ABS Question

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Glitch

ABS Question

Postby Glitch » October 15th, 2008, 9:38 am

Yes fellers can a warped rotor cause your ABS not to function properly? I do get some judder when breaking at higher speed.

When I "stand" on the brake the front wheels lock or the ABS does not engage properly.

Application - 3rd Gen RX7

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 15th, 2008, 10:04 am

well, remember the speed sensor for the abs is located in the vicinity of the rotors, so warped could potentially affect your abs, additionally, remember abs uses a brake and release function, but the release is not a complete release, therefore if the rotor is warped then it could just mean that that the warped part could be rubbing on the pad during the release phase and so you would still stop regardless of whether or not abs is functioning, but i'm no pro, just what i deduced...

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 15th, 2008, 10:07 am

Makes sense...I was thinking of upgrading the rotors anyway.

hmmm

Do you know what braking systems comes with the 2001 RS model?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 16th, 2008, 5:17 pm

if is de bj rs you speakin of tthe calipers are the same as those on the local mazda mx-6 front and rear but you'll get better supply in the us spec market lots of parts on ebay and others stores pads, rotors, lines, sensors, the works

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » October 16th, 2008, 8:37 pm

2001 RS model?

i believe d rs and rz models have a 314mm rotor while d others have a 294mm...but d calipers in the those models slightly bigger to accomodate...if u want those bigger brakes u will need the bigger calipers...i have d brembo brake rotors on my car...

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 17th, 2008, 7:23 am

How much did u get the brembo's for?

I was thinking as a cheap and short term soloution, to carry the rotors to a machine shop and have them skimmed.

Return to “MAZDA”