ZL-VE head on ZM-DE, Has it ever been done before?

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

ZL-VE head on ZM-DE, Has it ever been done before?

Postby FullStop » August 22nd, 2008, 8:25 am

has it ever been done before, or just talked about? I'm interested in checking it out rather than doing the complete engine swap since i can get the head quite cheaply but i would need to get the brain and harness right? has anyone ever done the headswap and written a walkthrough?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 22nd, 2008, 8:39 am

I know the opposite has been done, why not go that route, zm head, on zl block, i think with the setup you want, the thottle body(1.5) might be too small for the zm 1.6

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 22nd, 2008, 8:49 am

http://64.233.169.104/search?q=cache:rA ... =firefox-a

Any ZL (1.5l) botom end parts will work with the 1.6l (ZM-DE) engine.
The ZL-VE head (which has S-VT) is a direct swap to the ZM-DE engine. You will
need to figure out a way to control the hydraulic controller that varies the intake cam
timing. This system is similar to the one used in the 2001+ Miata BP-VE engines, so
talk to the Miata guys about it the S-VT on their cars to learn more.
Any ZL-DE top end parts will work with the ZM-DE engine.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 22nd, 2008, 3:52 pm

^^^ shouldn't have that problem as the ECU on the VE will handle that.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » August 25th, 2008, 8:14 pm

my 2003 protege overheated over a month ago. the vehicle originally came with a zm 1.6 dohc,however on the head,(just over where the thermostat is located) was marked
"zl 5-2".

so i bought a zl head at the bamboo, installed it on my zm block and it works.

only thing though, is that you can hear a knock coming from the engine & i do not know why.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 25th, 2008, 11:21 pm

zl-de head or zl-ve head?, i wanna buy the head this week, but them blasted ppl only wanna sell head and block, i ent need no friggin block, but what about compression, isnt the zl-ve compression higher than the zm-de? will that be an issue...and by the way, this is a long term project due to diminishing funding...

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » August 26th, 2008, 7:25 am

Before u do this u have a gearbox.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 26th, 2008, 8:53 am

nooo... like i said, i just going to get the head and do the prep work, probly end of year into nex year will do the install

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 26th, 2008, 11:52 am

ghostbusters wrote:and by the way, this is a long term project due to diminishing funding...

welcome to tha club :D

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 26th, 2008, 12:49 pm

yeah boy business sucking real bad these days

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 29th, 2008, 11:25 pm

i help ah man out wid some info awhile ago he did de swap zm-de block wid vvt head de only problem is tuh get de abs and de speedo workin not waht de electrician did but right now he has ah babymonste ron his hands all he missin is de gear box but de zm tranny holdin de strain well

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 30th, 2008, 5:21 pm

^^ wicked !!

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 30th, 2008, 5:43 pm

de ve compression ration is 9.4:1 de zm is 9.0:1 de only difference is de zm stroke its 83.6mm as opposed to de ve which is 78.4mm pistons shape an combustion chamber prolly make up de difference in compression i guess

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » September 20th, 2008, 1:18 am

dis guy wit a black 323 hatch back did de frank!! his rpm built whoa!! Mark was his name one of my home-boys helped him do it!! too bad he sold it!!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 20th, 2008, 12:42 pm

come an ppl, doh call it franenstein, das dem honda boys ting, everything dem build is a frankenstein, we ha to call it something else, more original dan dat...i still head hunting, if anybody go bamboo shopping and come across a complete zl-ve head wit valve cover and everything, give meh a shout

mingrio

Postby mingrio » September 21st, 2008, 6:25 pm

But who doing the modification's for you? you have a good mechanic?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 21st, 2008, 8:02 pm

yeah, i have ah boss mechanic , real tops, das no worry

mingrio

Postby mingrio » September 21st, 2008, 10:17 pm

Well keep we posted want to do that modification also,that modification sounding crazy!!!

Return to “MAZDA”