The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

TheBoostLord

Re: The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Postby TheBoostLord » June 9th, 2015, 4:15 pm

did a VERY conservative self tune on my legacy and tried the road dyno in romraider but ran out of road so i had to lift off throttle early.
Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 8.24.32 PM.png

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 9th, 2015, 4:39 pm

Did you back off the throttle right after max torque?
That's alot of torque early on! Either your torque is calculated incorrectly (sloped road?) or you're pushing a lot timing to spool that turbo (stock?) so early.
What's the setup?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » June 9th, 2015, 4:53 pm

Graph only goes up to 5500rpm thats when i backed off. Running a vf37 @ 20psi ,fmic and some other bits. It was super conservative to prevent knock until i get a protune. The 'tune' it came with from the previous owner was insane. knock all over the place an had a huge leak in the water meth system, maf installed by a 90 degree bend and host of other problems. No wonder that motor had severe compression issues.

Lance

Postby Lance » June 9th, 2015, 5:06 pm

300tq at 2800rpm?

Have you tried using virtual dyno? It seems to be fairly accurate. Try doing another pull and see if the figures are similar.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » June 9th, 2015, 5:12 pm

oh its also 5eat not gearbox. im guessing the torque converter has a huge part to play. Should be tuned this week though so will report with data.

Postby 16 cycles » June 9th, 2015, 5:21 pm

Someone could throw up a stock ej205/207 dyno plot/info....base run?

I was looking for mine but seemed to be lost when a backup drive crashed on me..

Would be a decent way to check against what comes outta the box in our conditions/gas etc.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 9th, 2015, 6:32 pm

i have my factory tune graph....

stock 06 sti

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 9th, 2015, 7:21 pm

KiD wrote:oh its also 5eat not gearbox. im guessing the torque converter has a huge part to play. Should be tuned this week though so will report with data.

Did you get rid of your forester?
Also, interested in an IPT 3200stall torque converter? :D
I don't need mine anymore since I went 6spd.

Postby 16 cycles » June 10th, 2015, 6:57 am

thanks aaron - nice base numbers / plot off a twin scroll

Lance

Postby Lance » June 10th, 2015, 8:47 am

This is what my VF37 looked like with a small spray of water/meth. It's a WRX with a 207 so i'm on the stock 04 5 Speed

I took the car back down to 240whp or so before I left the country. Just to keep consumption down and reliability up as my pops drives it now.

Lance

Postby Lance » June 10th, 2015, 5:30 pm

16 cycles wrote:
Lance wrote:
At WOT what a/f were you hitting (primarily above 6K)? The reason I ask is that your target a/f ratio is a bit low (around 10.50). Were you hitting this?

think the 10.5 is more suited to a 50/50 wami mix when tuning....

Per AEM’s tuning guide, “Using a 50/50 mix of water/methanol is recommended for the best combination of air charge cooling and detonation control. With conservative boost and timing, establish a base AFR that is one point higher than your final target AFR. For example, if your final target AFR with water/methanol injection is 11.0:1, set your base AFR to 12.0:1. Once the base AFR has been set, start injecting water/methanol and adjust the injection flow rate to achieve your final target AFR. For example, if before injection your base AFR is 12.0:1 and then during injection your AFR drops to 10.5:1, reduce the water/methanol flow rate until your final target AFR is reached.”

http://www.dragzine.com/tech-stories/en ... ction-101/

^i no way am a tuner - just what made sense to me....

Generally, a lot of tuners seem to mess with this table in order to get the output they want on the wideband. IMHO I don't think this is the proper way to do it. Your Target should always be your target. You shouldn't have to set your target a/f to 13 in order to hit 11 because you run meth (not referring to your map btw). These adjustments should probably be made in via maf scaling and not manipulation of target a/f.

^sense - helps if you have a wideband to help - we used an innovative at the time -iirc

I have a similar question regarding the target boost. Do you remember if you were able to hit 21psi at 3300rpm on WOT? That kind of spool seems highly unlikely (my old TDO4 probably couldn't do that). From my readings, your target boost should be reflective of the capability of your setup. Otherwise your ecu will go mad trying to hit a target that it mechanically cannot achieve.

that was the final tune on the car - the log posted before was iteration 14 of 21.....so it may have been values in cells to iterate to reach to the final map above....which is to my driving style....peak power later down in the rpm range....useful torque curve...

that said, the graph shows benefits of tuning as you can see undulations in the 6/21 (blue) that was partly resolved by using a perrin ebcs and dyno time....

no worries at any criticisms - good or bad...keep it coming...all here to learn....

