Massey Rip off??

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

loromo

Massey Rip off??

Postby loromo » November 28th, 2017, 8:30 pm

Hi,
I wonder if I am being ripped off at Massey.
Took my new forester for first service and was charged $1400 for just changing oil and filter ( yes they actually changed it, I put a mark on the old one).
Recently ( actually, Monday gone), I took it again for the second oil change and I was charged $1900. When asked why the price difference I was told that it's the 10,000km oil change so it will be higher.
IS THIS CORRECT??
Should I expect that the next oil change to be higher AGAIN?

Just want to know if anyone has experience in this.
Thks.

Re: Massey Rip off??

Postby Dave » November 28th, 2017, 8:33 pm

There is a service schedule posted as to what is done and the estimated cost for performing the jobs listed. You paid more as more was supposedly done.

loromo

Postby loromo » November 28th, 2017, 8:50 pm

Appreciate your response. Will ask to see that service schedule next time.
On my last bill nothing more is listed as being done except oil change.
My first bill had listed oil change and some other checks.
So this is another reason why I am concerned if to go back.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » November 28th, 2017, 9:30 pm

They rarely charge anything more than oil and oil filter. 20K services with the VW they change more, filters, fluids etc. I did an 80K service n they changed all fluids, filters including cabin filter and fuel filter. You can ask what the service entails, but rarely it's more than an oil change. They do more checks, sometimes balance n align on 20K services over no parts have to change.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 28th, 2017, 9:36 pm

Yes they are a rip off..charging close to 700 in labour to change oil and filter....this is why we call them stealerships ...yes they do have service sheets but is mostly checks ....

loromo

Postby loromo » November 28th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Appreciate your thoughts.
I am SERIOUSLY thinking to do oil change for myself....... that's why it hurts to pay sooooo much just change oil.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 28th, 2017, 10:22 pm

People including myself try to continue going to the dealership to maintain the warranty and have peace of mind when the service is done and you drive out...u know car should be in great working order...but honestly changing oils snd inspecting bushings rubbers and fluids is nothing major...that u cant do yourself and your pocket would appreciate it....besides...to me...the newer the car should be less dollars in maintenance
Guess u have to decide whats important for you ...

loromo

Postby loromo » November 28th, 2017, 10:31 pm

Yep for sure.
I am more leaning to do it formyself and THROW the warranty in the garbage, since I can't trust the dealership.
I also find it interesting that they don't have online customer complaints section on their website.
Amazing!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 29th, 2017, 12:30 am

Imagine i went to purchase an oil filter from thr dealership but my key battery was giving trouble...i said let me just mention it....they say no prob...just drive the car in...they say battery need to change....$450....was like for just telling me that i need a battery is $450....lady said yes...once I drive car in...steups..I told her no thankz....jump in...hit reverse and drove out......

Return to “SUBARU”