brz or wrx?

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

jm3

brz or wrx?

Postby jm3 » September 8th, 2015, 8:12 pm

looking to buy either 2016 wrx or 2015 brz.

there are some things that i need to ask to help out my choice.

1. i have been reading that the wrx can run on super after cross referencing its octane requirement against supers rating, is this true? going back to premium from diesel is gonna suck if not.
2. can the brz run on super? for the same reasons as above.
3. what are the servicing costs for the first year for both cars?
4. who knows about the wrx without sunroof and fabric seats quoted in the new vehicle prices section n&m have said they only have leather with sunroof neither of which i care for.

thanks

legacyspecb

Re: brz or wrx?

Postby legacyspecb » September 10th, 2015, 10:53 pm

BRZ(JDM) requires 98 RON...so closest is 95 RON (premium)
if you're buying either from massy then i'd recommend being rich...where insignificant issues such as fuel prices won't matter
doesn't make sense to put low octane fuel in those cars especially the FI wrx

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 11th, 2015, 1:18 pm

If it can run on it why not use it? No one watching me at the pump to see if I can fill up with premium or not lol

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 14th, 2015, 9:38 am

Octane rating and RON are two different measurements.
BRZ needs 91 octane = 95 RON minimum ... 93 octane is the requirement.
To get 200 HP out of a NA 2.0L engine they has to crank up the compression ratio's
To make it worse our climate is very hot, I'm seeing 37 Celsius as a normal these days.
No body watching you at the pump but you will be slowing destroying your engine.

I dunno why you and lots of trini's feel there are no consequences to your actions if no one is watching you ...

If something happens and you go back to the dealer and say "but boss i only using premium in the car" they can check to see if the car was knocking excessively when they run a diagnostic which would point out that you have been using super.

This is highly tuned machine you talking bout ... not a tiida

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2015, 9:26 pm

jm3 wrote:If it can run on it why not use it? No one watching me at the pump to see if I can fill up with premium or not lol

By all means, buy one and fill up with super. Nobody is going to see and think anything of you.

Not sure if you can plug in your cable and monitor parameters via rom raider while you drive like with the others. There you will see why premium and not care who watching from who isnt.
Dont know if these can be retuned to run on super either but you will be loosing some power. Water meth might be an option (if it can work, havent done much of any reading on these).

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 15th, 2015, 6:31 pm

new wrx need premium...they can pull up on their tools and know if the car knocking and would be able to tell if u running on super eh

legacyspecb

Postby legacyspecb » September 15th, 2015, 11:44 pm

drchaos wrote:Octane rating and RON are two different measurements.
BRZ needs 91 octane = 95 RON minimum ... 93 octane is the requirement.
To get 200 HP out of a NA 2.0L engine they has to crank up the compression ratio's
To make it worse our climate is very hot, I'm seeing 37 Celsius as a normal these days.
No body watching you at the pump but you will be slowing destroying your engine.

I dunno why you and lots of trini's feel there are no consequences to your actions if no one is watching you ...

If something happens and you go back to the dealer and say "but boss i only using premium in the car" they can check to see if the car was knocking excessively when they run a diagnostic which would point out that you have been using super.

This is highly tuned machine you talking bout ... not a tiida

me thinks ur a abit confused...octane is a perfectly acceptable designation to differentiate the grade of pump gas. in america they use aki and call it 'octane'..so its really 91 aki at the pump.u kno americans..confused bunch
neways to my pal contemplating the brz or wrx well u can use super sure..but when ur cylinder temps go high with all the pre ignition effects and ur engine eventually dies from knocking (esp in the FI wrx) u may care less who was watching at the time.
And oh...filling premium/super 50/50 is not an option either.
water meth..gr8..risky? ..yeh kinda.avoid? yeh kinda

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 15th, 2015, 11:50 pm

Thanks. From what I had read it appeared it would be able to run on super without preignition.
I don't mind the loss of power from the retarded timing for normal day to day driving I don't even mind putting in a piggyback and running a map for super.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 18th, 2015, 10:32 am

But then why buy a performance vehicle if you intend to do things to it to reduce performance?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 18th, 2015, 11:14 am

Exactly!!!
Also don't buy a car unless you can comfortably afford to maintain and run it.

