Premium or Super

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Lance

Re: Premium or Super

Postby Lance » April 10th, 2015, 5:58 am

nick639 wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:only safe way is to retune with methanol....the performance will not be the same as running premium but once retuned it would be a bit close to it.....

Jus asking here, what about methanol on a NA engine?? Simple car like maybe a y11 or civic.. Does it make sense?

Also where does one get the methanol to purchase? And pricing? How meth much does an avg car use per tank of gas?

Forced Induction Engines are more susceptible to this sort of engine detonation. That being said, W/M injection can be of benefit to any combustion engine. However, it must be tuned for.

MAF is not the only way to control W/M in N/A vehicles. Superior kits use IDC.

A simple car like a civic of Y11 can accommodate the installation of W/M. But I assume that it would have to be for performance implications (as these cars are already capable of running super with no problem).

If it's for increased performance then things become tricky. W/M injection must be tuned for in order for you to experience any sort of increased performance. Simply installing the kit will richen your A/F ratio considerably and will dampen power. If you inject too much it will even damage your engine.

On a car that has a tune-able ECU (even N/A) you can trim your fuel and bump the ignition timing to get more power. A Y11 or Civic doesn't allow for this so you will have to find alternative means of engine management. In the end, its simply not worth it.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 10th, 2015, 5:28 pm

tr1ad wrote:But Ent you have chemistry distinction ?

You should be able to tell us that the lower grade mixture can override the faster combustible higher grade

Quit while you ahead and try to offer meaningful advice.

Have you ever owned a subaru? Do you understand the impact a RON lower than what is recommended can do?
Are you even aware that all these "octane boosters" and treatments can do more harm?

You have the Chem background.... You tell us

I knw is subaru alyuh talking jus here to learn so I will have an idea of how to treat one in the future. Do u mind sharing about how octane boosters can damage an engine? I regularly use on my qg18de.

Postby tr1ad » April 10th, 2015, 5:33 pm

Wear on the hoses, they degrade the material

Lance

Postby Lance » April 10th, 2015, 6:16 pm

Some of the cheaper ones are just blends of kerosene as well.

passing180

Postby passing180 » April 18th, 2015, 9:47 am

Meth with a retune

My LGT takes $140 to fill with super and lasts a week EASILY

Meth is cheap
$2800 for the kit
AROUND $1000 to install (thats how much i paid)
~$40tt for a gal of meth
50/50 with water

Not that much hassle.

Very little power loss before boost kicks in but DEF worth it

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2015, 12:47 pm

Is that $1k install with tuning for super? or just labor to install the hard parts?

AEM V2 for $2800.00 right?

passing180

Postby passing180 » April 19th, 2015, 12:40 am

I paid $2800 for my AEM V2 Kit
$1000 to install
im already ecutek tuned.. $2000 to tune for super/meth

I did not see a noticeable decrease in performance and i save alot of money by the gas station.

I get approx 450-500km per tank ($140 to full when gas light is on)
Used to spend ~$500-$600 per week in gas. No i dont even spend $200 per week on super and meth

DO the maths.. its worth it

Lance

Postby Lance » April 19th, 2015, 5:38 am

You're a technical person as well nerve. The installation of the kit is no more complicated than a deck install.

The only mechanical aspect is removing the top mount and tapping it for the methanol injector.

I did my install in a few hrs.

I didn't have a tap set so I installed everything and bird drilled and threaded the intercooler for me.

You will also need to mod the injector input to install a 90deg fitting so that the met line isn't strained. But that's simple as well.

Postby nervewrecker » April 19th, 2015, 3:03 pm

Downloaded the manual for the AEM v2 and it looks simple and straight forward to install.
The tuning part I have no idea about though.

ramfab2000

Postby ramfab2000 » April 20th, 2015, 5:01 am

Lance wrote:You're a technical person as well nerve. The installation of the kit is no more complicated than a deck install.

The only mechanical aspect is removing the top mount and tapping it for the methanol injector.

I did my install in a few hrs.

I didn't have a tap set so I installed everything and bird drilled and threaded the intercooler for me.

You will also need to mod the injector input to install a 90deg fitting so that the met line isn't strained. But that's simple as well.

mmmm..where u get 90deg fitting to buy?

Lance

Postby Lance » April 20th, 2015, 5:49 am

There was a performance shop in a road opposite pappy's machine. Xr performance was the name of the shop I think.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 20th, 2015, 10:07 am

Trinidad hose has as well

Postby Ted_v2 » April 20th, 2015, 6:05 pm

To all who needs to know.
this is basically the same, yet the subaru is a bit different due to the intake ect but the concept is the same,

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 21st, 2015, 10:19 am

Ryan (RTUNE) did a 12.9 on super and meth on sunday. He is making a little over 300hp with his setup....

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 21st, 2015, 3:33 pm

Bug eye

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2015, 5:11 pm

stock turbo business?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 21st, 2015, 6:26 pm

Tomei ARMS M8265 Turbo
engine is a hybrid high compression, injectors are currently maxed so need to upgrade to 1000cc before the full potential can be seen....

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2015, 6:34 pm

yumm.

gunns

Postby gunns » May 22nd, 2016, 9:27 am

I have a impreza brochure that says for wrx and sti 91 RON .

Lance

Postby Lance » May 22nd, 2016, 2:05 pm

Could you upload a picture of that brochure page?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » May 22nd, 2016, 7:44 pm

whap!
subaru.jpg

Lance

Re: RE: Re: Premium or Super

Postby Lance » May 24th, 2016, 4:21 am

Pirate wrote:whap!

Thanks man!

I'm interpreting this as the wrx being fine with 90RON but a minimum of 95RON for the STi.

Makes sense given the beefier turbo setup, boost level and timing maps on the STi.

Is this from a Singaporean manual by chance?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » May 26th, 2016, 11:11 pm

This is supposed to be from the USA Manual

Return to “SUBARU”