WTK. seveenteens or eighteens on 2008 1.5 impeza

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Alpha trini

WTK. seveenteens or eighteens on 2008 1.5 impeza

Postby Alpha trini » September 22nd, 2013, 12:24 pm

I just imported a 2008 impreza 1.5. i cud do with some advice on using seventeens or eighteens. I am concerned about the impact the rims will have on ride comfort, maintenance, touching when turning and any other useful information will be appreciated. thanks

ramishrrr

Re: WTK. seveenteens or eighteens on 2008 1.5 impeza

Postby ramishrrr » September 23rd, 2013, 4:48 am

Advice on 17s & 18s.......Don't.
Check the doorpost on the driver's side for correct tyre info.
Regards,
RR.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » September 23rd, 2013, 5:03 am

Yo ....17s means u need either 45 or less tyre profile with 45....u might touch once car is full ....suspension will be affected if stock as u have more shock wen driving over bumps 40 profile is even more shock but u wont touch.....better thing to do...16s and 50 profile u may touch wen car full but ur suspension will have more life span. ....dis is economic info lol...Most people throw this out the Window and drive on the next side of the road or take their time on small holes jus to have big rim n small tyre. ..hope tht helps

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 23rd, 2013, 6:35 am

Thanks for advice. Appreciated

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » September 23rd, 2013, 2:40 pm

i have 18" on mine, i actually hate low profile tyres. burst a few already

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 23rd, 2013, 8:04 pm

I guess there is no one out there that has any positive thing to say about seventeens or eighteens.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 24th, 2013, 8:34 am

lol ^^^ well the only positive thing about 17s & 18s is that it looks good =] but when you hit a hole or dead dog it can get ugly cause the rim bends and you have to take the time and money to fix it ... I assume 16s are the stock size? , if so, just get a nice set of 16s like these : D

http://www.ebay.com/sch/Wheels-/43953/i ... 0Aspirated
... they will look good.. the ride will be real smooth, you could pick up yuh baby (with her friends) and cruise to maracas or mayaro and you can still give pops a borrow and not worry if he "didn't see the wasa hole" when it was raining =] .... 50 series runs great !!

Postby Ted_v2 » September 24th, 2013, 9:05 am

^what he said. I know a few people with 18" and they always avoiding holes and driving slow. What's the point?

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » September 25th, 2013, 2:19 pm

Yup I have some 16s 50 profile
1380133176368.jpg

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 25th, 2013, 2:57 pm

^^ nice plugin there man =] ...... so AT, imagine these rims painted in hyper-black or gunmetal or a dark bronze : D

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 26th, 2013, 2:07 pm

I am very grateful for the advice thus far, but what confuses me is that I know personally two people using eighteens on a forester and an impreza with no complaints so far. So it leads me to believe that either they lying or something wrong somewhere. I ain't no spring chicken I have had alot of cars in my life and was always of the belief that eighteens and seventeens gave a bad ride, damaged cars suspension and prone to blowout or bend rim if it hits a pothole. I would love to be proven wrong because I really like the look of the seventeens but I don't want to damage my car just for image sake. So if there is anyone out there with some positive experiences using seventeens or eighteens let me know because so far it looks like sixteens is the way to go

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 26th, 2013, 2:17 pm

^^ lol , you seem confused =] ..... I say buy the 18s if it really grinding you and its something that you really really want , cause you'll buy the 16s and regret that you didn't buy the 18s =] ... after a year or so you might end up buying 16s cause of damage or high maintenance, so just keep the same diameter of the stock size, so if its 18s you'll have to 40series ... not much rubber there for the holes we have ...... how about going 16s with a smaller width like 205 or 195 and drop it lower with some tein springs !!! ahhh haa =] ... can you see it?????

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 26th, 2013, 7:29 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1380238110.822087.jpg
saw these in south. Eighteens. Like the. Style would like them in seventeens

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 26th, 2013, 7:30 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1380238209.337521.jpg
these are seventeens

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 26th, 2013, 7:33 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1380238315.353000.jpg
this is the car the I am looking to put the rims on

Postby Ted_v2 » September 26th, 2013, 8:33 pm

Get some used Wrx rims.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 26th, 2013, 9:44 pm

Alpha trini wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1380238110.822087.jpg
saw these in south. Eighteens. Like the. Style would like them in seventeens

ok, forget these here lol , it just looks like everyday, common rims =] .... the first thing to determine is : what kind of look do you want? , is it the flashy chromish common look, the factory clean original look? , or do you want the dark side gangsta I mean business ymcmb theres no other impreza like mines look ? =]

