Any rx8 owners in here?

MAZDA People United - it continues here

cerebral_assassin

Any rx8 owners in here?

Postby cerebral_assassin » June 26th, 2008, 4:04 am

Yea, well just checking to see if there's anymore rx8 owners around.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 1st, 2008, 7:00 pm

i saw a silver PCJ RX-8 in the bamboo today....guy real driving hard amongst people and cars :?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 1st, 2008, 7:58 pm

will be getting one in a while

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 1st, 2008, 8:32 pm

^^ I went inside a 2004 RX-8 recently.....thing had sunroof, BOSE stereo with in-dash 6-CD changer, power seat, flair kit, spoiler, fog lights, xenon head lights, red/black leather interior, 6-speed manual tranny, 18" star type Mazda 5-lug rims, 8 airbags, steering wheel mounted cruise control and audio controls, big vented 4-wheel disc brakes with ABS/EBD/BA/TC/DSC and the pop up LCD screen, optitron gauge cluster, dual split exhaust, clear lens tail lamps blah blah blah, it look wicked but seemed too heavy to carry an RX badge....I feel with the back seat and N/A engine it really is a luxury 4door sports coupe rather than a true RX-7 successor.

On the downside, it burns gas like a 4.0L V6 engine and the motor needs a quart of oil every few thousand kms as the engine actually 'uses' it for its operation rather than 'burn' it. Car And Driver magazine squeezed 0-60 in 5.9s, 0-100 in 16.0s, 0-130 in 33.5s, 1/4 mile in 14.5 @ 96mph and top speed of 144mph/230.4kmph drag limited. Not bad for a heavyish quasi 4-door sports coupe with only 228HP and 211Nm of torque.
Last edited by acesinghit on July 4th, 2008, 8:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

darellcurtis

Postby darellcurtis » July 4th, 2008, 2:34 am

Hey guys! I have a RX8-SE and that was my worth it buy ever. And oh by the way guys, have you seen the RX-8 MS?

15devils

Postby 15devils » July 7th, 2008, 9:51 am

i paid down on one and after learning about the gas and oil issue,I decided not to invest in it.Had a 3rd gen as well and with any rotary comes maintenance,but they are sweet vehicles.

Postby Greypatch » July 7th, 2008, 11:15 am

are they really so bad ?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 7th, 2008, 9:05 pm

^^^bad depends on what context! Bad for someone accustomed to a Nissan 350Z or Honda S2000 perhaps since both cars offer similar overall track performance but they don't use the oil for more than just lubrication and ofcourse both have better fuel economy. RX-8 has more usable boot and has a back seat to lower insurance costs especially in North America. Depends on the user and application. I'll choose the RX-8 over the other close two RWD contenders but @ the end of the day the RX-8 is a more high maintainance automobile and those who buy it know what to expect and enjoy it. Now if Mazda made so much head way with a 1.3 n/a rotary engine and improved it alot over the 13B-REW then the next RENESIS would get even better thats why true RX fans hardly depart.....for a newbie coming from an S2000 or the high torque 350Z, its gonna be a little harder.

cerebral_assassin

Postby cerebral_assassin » July 13th, 2008, 6:43 pm

Thing is, if ur not a car enthusiast then u shouldn't get 1.

Its definately not an everday driving car.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 13th, 2008, 7:03 pm

well i dont think so, i think thats what mazda was aiming for with the rx8, i think they tried to make it more practical than a 3rd gen 7, hence the rear seats and the offering of an automatic transmission...but i agree that u have to really love doing stuff for yourself and doing alot of car work to really reap the benefits of a rx8 and to fully enjoy it

Amit

Postby Amit » July 13th, 2008, 9:23 pm

x2floor good review here again bro, keep up the good work

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 24th, 2008, 2:40 pm

everyone keeps mentioning the oil usage and poor gas mileage....these issues aside...is there anything more you need to be aware of if you plan to own 1 of these. I would think that prospective owners would already have gotten past the first 2.

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » August 4th, 2008, 2:52 am

Anyone who wants an RX8 must be commited to maintaining the engine on a regular basis or things can go belly up really fast!

I've had a mazda 6 bought from the firm for the last 2 years and the maintenance on it is very low...oil change every 5,000 km,spark plug and disc pads change only once since then...nice hassle free car.

Now I've got my 2004 6speed MT RX8 arriving sometime this month from Japan and I have to change my entire way of thinking when it comes to maintenance.

I know it'll be a challenge but looking forward to it!!!!

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » August 4th, 2008, 2:55 am

Also looking forward to adding some HP :twisted:

http://www.srmotorsports.com/RX8-Parts.html

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 5th, 2008, 10:28 am

Now I've got my 2004 6speed MT RX8 arriving sometime this month from Japan and I have to change my entire way of thinking when it comes to maintenance.

hope it comes with the body kit, fogs, sunroof, 18" rims and ofcourse the BOSE sound system :mrgreen:

try these sites:

www.racingbeat.com
www.mazdatrix.com
www.mazdastuff.com

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 5th, 2008, 10:57 am

if u need rotors or rotor housings, i can source them reasonably, and i can also get a Shinka ltd edition pillar kit if u like, add to the appeal

cerebral_assassin

Postby cerebral_assassin » August 6th, 2008, 2:38 am

ghostbusters wrote:if u need rotors or rotor housings, i can source them reasonably, and i can also get a Shinka ltd edition pillar kit if u like, add to the appeal

Lol isnt that posing?

Well, if it isnt a shinka that is.

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » August 7th, 2008, 6:30 am

Thanks for the links x2floor...

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » August 7th, 2008, 9:42 am

i've always heard of the rx7 is HIGH maintenance and blah blah blah. You love yourself so you maintain yourself with the best food, clothes and so on, its the same with the rotary. You want it to perform @ its best, change your oil / plugs regular...thats all. I don't wait no four-six months to change oil / plugs especially if you running hard whole month up & down the highway. steups

If and when i do sell my 7 in the near future because i really don't want to sell her but there is always someone who likes it more than you.
My next project is an RX8 but with the series 6 motor single turbo with roughly 400hp to play with..... :mrgreen:

cerebral_assassin

Postby cerebral_assassin » August 9th, 2008, 4:59 pm

^^ rumour has it that the next motor is gonna be twin turbo 28b

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » August 9th, 2008, 5:28 pm

in the rx8 or the new rx7

cerebral_assassin

Postby cerebral_assassin » August 9th, 2008, 5:35 pm

Not sure which 1, but a mazda dealer in miami was telling me bout what he heard.

LedZep

Postby LedZep » August 10th, 2008, 12:35 am

turbo turbo turbo :twisted:

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » September 17th, 2008, 4:06 pm

read online that the bolt on turbo on the 8 actually degrades performance...any opinions on this?

Return to “MAZDA”