Page 22 of 22

Re: The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Posted: July 26th, 2018, 7:57 pm
by nervewrecker
Best bet is to look for a kit on amazon or ebay, run your vin # on subaru or parts souq.com to get the individual part numbers and compare it to the part numbers in the kit. Sometimes there are upgraded part numbers or alternative part numbers. I think the two rollers on the right side are the same..

There is an asin kit, I bought the oem because I run the car hard sometimes amd didnt wanna take chances. Iirc asin makes the parts for subaru.

Posted: July 28th, 2018, 1:29 pm
by hustla_ambition101
nervewrecker wrote:Best bet is to look for a kit on amazon or ebay, run your vin # on subaru or parts souq.com to get the individual part numbers and compare it to the part numbers in the kit. Sometimes there are upgraded part numbers or alternative part numbers. I think the two rollers on the right side are the same..

There is an asin kit, I bought the oem because I run the car hard sometimes amd didnt wanna take chances. Iirc asin makes the parts for subaru.
Was actually looking at the asin kit

Posted: July 28th, 2018, 1:43 pm
by nervewrecker
Yea, my boss bought the asin for his fozz and had no issues.

Like I said, wasnt taking chances so I bought oem for mine. Last thing I need is a belt skip timing, roller fail or some shiz like that in some high rpms esp since I gunna turn up the power in the near future.

Posted: August 12th, 2018, 10:32 pm
by infinite_RPM
Hey fellas.. got a cable the other day.. drove the car for about half hour and did about 3 second gear pulls.. when I got back home logs show my iam is 0.5625 and within the last 5-10 mins of the drive it was around 0.8

I know it's supposed to be 1.0
I only use premium and my ECU tune supposed to be stock.. to me the car totally fine and feels more or less close to when I got it a year ago.. should I reset the ECU and see if it fixes itself?

Posted: August 12th, 2018, 10:40 pm
by racedriverpro
infinite_RPM wrote:Hey fellas.. got a cable the other day.. drove the car for about half hour and did about 3 second gear pulls.. when I got back home logs show my iam is 0.5625 and within the last 5-10 mins of the drive it was around 0.8

I know it's supposed to be 1.0
I only use premium and my ECU tune supposed to be stock.. to me the car totally fine and feels more or less close to when I got it a year ago.. should I reset the ECU and see if it fixes itself?
It would be a never ending cycle with an aggressive 100 RON tune that is being used with 98 (or whatever we get at the pump) RON fuel.

Lowered IAM is a sign of knock..."all turbo engines knock from time to time" knock reduces life of an engine.

Posted: August 12th, 2018, 10:43 pm
by infinite_RPM
The fine learning knock control only drops below zero under wot 4300-5800 rpm.. under normal driving it's zero.. I more or less understand how the iam works in conjunction with knock control.. so in theory a retune should fix it?

Posted: August 12th, 2018, 10:44 pm
by racedriverpro
infinite_RPM wrote:The fine learning knock control only drops below zero under wot 4300-5800 rpm.. under normal driving it's zero.. I more or less understand how the iam works in conjunction with knock control.. so in theory a retune should fix it?
Yeah a retune "should" fix it.

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 10:56 am
by TriniSubie
Hi, I have a sg5 2.0 xt automatic with a 3'' catback exhaust. I'll like to know what are my options when it comes to getting it tuned. Is EcuTek the only option for me? Not looking to get crazy with mods, its just to have the wagon running efficiently.... most I will do to it is water/meth next year, maybe a downpipe.

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 5:22 pm
by Animal Pak
Ecutek basically. Unless you decide to go standalone. Do all the mods before you tune. And I mean all.

Posted: October 26th, 2018, 11:55 pm
by nervewrecker
Dont they have unlocked ecu's?

Posted: October 27th, 2018, 3:14 pm
by Lance
infinite_RPM wrote:The fine learning knock control only drops below zero under wot 4300-5800 rpm.. under normal driving it's zero.. I more or less understand how the iam works in conjunction with knock control.. so in theory a retune should fix it?

