TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

Lance
punchin NOS

The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Postby Lance » May 9th, 2015, 9:18 am

Hi Guys,

I've recently gotten very interested in the electronic side of the EJ20 platform. I've started this thread so that we can have discussions related to engine management and tuning (specific to the EJ20 ECU logic, although EVOs are somewhat similar). This is not going to be a thread to provide complete tuning knowledge nor do I recommend persons to start messing with your ECU Parameters. Professional Tuners are there for a reason.

Its merely meant to provide general knowledge on ECU tuning and how mechanical modifications might affect your vehicle and what map amendments might be needed. I have quite a bit of resources that I've come across and I'll share it later. I'm very new to this as well.

Tuning used to be like a black box for me, intimidating and complex. But once you open it up you realize its all physics and logic. In the end it helps you to understand your vehicle better.

Its a thread for us all to learn. So share what you think is useful and feel free to ask questions.

16 cycles
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa

Re: The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Postby 16 cycles » May 11th, 2015, 3:46 pm

probably the only thread where i can say 'I AM 16 ....' and it'd make sense in more ways than one....

Aaron 2NR
2NR phototakerouter

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 11th, 2015, 3:49 pm

^yup.....16 is the way to go :D

Lance
punchin NOS

Postby Lance » May 12th, 2015, 6:10 am

This is the tuning guide that first got me started.

It was complied by some of the contributors from the Romraider forum.

Its a read even if you're not specifically interested in tuning. It can help you understand how your ECU logic works and ultimately help you diagnose issues that you might have or probably might encounter as you upgrade.