This is the fuel map the scaled down tune that's on my car now. It also runs meth injection. I can't find the HEX file itself to pull the other tables.

But you can see that the target a/f table it doesn't compensate for the drop in a/f that will come from the injection. That's accounted for elsewhere.

Postby 16 cycles » June 22nd, 2015, 2:36 pm

lance, you were single scroll before or always twinscroll?

trying to get an idea of the differences in tune and response from someone who has had both on same car...

Lance

Postby Lance » June 22nd, 2015, 2:45 pm

I was single scroll before but that was on a EJ205 long block with a TD04 turbo.

I did a complete STi motor swap and went twin scroll at the same time .

It won't be fair for me to compare the both.

Your question is interesting though. I am currently contemplating going back single scroll.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 22nd, 2015, 5:36 pm

20g or 35r. Doh play

Lance

Postby Lance » June 22nd, 2015, 5:42 pm

If was thinking FP71HTA or FPgreen. That way I could use the extra cash for new headers and downpipe.

I would prefer a GTX3071 or 76 though

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 22nd, 2015, 5:47 pm

prices of those units?

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Lance

Postby Lance » June 22nd, 2015, 5:52 pm

FP has a sale on right now actually. Green and 71 are around 1050us.

The 3071/6 is about 2100us.

Postby 16 cycles » June 23rd, 2015, 12:45 pm

the twin scrolls seem to give a better low end grunt than the single scrolls with the latter catching up on top....from what i've read...

some guys locally have changed out the twinscroll set up to go single scroll on the 04+ stis, moreso for the larger variety of options on single scroll units...and as outlined above - price...

Lance

Postby Lance » June 23rd, 2015, 1:03 pm

You're right, TwinScroll Stock Location options are sorely lacking for the platform. You can get some JB options from Kinugawa etc.

For BB you more or less have to go to Blouch. I always reference the 3071 as the ideal streetable/high output turbo (this is driver dependent though). Blouch has good options but they seem to fall under or above this. The TS 1.5 DOM is a bit smaller than the 3071 and doesn't seem to keep up with it. On the other end you have the TS3.0 DOM which is bigger than the 3071 and more like a 3076 (might be a bit much for the 2.0- again driver dependent). That being said, the 1.5DOM is a great turbo.

If I do go back single scroll I will retain the equal length headers though.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 29th, 2015, 4:59 pm

I'm running the Dom 2.5xtr (10cm) on my 2.5L. The response was great and I had full boost by 3500rpm.
I've talked to Blouch and a 3.0 upgrade maybe on the way.

My friend is running the 3076 on his hybrid and he was having full spool by 3800ish. His setup wasn't ideal though.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 29th, 2015, 5:59 pm

Full spool till what rpm? The drop off that is

Lance

Postby Lance » June 30th, 2015, 5:12 am

Those turbos will pull till redline if you allow it to. They have a lot of balls.

I'm interested in knowing h ow much boost is full spool?

I'm currently talking to FP about the 7cm vs 8cm on the FP green for a 2.0 setup.

Hopefully they can give me some idea of the trade off between top end and response on that motor.

Postby 16 cycles » June 30th, 2015, 9:10 am

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=630660

^ a local example of what is possible..

gucci05

Postby gucci05 » July 1st, 2015, 4:47 am

I have a gtx 3071 stock location fitted for external wastegate for sale,if anyone interested. Condition is new,just installed it in car and drove hm never tuned. Out of the vehicle as well Asking price 8,000 Original price 12,500.
Last edited by gucci05 on July 1st, 2015, 9:32 am, edited 2 times in total.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 1st, 2015, 7:32 am

pm price

Postby 16 cycles » July 2nd, 2015, 2:18 pm

http://www.turbos.bwauto.com//aftermark ... sin=92044&

^link might help somebody ...one day

Lance

Postby Lance » July 3rd, 2015, 3:12 pm

Nice resource there.

I had a quick glance at it in the office today .

Lance

Postby Lance » July 8th, 2015, 8:26 am

Anyone on a rotated setup?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 8th, 2015, 8:53 am

Most going with bolt in replacement these days. Easier work

Lance

Postby Lance » July 8th, 2015, 9:39 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Most going with bolt in replacement these days. Easier work

Thought so. It limits your turbo options though, especially when it comes to various housing combinations. If you're looking at ball bearing options then you pretty much have to go with Garrett.

But I could understand the ease of installation argument. Stock fitting intake system, TMIC etc.

Return to “SUBARU”