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 26th, 2013, 9:54 pm

btw soundboy , are those wrx wheels made in japan ? , if so those will be much more durable and lasting wheels ... I could see it painted over in a dark bronze or a gunmetal like these rota gravels here =] ... and some rays wheel nuts to go with that =]

Postby Ted_v2 » September 26th, 2013, 9:56 pm

I know the rims come with the stock Wrx /sti
Different paint and wheel lugs really do bring them out

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 26th, 2013, 10:06 pm

^^^ yes yes the popular pink =] .... reminds me of the dark grey legacy with orange wheels , very different and one of a kind .... its nice when you can stand out in the crowd like a diamond in the gravel ... they would say "yeah man I know that impreza with the bronze wheels, my girlfriend does go crazy everytime she see it" and "all those convent girls does always be begging and fighting over that man for a ride .... "I wish I was a champion like him" =]

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 27th, 2013, 4:30 am

Interesting. You guys actually sound like you are advocating the use of seventeens. Strange. I thought you were against seventeens or eighteens? As far is the look I am going for I am not really sure. Will decide when I test fit rims on car to see which one suits the car.

webb

Postby webb » September 27th, 2013, 5:54 am

Alpha trini wrote:Interesting. You guys actually sound like you are advocating the use of seventeens. Strange. I thought you were against seventeens or eighteens? As far is the look I am going for I am not really sure. Will decide when I test fit rims on car to see which one suits the car.

http://www.wheel-size.com/size/

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 27th, 2013, 6:01 am

lol AT , I cant be against the 17s cause the legacy comes stock with it =] ... all im saying is stick with what the manufacturer recommends and go for the look that you want : D

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » September 27th, 2013, 6:12 am

AT, it all depends on what the user wants. some ppl doh mind the stiffer ride with 17/18. others use a higher profile tyre to maintain some comfort. suspension also has a part to play a softer suspension may rub and depending on the width and offset of the rims they may rub as well. I have 17's on my forester and they did rub with 225/50 tyres in the beginning with stock suspension, but now on sti suspension they dont rub even with 255/45 tyres. i did notice an increase in stiffness going from 16 to 17 but it wasnt that much and i actually liked the sportier feel, also my handling increased. I have a friend with a gc8 and he prefers 16 because of the look.

So to sum it up, if you want 17 and are concerned about rubbing but dont mind the added stiffness,
get a 7inch wide rim with close to stock offset, and keep the tyre dimensions close to stock and you should have no probs.

I cant comment on damaging rims as i chose a beefier tyre because of my driving style i hate slowing down for anything bumps included. i run hard on rough roads constantly, never had a problem.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 27th, 2013, 6:37 am

yes a 17x7 with et of +40 to +45 .... I had put on 18x8 et +45 and had no touching but with those made in china and Thailand wheels any hole would dent them , so im back to 225/45/17 and the manuf. recommends 215/45/17 ... but it handles real good with the extra width and a 1" drop with the tein high tech springs =] ..... so if AT goes with 16s and a 1 to 1.5" drop it will fill up that fender space and appear like 17s but ride like 16s with a lil stiffer ride .... AT if you're in south check out Linton Ramasir in v/bella and M.Ramrattan, they have good prices and styles , also Roston in debe has a nice range to choose from.

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 27th, 2013, 11:12 am

All kicks aside, most likely I going seventeens. And according to the Tire Addict website once I use 225 x 45 x. 17 tyres I should maintain the cars original circumference. But may have to wait until next week since licensing office sticking with my number plate. Going there today but I do suspect that I will not get plate until next week. So I have a little more time to go rim shopping

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 27th, 2013, 12:18 pm

^^ ok great, so did you decide what look you want?

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » September 27th, 2013, 7:57 pm

As to look, not sure. Don't want to look to flashy. I want to stand out but not for the wrong reasons. I guess the clean factory look. But right now I have no number plate so will have to wait until I can drive to rim shops to see which rims give me the desired look

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 27th, 2013, 10:35 pm

you mean that you don't want to be too showy and intimidate the chicks =] ... theres nothing wrong with being the "alpha male" , women like to see and feel dominated =] ... that being said, what do you think about the dark wheels? too showy ? too dirty ?

http://www.workwheelsusa.com/product.ph ... &wheel=124

or maybe something like this ......

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » September 27th, 2013, 10:46 pm

enjoy the tire-rack ... you can see how it looks on the vehicle too =]

http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/results. ... sort=Brand

Return to “SUBARU”