends on your driving style. You may get away with it if you stay off boost; but where's the fun in that?

Cyar play mas and fraid powder!

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » October 10th, 2012, 12:09 pm

LOL Your car may be bleeding on the inside dan. As Dogg said, unless u did some loggin u know never know for sure..cuz most times the knock isn't even that audible especially over the noise of ur barrels

Super is whey too risky to use.

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » October 10th, 2012, 9:58 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:if you let the tank run to 1/6 mark, it would take about 275.
the only way you can know for sure is to do some datalogging on the super under various conditions.
I suspect that in midday heat and high traffic conditions, the ecu would retard timing the most. A lot of time the knock may not be audible in newer engines, because the ECU is already attempting to compensate by pulling timing. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but dont WMI kits only work under WOT?

It also depends on your driving style. You may get away with it if you stay off boost; but where's the fun in that?

Cyar play mas and fraid powder!

Boost pressure is the trigger there for if 5 psi is set as start point and 14 psi end point. U dont need to by WOT to trigger Meth.

However for question your asking buddy super and meth however have a tuner check map and log car for knocks etc. If u need help contact me would put you on to some1

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » October 11th, 2012, 9:31 am

Also, with meth, your oil drain intervals would be much shorter..say 3500Km.

Is all that headache really worth it jus to save a couple bucks on fuel?

Lance

Postby Lance » October 22nd, 2012, 10:37 am

jadakiss wrote:Also, with meth, your oil drain intervals would be much shorter..say 3500Km.

Is all that headache really worth it jus to save a couple bucks on fuel?

What's the reasoning behind the shorter drain intervals when running meth?

I'm not disputing it, just would like some more info.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 22nd, 2012, 6:16 pm

I believe that the meth mixture causes some blowby past the rings and causes early oil deterioration

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 23rd, 2012, 3:05 pm

why use meth?
If you're using WMI for the benefit of running lower octane gas, plain ole water should suffice.

Lance

Postby Lance » October 24th, 2012, 7:58 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I believe that the meth mixture causes some blowby past the rings and causes early oil deterioration

Don't most high quality nozzles sprays a highly atomized mist that would completely vaporize when sprayed?

I'm guessing most guys running <300whp would be running something like a 0.7mm nozzle (or smaller) and won't be spraying a lot of water/meth.

Does blowby happen even under these conditions?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 24th, 2012, 9:04 am

@Lance, I'm really not sure, I think I read something to that effect when doing some research for the leggy. I'm not a really a WMI advocate - maybe one of the resident gurus can step in and clarify.

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2012, 10:26 am

even tho i have an AEM water/meth kit i personally wouldn't take the chance to use super

the money u will save on gas u may have to spend back on an engine rebuild/replacement, especially if u have a heavy foot

MJ

Postby MJ » October 26th, 2012, 3:14 pm

Wow thanks for all the replies guys, I'm still researching and getting advice from various tuners so ill let you all know what's the final verdict. Wasn't there a guy on here tho with an Evo V doing near 400hp on super? I'm not trying to build power just want a reliable tune on super, if it ain't possible no biggie just ease of the gas as I've been doing lately lol

Lance

Postby Lance » October 30th, 2012, 2:36 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:@Lance, I'm really not sure, I think I read something to that effect when doing some research for the leggy. I'm not a really a WMI advocate - maybe one of the resident gurus can step in and clarify.

Thanks man

I've read that a shorter drain interval may be needed for the first oil change since the injection will remove much of the carbon buildup in the engine?

Return to “SUBARU”