IAM IS a knock control strategy (along with fine learning and feedback knock correction). IAM just paints with a broad brush and pulls timing across the entire RPM/load range.

You should be concerned with most forms of knock. But you should be most concerned with knock that occurs under WOT conditions. These are likely to be most dangerous as they typically occur under high RPM/load situations.

Posted: October 27th, 2018, 3:16 pm
by Lance
nervewrecker wrote:Dont they have unlocked ecu's?

I think he means that opensource tuning doesn't support this ECU. ECUTEK does

Posted: October 27th, 2018, 10:26 pm
by nervewrecker
Damn, thought all were like the ones in the older subarus.

Posted: October 29th, 2018, 1:58 pm
by TriniSubie
Yeah all my research keep leading me to EcuTek. A standalone management is way overkill for the level of performance I'm looking at.

Posted: October 29th, 2018, 2:01 pm
by infinite_RPM
My dad's sg5 had to be tuned by ecutek, nothing else was able to get into the ECU..

Posted: November 1st, 2018, 7:18 pm
by Animal Pak
infinite_RPM wrote:My dad's sg5 had to be tuned by ecutek, nothing else was able to get into the ECU..

Correct. It nuh cheap. Do everything you have to do before.

Posted: November 1st, 2018, 7:59 pm
by racedriverpro
Heard another popular tuner took over ecutek...so errybody going to have the 'same' tune

Posted: November 1st, 2018, 8:54 pm
by Animal Pak
I’m waiting on my turbo to come in before I go by that said tuner

Posted: November 2nd, 2018, 1:09 pm
by TriniSubie
Guess I'm going to have to hold off on tuning because right now I cant afford to do the mods I want and tune. BTW how much does it cost to get the car retuned after the initial tune?

Posted: November 2nd, 2018, 1:10 pm
by racedriverpro
Iirc $500-$1500 depending on mods

Posted: November 2nd, 2018, 1:15 pm
by Animal Pak
1500 plus dyno time which iirc is 4 or 500 an hour

Posted: November 5th, 2018, 6:47 pm
by Aaron 2NR
Ryan is now licensed to tune EcuTek.

Posted: November 6th, 2018, 9:39 am
by Lance
Assuming that Jason still holds a license as well?

Posted: November 6th, 2018, 9:45 am
by racedriverpro
Lance wrote:Assuming that Jason still holds a license as well?
Think it was a transfer of license. Jason approached rtune to take it over.

Posted: November 22nd, 2018, 10:10 pm
by Animal Pak
Do injector calculators online work? Just got some sti pinks. Want to see how far I can push them

Posted: November 22nd, 2018, 10:14 pm
by infinite_RPM
Animal Pak wrote:Do injector calculators online work? Just got some sti pinks. Want to see how far I can push them
They give you a theoretical value.. which applies to a perfect combustion etc.. so it would be the maximum highest hp you would get in a perfect world.. in real life it would be a little less.. you could also adjust the fuel pressure to squeeze out a little extra fuel/hp and remember it's not recommended to exceed 90 percent duty cycle

Posted: November 22nd, 2018, 11:12 pm
by Animal Pak
Not that I would. But why though? Why is 90% the special number

Posted: November 23rd, 2018, 7:37 am
by TheBoostLord
Animal Pak wrote:Not that I would. But why though? Why is 90% the special number

Some ppl run higher like 95. Anyway you should have some headroom for safety. lets say fuel filter a bit dirty that would drop flow, or say u knock what whatever reason and ecu wana run a fuel rich map, if u done maxed out then it wont help. Few other reasons but you get the idea

Posted: November 23rd, 2018, 7:38 am
by Animal Pak
Oooooooooohhhhhhh. Gotcha

Posted: January 4th, 2020, 7:51 am
by macd
What is bird number?
rylan1996 wrote:Yeah bird does it.