The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Re: The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2018, 7:57 pm

Best bet is to look for a kit on amazon or ebay, run your vin # on subaru or parts souq.com to get the individual part numbers and compare it to the part numbers in the kit. Sometimes there are upgraded part numbers or alternative part numbers. I think the two rollers on the right side are the same..

There is an asin kit, I bought the oem because I run the car hard sometimes amd didnt wanna take chances. Iirc asin makes the parts for subaru.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 28th, 2018, 1:29 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Best bet is to look for a kit on amazon or ebay, run your vin # on subaru or parts souq.com to get the individual part numbers and compare it to the part numbers in the kit. Sometimes there are upgraded part numbers or alternative part numbers. I think the two rollers on the right side are the same..

There is an asin kit, I bought the oem because I run the car hard sometimes amd didnt wanna take chances. Iirc asin makes the parts for subaru.
Was actually looking at the asin kit

Postby nervewrecker » July 28th, 2018, 1:43 pm

Yea, my boss bought the asin for his fozz and had no issues.

Like I said, wasnt taking chances so I bought oem for mine. Last thing I need is a belt skip timing, roller fail or some shiz like that in some high rpms esp since I gunna turn up the power in the near future.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » August 12th, 2018, 10:32 pm

Hey fellas.. got a cable the other day.. drove the car for about half hour and did about 3 second gear pulls.. when I got back home logs show my iam is 0.5625 and within the last 5-10 mins of the drive it was around 0.8

I know it's supposed to be 1.0
I only use premium and my ECU tune supposed to be stock.. to me the car totally fine and feels more or less close to when I got it a year ago.. should I reset the ECU and see if it fixes itself?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 12th, 2018, 10:40 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:Hey fellas.. got a cable the other day.. drove the car for about half hour and did about 3 second gear pulls.. when I got back home logs show my iam is 0.5625 and within the last 5-10 mins of the drive it was around 0.8

I know it's supposed to be 1.0
I only use premium and my ECU tune supposed to be stock.. to me the car totally fine and feels more or less close to when I got it a year ago.. should I reset the ECU and see if it fixes itself?
It would be a never ending cycle with an aggressive 100 RON tune that is being used with 98 (or whatever we get at the pump) RON fuel.

Lowered IAM is a sign of knock..."all turbo engines knock from time to time" knock reduces life of an engine.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » August 12th, 2018, 10:43 pm

The fine learning knock control only drops below zero under wot 4300-5800 rpm.. under normal driving it's zero.. I more or less understand how the iam works in conjunction with knock control.. so in theory a retune should fix it?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 12th, 2018, 10:44 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:The fine learning knock control only drops below zero under wot 4300-5800 rpm.. under normal driving it's zero.. I more or less understand how the iam works in conjunction with knock control.. so in theory a retune should fix it?
Yeah a retune "should" fix it.

TriniSubie

Postby TriniSubie » October 19th, 2018, 10:56 am

Hi, I have a sg5 2.0 xt automatic with a 3'' catback exhaust. I'll like to know what are my options when it comes to getting it tuned. Is EcuTek the only option for me? Not looking to get crazy with mods, its just to have the wagon running efficiently.... most I will do to it is water/meth next year, maybe a downpipe.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 25th, 2018, 5:22 pm

Ecutek basically. Unless you decide to go standalone. Do all the mods before you tune. And I mean all.

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2018, 11:55 pm

Dont they have unlocked ecu's?

Lance

Postby Lance » October 27th, 2018, 3:14 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:The fine learning knock control only drops below zero under wot 4300-5800 rpm.. under normal driving it's zero.. I more or less understand how the iam works in conjunction with knock control.. so in theory a retune should fix it?

IAM IS a knock control strategy (along with fine learning and feedback knock correction). IAM just paints with a broad brush and pulls timing across the entire RPM/load range.

You should be concerned with most forms of knock. But you should be most concerned with knock that occurs under WOT conditions. These are likely to be most dangerous as they typically occur under high RPM/load situations.

Lance

Postby Lance » October 27th, 2018, 3:16 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Dont they have unlocked ecu's?

I think he means that opensource tuning doesn't support this ECU. ECUTEK does

Postby nervewrecker » October 27th, 2018, 10:26 pm

Damn, thought all were like the ones in the older subarus.

TriniSubie

Postby TriniSubie » October 29th, 2018, 1:58 pm

Yeah all my research keep leading me to EcuTek. A standalone management is way overkill for the level of performance I'm looking at.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » October 29th, 2018, 2:01 pm

My dad's sg5 had to be tuned by ecutek, nothing else was able to get into the ECU..

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 1st, 2018, 7:18 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:My dad's sg5 had to be tuned by ecutek, nothing else was able to get into the ECU..

Correct. It nuh cheap. Do everything you have to do before.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 1st, 2018, 7:59 pm

Heard another popular tuner took over ecutek...so errybody going to have the 'same' tune

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 1st, 2018, 8:54 pm

I’m waiting on my turbo to come in before I go by that said tuner

TriniSubie

Postby TriniSubie » November 2nd, 2018, 1:09 pm

Guess I'm going to have to hold off on tuning because right now I cant afford to do the mods I want and tune. BTW how much does it cost to get the car retuned after the initial tune?
Last edited by TriniSubie on November 2nd, 2018, 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 2nd, 2018, 1:10 pm

Iirc $500-$1500 depending on mods

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 2nd, 2018, 1:15 pm

1500 plus dyno time which iirc is 4 or 500 an hour

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 5th, 2018, 6:47 pm

Ryan is now licensed to tune EcuTek.

Lance

Postby Lance » November 6th, 2018, 9:39 am

Assuming that Jason still holds a license as well?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 6th, 2018, 9:45 am

Lance wrote:Assuming that Jason still holds a license as well?
Think it was a transfer of license. Jason approached rtune to take it over.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 22nd, 2018, 10:10 pm

Do injector calculators online work? Just got some sti pinks. Want to see how far I can push them

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » November 22nd, 2018, 10:14 pm

Animal Pak wrote:Do injector calculators online work? Just got some sti pinks. Want to see how far I can push them
They give you a theoretical value.. which applies to a perfect combustion etc.. so it would be the maximum highest hp you would get in a perfect world.. in real life it would be a little less.. you could also adjust the fuel pressure to squeeze out a little extra fuel/hp and remember it's not recommended to exceed 90 percent duty cycle

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 22nd, 2018, 11:12 pm

Not that I would. But why though? Why is 90% the special number

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 23rd, 2018, 7:37 am

Animal Pak wrote:Not that I would. But why though? Why is 90% the special number

Some ppl run higher like 95. Anyway you should have some headroom for safety. lets say fuel filter a bit dirty that would drop flow, or say u knock what whatever reason and ecu wana run a fuel rich map, if u done maxed out then it wont help. Few other reasons but you get the idea

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 23rd, 2018, 7:38 am

Oooooooooohhhhhhh. Gotcha

macd

Postby macd » January 4th, 2020, 7:51 am

What is bird number?
rylan1996 wrote:Yeah bird does it.