Lance

Postby Lance » September 21st, 2015, 4:06 am

That's a manifestation of rice.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » September 21st, 2015, 6:09 am

You're buying a car. So what's the intended use first of all? Have you asked that question?

legacyspecb

Postby legacyspecb » September 21st, 2015, 9:48 am

^^ to avoid walking mayb?

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 21st, 2015, 12:44 pm

Wait so I have to run it on premium because if I don't I shouldn't be allowed to by it. Lol

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2015, 2:28 pm

By all means buy your WRX/BRZ and run on super! Just let us know the license plate number so when myself or friends/family see it on trinicarsforsale I can advise them not to buy :P

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 21st, 2015, 2:38 pm

Hold up....so u takin into consideration....wat ppl seeing u pumpin by d gas station think?

Yuh dotish oh wah...

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 21st, 2015, 11:45 pm

jm3 wrote:If it can run on it why not use it? No one watching me at the pump to see if I can fill up with premium or not lol

By all means, buy one and fill up with super. Nobody is going to see and think anything of you.

Not sure if you can plug in your cable and monitor parameters via rom raider while you drive like with the others. There you will see why premium and not care who watching from who isnt.
Dont know if these can be retuned to run on super either but you will be loosing some power. Water meth might be an option (if it can work, havent done much of any reading on these).

thanks nerve this is what i needed to know

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 21st, 2015, 11:53 pm

Richard Marshall wrote:You're buying a car. So what's the intended use first of all? Have you asked that question?

to use a beach chair

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 22nd, 2015, 12:39 am

Well look thing here... From the 2016 wrx.

I still would use premium though, but I guess u need to log the car to see if it's knocking on super.
(Note that this is the manual for another market, so the tuning from the factory will be different based on the region)
The safest bet will be Premium.
1442896649029.jpg
Last edited by Pirate on August 27th, 2020, 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 22nd, 2015, 7:13 am

Buy a Hawkeye or a peanut eye wrx.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 22nd, 2015, 7:22 am

Yes from experience you can hear knocking when using super in these engines turbo subaru's in our climate. But then again the FA 20 turbo in the new wrx is a new engine with direct injection. DI has a evaporative cooling effect and you might get away without knocking.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 22nd, 2015, 11:26 am

Pirate wrote:Well look thing here... From the 2016 wrx.

I still would use premium though, but I guess u need to log the car to see if it's knocking on super.

That's is what I originally read thank you I just needed a second opinion. Thanks

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 22nd, 2015, 12:31 pm

I have a 2008 wrx but I use premium only.
Was always skeptical about the super...
:cry:

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2015, 3:27 pm

They might run OK on super at low rpm. The ecu compensates for it, some kinda knock correction thingy when you plug in and monitor.
At the higher rpm and when boost kick in is where the party starts.
There is also a significant loss in power from super to premium. Some whom have retuned for super say the same.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 22nd, 2015, 5:01 pm

The whole reason I even asked about this is because the rating on the new engine is actually rated for super but I wanted confirmation before I bought

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2015, 5:42 pm

jm3 wrote:The whole reason I even asked about this is because the rating on the new engine is actually rated for super but I wanted confirmation before I bought

Its rated for our premium, not super. Our premium is 95 RON and thats scraping the bottom according to that literature.
Heard of some roro japanese vehicles needing to retune for our premium here as they tuned for 98 RON and that singapore roro already tuned for 95 RON (maybe they have gas similar to us so their performance vehicles are tuned accordingly).

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 22nd, 2015, 7:31 pm

It says if you can't get 95 Ron you can run 90 what is the Ron of super? I read on np that it's 91 but elsewhere 87.

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2015, 8:20 pm

Where in there did you see 91RON can be safely used?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 22nd, 2015, 8:28 pm

If men already have an answer to the question they gonna ask, what's the sense in posting

Go ahead and buy the car Dan... Use super if you want :) it go work bess

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 22nd, 2015, 9:32 pm

The part titled except sti as in the wrx. It clearly states that 90 Ron may be used without detriment to the engine. And so my question is what is the rating on super in Trinidad I had read that it is rated as 91 Ron but some people claim that it is only 87 Ron. Obviously if Trinidad's super is rated at 91 Ron and the vehicle is able to run on 90 Ron without detriment as stated then super is fine, however if trinidad's super is actually only 87 then it cannot.

Return to “SUBARU”