engine rebuild

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

NiSmO-R

Re: engine rebuild

Postby NiSmO-R » February 21st, 2014, 2:13 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
NiSmO-R wrote:Thanks for the reply, I really really can't afford a rebuild right now which is why I asked. I asked the mechanic who looked after the car since it was brought in from Japan a few days after I bought it if there was anything I should address or look at to keep the car as healthy as possible, I figured this guy has the history of the car so he would know best, his response more or less was nah everything is fine so just come in for a regular service at the next interval. I said are you sure, fluids are fine? filters are fine and he said yes the car was maintained well.

Cut to a week later and due to a badly clogged fuel filter I lost a Walbro pump and by extension a Coil pack.

Sigh

Can't blame the mech for that one. Suppose the filter was changed at a previous service and you got some bad gas that fscked the filter?

I suppose that's a possibility but I don't see bad gas doing such a high level of clogging in one go (correct me if I'm wrong) and it's not only the surface dirt but the element itself which is just saturated... I don't blame the mech I think its truthfully my fault for not doing enough research to discover there is a filter in the tank assembly and that some say it never needs to be changed while some do it at the 100K service and others do it even sooner.

I was new to car and an assurance from the previous owner that the 100K service was done( fuel filter was not included I would find out after) and from the mech that everything was fine owing to that same service was what I went on.

Postby 16 cycles » February 21st, 2014, 7:43 pm

I was lucky to hear my fuel pump doing a death rattle so was able to swap it and in tank filter...

To OP...500whp sounds like head work needs to done...

Cost eveything plus labor and check against a crate engine capable of holding that power ....

Dunno if gbox needs upgrading as well for that power level

Good luck

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » February 22nd, 2014, 12:59 am

6spd sti box could hold it no probs. As with all things depends on how you drive, but there are single digit 1/4mile subarus with stock 6spd gearbox. The axles tend to snap before anything else anyway.
wrx 5spd is going to prolly last a year at most with that kind of power without internals, and if you drive easy.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » February 22nd, 2014, 9:28 am

Grudge wrote:That not bad at all.
Superman what oil were you using?

amsiol full synthetic

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » February 22nd, 2014, 9:40 am

i have a 5 speed box with a excedy stage 1 set up already in the car so i will stick with that for now later on i may upgrade to a 6 speed was considering buying a sti drive train but for my hp i will still have to build the egine so later on i will decide how i am upgrading the gear box

Postby Ted_v2 » February 27th, 2014, 7:50 pm

correct.

save and go with a ej257 and use back your heads.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 1st, 2014, 12:11 pm

where will i get the ej257 block

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 1st, 2014, 12:16 pm

fellas jus for your info i was doing some research and the manley h beam rods usually breaks at 425 to 450 hp so i checking out the I beam rods or eagle
the carillo rods also have good reviews

Postby Ted_v2 » March 1st, 2014, 12:17 pm

Not to sure about the exact name. But they are a Powerseller. Close to 20k for a block
Last edited by Ted_v2 on March 1st, 2014, 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lance

Postby Lance » March 1st, 2014, 3:58 pm

You can bring in a block yourself as well.... They are available on ebay..

If you're looking to build the car for big power, you might also want to look into just buying case halves and building the block from the ground up (crank, rods, pistons and bearings).

It depends though, a lot of people have hit stock 2.5s with 400+ with little problem. The weak point seems to be the pistons on the oem block.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 1st, 2014, 8:06 pm

superman, check AWDMotorsports for the stock EJ257 block should take you up to 350-375 comfortably

You stated that your goal is 450+whp, but what's your budget to reach that goal?

Looking at
beefed up drivetrain (6MT conversion?) - 25K
Big turbo and injectors and a good EMS - 35K
Built forged bottom end- 30K?
Headwork, cams, valves, springs, port/polish - 10K?
Ancillary stuff, aftermarket I/H/E - 10-15K

Lance

Postby Lance » March 2nd, 2014, 5:37 am

I would argue to take an ems off that list..

