Type of legacy to buy

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

EEng

Type of legacy to buy

Postby EEng » July 12th, 2014, 1:12 am

Wanted to know which type of legacy to buy, 2.0i, 2.5i, hardly seeing the 2.0r and well I love the look of the turbo model but not so sure about how bad the gas gonna kill me with premium

Re: Type of legacy to buy

Postby Ted_v2 » July 13th, 2014, 2:22 pm

2.5I or 2.0gt

or the big daddy 2.5gt

EEng

Postby EEng » July 14th, 2014, 9:27 pm

well i lookin for an everyday car btw, lol. I can afford to buy the 2.0gt but to put premium in that everyday, jah

Postby tr1ad » July 14th, 2014, 10:23 pm

If yuh worried bout gas, best you take an N/A model

EEng

Postby EEng » July 14th, 2014, 11:19 pm

yea boy that lookin like the best thing to do

EEng

Postby EEng » July 14th, 2014, 11:22 pm

I would've still liked an idea from turbo legacy owners on how the gas bill does be

Postby tr1ad » July 14th, 2014, 11:53 pm

It's turbo, depends on how you drive.
If always WOT then expect to pay a lot on fuel, if you a cruiser then it shouldn't be any worry

On constant WOT I would get 320 km to a tank

Postby Ted_v2 » July 15th, 2014, 12:08 am

Damn that's a lot.

EEng

Postby EEng » July 15th, 2014, 12:12 am

and how much it costs u to fill up

Postby tr1ad » July 15th, 2014, 1:11 am

EEng

Postby EEng » July 15th, 2014, 2:39 am

wel i'm a cruiser so i guess it not to bad

Postby SR » July 15th, 2014, 8:33 am

Average $1 per km on fuel cost for the turbo legacy and approx 250-300 per tank depending on driving conditions

This is on a retuned ecu

Postby tr1ad » July 15th, 2014, 9:25 am

SR wrote:Average $1 per km on fuel cost for the turbo legacy and approx 250-300 per tank depending on driving conditions

This is on a retuned ecu

best rule of thumb

EEng

Postby EEng » July 15th, 2014, 10:13 am

Thanks fellaz

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » July 20th, 2014, 11:58 am

Circa $320-ish at gaslight lol

the LGT is def not a fuel efficient car and if it's cruising they speak off then that's hiway driving for sure..driving around the town/stop and go traffic will wreck your avg km/l..but still not bad for a car weighing over 3000 lbs

that being said..its a fun car to own lol

Postby Ted_v2 » July 20th, 2014, 2:01 pm

I must own one.
Either a Gt or a normal Leggy.

EEng

Postby EEng » July 21st, 2014, 11:23 am

yea bro me 2, lol

Postby black start » July 21st, 2014, 11:35 am

Opie you check the legacy seat to roof clearance for the tallis nuh....

Non turbo wagon btw

Densil

Postby Densil » August 8th, 2014, 5:38 pm

If price of gas is a problem...you can water meth and re-tune for super gas...so invest a $2800 for a meth kit...and retune for a $2000 or so.....and spend $140 in super gas instead of $320 premium......or if you don't want the meth... just retune for super.... but the car will have less power...it's your call.....running with meth is safer for your engine.... but you have to fill it up too...but you still come out cheaper..:grin:

Lance

Postby Lance » August 9th, 2014, 4:53 pm

If gas prices are an issue, my advice would be to go non turbo.

Buying a turbocharged vehicle only to restrict it's performance is counterproductive.

Postby tr1ad » August 10th, 2014, 8:20 pm

exactly!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 10th, 2014, 8:40 pm

Densil wrote:If price of gas is a problem...you can water meth and re-tune for super gas...so invest a $2800 for a meth kit...and retune for a $2000 or so.....and spend $140 in super gas instead of $320 premium......or if you don't want the meth... just retune for super.... but the car will have less power...it's your call.....running with meth is safer for your engine.... but you have to fill it up too...but you still come out cheaper..:grin:

Might I ask what is the price of methanol currently. ....
Cause in my mind it would work out to be about the same.
How far does one litre of methanol go.
Must also mention that you are adding more things in your car to go wrong.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » August 12th, 2014, 10:55 pm

in my forester running 20psi on a sti turbo i used a gallon of meth about every 10-14 days. WOT HEAVY. one gallon costs $40. prices vary +/-$7 depending on who u buy from. Keep in mind one gallon in the tank is a 50/50mix water and meth, So you use $20 meth and the rest water, to fill a 1 gallon tank. Also i sellin meh foz an part it out. My meth kit for sale $1800 buy it nah sombody.

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » January 4th, 2015, 9:01 pm

OP what's your daily commute?

If you're concerned about saving cash then gas may not be your only concern. These cars are built well so when a part does need to be changed you should strive to go OEM as much as possible and those parts aren't cheap.

I have my own 11 months now and honestly can't see myself driving anything else... I wouldn't even trade it for Mercedes C class and GLK350 which I rented in Miami.

Buy a Turbo and drive sensibly and you will LIKE yourself, the car is heavy so even with a N/A it isn't gonna be as fuel efficient as say something light like a Swift or a Pickup.

My foot is heavy but I have the SI Drive so I put it on Intelligent which limits me to part throttle and 5psi which is pretty efficient but this is like giving a child a container of sweets and saying have one a day I'm afraid I drive mainly in Sport and I spend some time at the pumps

Postby DVSTT » January 4th, 2015, 11:06 pm

KiD wrote:in my forester running 20psi on a sti turbo i used a gallon of meth about every 10-14 days. WOT HEAVY. one gallon costs $40. prices vary +/-$7 depending on who u buy from. Keep in mind one gallon in the tank is a 50/50mix water and meth, So you use $20 meth and the rest water, to fill a 1 gallon tank. Also i sellin meh foz an part it out. My meth kit for sale $1800 buy it nah sombody.

Always wondered how long meth lasted.

Postby honda hoe » January 22nd, 2015, 12:35 pm

SR wrote:Average $1 per km on fuel cost for the turbo legacy and approx 250-300 per tank depending on driving conditions

This is on a retuned ecu

yup. same thing with my sti

Postby black start » January 23rd, 2015, 2:09 am

Opie bought the turbo version....spec b I think.....car pretty decent!

solidust

Postby solidust » April 7th, 2015, 11:01 am

Is there any difference with the regular Legacy B4 non turbo and B4 B Sport besides cosmetic?
Both carry identical engine and transmission?

Need to know thanks.

Postby 16 cycles » April 7th, 2015, 2:14 pm

Return to “SUBARU”