REAR strut tower bar-thinking bout making one

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

REAR strut tower bar-thinking bout making one

Postby FullStop » October 1st, 2008, 11:18 am

well, like the topic says, I'm thinking about making a rear strut tower bar, , any thoughts on materials, i have alot of steel around the house, but i am wondering if steel will be too heavy, aluminum would be ideal, but i cant weld aluminum.

Is there an alternative to making it?, is there a rear strut tower bar available for this car that i can purchase or sould i just make it?...2002 mazda 323

thanks for any opinions etc

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 1st, 2008, 1:35 pm

boi here what to do fabricate one using steel or pipe make all the parts as perfect as you can when you test it and get what you want have some one like tolas or mack ranpersad do it in aluminium for you then all ah we could go :!: :!: :!: get one

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » October 1st, 2008, 3:42 pm

mazdamig made one.. I hear he was trying to get a patent for it.. :lol:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 1st, 2008, 5:12 pm

i have some steel that i can cut and try, but it might be heavy, and remember, it will be a one piece, non adjustable eh, if you say i can get it made in aluminum afterward, i think i'll give it a try^^^mig sound like a real trouble maker yes

Postby cinco » October 1st, 2008, 7:28 pm

you looking to put one in the trunk?
http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... +strut+bar
get a mx6 one and make it work

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 1st, 2008, 8:51 pm

interesting, i think instead of cutting steel, i'll see if i find a used strut bar and once it will fi, i can just re-weld the correct brackets to it

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 3rd, 2008, 6:29 am

Yeah you could go that way. Mix n' match.

pawi

Postby pawi » October 3rd, 2008, 6:51 am

jed u can check out the vender tsc on this same site his no. is 644-6345 name venesh...or cell no..399-3612 for strut bars on any type of vechile

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » October 3rd, 2008, 8:18 am

i going to copyright my rear strut bar "Migspeed" :mrgreen:

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » October 3rd, 2008, 1:33 pm

U mean strut bars rite? :mrgreen:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 3rd, 2008, 2:16 pm

TSC has the rear mx6 bar, i figure i'll check it out, if it dont work, back to cutting that junk of steel i have there

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » October 7th, 2008, 5:01 pm

what differences can i achieve to my handling with this rear strut bar...........alsoo how much is it gonna cost me :|

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 7th, 2008, 8:38 pm

well the rear mx6 bar is 350, the reason i looking into it is cus when i gunnin round the corners my rear does fling out and i does get sum rear tire screeching, very little, but i dont want none

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » October 7th, 2008, 9:47 pm

oh well i dont need this then...i doesnt get that problem...i does go roung corners sometimes at bout 100 and no screech :wink:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 7th, 2008, 10:37 pm

ahhhhhhhmmmm 100 goin round ah corner on de highway not fast eh my gyul could do that wid de children in de car tell mih 150 up well dat different

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 8th, 2008, 8:50 am

exactly, like red bwoy say, not no lil corners thing, i know what a stock 323 could do, and a stock 323 cant corner like mine, i have the mazdaspeed springs, they does keep the car real flat on the corners, i not talking bout body roll, thas just a memory.i talking narrow roads and s curves. highway is waay different, once i was running the 3 on the northbound on the corner before chase village flyover, doing 180, all i can say is i frighten the man in the galant who was on the overtaking lane, understeer is very hard to overcome at 180, cus i cant accelerate anymore at that speed...keep that in mind grasshopper, until you learn things about countersteering and compensating for understeer and what not drive under or at the speed limit or you might become one of those idiots that kill somebody chile, and we dont want or need that

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 8th, 2008, 9:38 pm

Understeer is a beyotch!!

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » October 8th, 2008, 9:57 pm

so ghost, u put in the sway bars yet?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 9th, 2008, 9:01 am

na boy, i get a pair of bushings for the rear though, energy suspension bushings, 20mm, my cousin got them for me from new york, i still have to get the front, some fella on the forum selling the energy suspension bushings , but i ent getting time to check anything with car these days.i think the fella have the 25mm bushings for the front, but is time i not getting, look i bought a exhaust hanger for my exhaust bout two weeks now and i not even getting time to put that in...doing sum work on the house, plus work and school as well so you know how it is, not even getting time to lime and drink, wha kinda life is this boy?

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » October 9th, 2008, 8:42 pm

well where i talkin bout is down on my side not on d highway cuz it hard to reach dat kinda speed here :)

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » October 9th, 2008, 8:43 pm

on d highway is another story :D

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 10th, 2008, 1:30 am

ghostbusters wrote:na boy, i get a pair of bushings for the rear though, energy suspension bushings, 20mm, my cousin got them for me from new york, i still have to get the front, some fella on the forum selling the energy suspension bushings , but i ent getting time to check anything with car these days.i think the fella have the 25mm bushings for the front, but is time i not getting, look i bought a exhaust hanger for my exhaust bout two weeks now and i not even getting time to put that in...doing sum work on the house, plus work and school as well so you know how it is, not even getting time to lime and drink, wha kinda life is this boy?

What bushings you talking about?

Return to “MAZDA”