450 is child's play on a stock ecu for a good tuner

Postby Ted_v2 » March 2nd, 2014, 7:13 am

so basically he needs something like the following to get the car back running.
a tune
new block, using back ej20 heads.
injectors with a fuel pump upgrade
and a turbo
uppipe and down pipe.

how much power the stock 5speed could take without much abuse?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2014, 7:50 am

id stay with my lil stock engine yes lol...

saw the car by barry....good luck with the build....

i can link you up with my padna ren who did a similar build in his wrx...currently he is putting out around 450hp on race fuel..

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 2nd, 2014, 10:52 am

the car has aftermarket up and down pipe hoses exhaust 550cc injectors fuel pump apexi intake and some other stuff already
remember i said my final gold is 500hp as i have to build the engine i will do that properly so later on i will upgrade the turbo and retune to suit

Lance

Postby Lance » March 2nd, 2014, 12:46 pm

You seem to have the bolt on foundation for at least a 300hp machine in the short term (provided that the turbo is capable).

But you have the right mentality I think, build the bottom end for your ultimate goal of 450whp since the engine will already be out.

What vehicle is it? Is it a SDM or JDM Wrx? Does it have avcs heads?

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 12th, 2014, 2:34 pm

its a 2002 local wrx i dont think it have avcs heads actually i am not sure
the car also have hks ssq2 a real hks not the 800 dollar one everyone selling and claiming it real
aftermarket topmount intercooler

Lance

Postby Lance » March 13th, 2014, 6:50 am

The local Wrx might have been Australian spec so it may have avcs...your mechanic should easily verify though.

Avcs will help a lot as you try to go into the big power and still maintain some response

Subaru had so much variations in it's heads it's hard to know which is on that particular local vehicle. Once it's torn down they should be able to verify and that should help you as you plan out what head work might be needed.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 21st, 2014, 4:00 pm

fellas wat allyuh think about re sleeving the ej2ot block using
Darton Dry Block Sleeves Subaru Impreza EJ20 02-05 WRXDarton Dry Block Sleeves Subaru Impreza EJ20 02-05 WRX
i am considering this

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 21st, 2014, 4:24 pm

Lance

Postby Lance » March 21st, 2014, 4:31 pm

Nothing Novel about that ams kit. You could buy the parts individually and save cash.

You seem to be confused about you your power goals.

A sleeved block is not really necessary for your intended power level. A good semi closed block with strong internals will be sufficient.

In any event, there isn't anyone locally that I would remotely recommend to sleeve an EJ block. You can't even find a local machine shop with a torque plate much less trust them with this.

Unless you plan to machine it in the US. I would humbly recommend that you stay away from this.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 21st, 2014, 10:27 pm

Superman2, what's your budget?

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 22nd, 2014, 3:23 pm

no fix budget as yet i was jus looking at my options instead of buying a new block

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 22nd, 2014, 3:26 pm

someone was telling me baldwin can do it

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 22nd, 2014, 3:35 pm

i was looking at the ams kit they using mamnley h beam rods for 600+ hp at 9500rpm but manley h beam have been known to snap at 425-450

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 22nd, 2014, 6:57 pm

From experience, I would suggest setting a budget and working reasonably within it, because an uncapped project can quickly turn into a financial black hole. You won't realize how much you spent until way after

Lance

Postby Lance » March 22nd, 2014, 7:04 pm

You also need to curb your avenues for advice... You seem mildly confused.

In a build like this, you need to put on your critical thinking cap and do your own research. Combine this with what others say and then make a decision that is logical to you.

Everyone will have their own opinions based on biases gained from experience or affiliation.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 8:27 pm

^ agreed

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » March 23rd, 2014, 9:09 am

i know what u mean i am doing alot of reading and jus getting the opinions of different people who did different builds before i start mines i will only buy parts when the engine is taken apart an we decide what route to take

Return to “SUBARU”