VVT idling rough

MAZDA People United - it continues here

klyman

VVT idling rough

Postby klyman » January 5th, 2009, 10:58 am

I just installed this zl-ve a month ago and it performed well for the first two weeks ,
Then i started to get alot of hesitation under 4000rpm and little
power to climb steep hill. a mechanic checked it out and changed the spark plugs, now its idling like if i put in racing cams. The rpm just keep pulsing between 500 to 900.
Anybody ever seen this before??????????

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » January 5th, 2009, 11:23 am

Is it manual or automatic?

Check your ECU and see if it has ZL09 or ZL10 on it. Any other number would mean it's the wrong ECU.

The ECU is located under the dashboard on the passenger side if it's a BJ.

Make sure u have the correct ECU before doing or changing anything else :!:

klyman

Postby klyman » January 5th, 2009, 12:03 pm

It is an automatic. The ECU is the correct one. even the serial number matches the engine number and my electrician in down williamsville confirmed this also.

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » January 5th, 2009, 1:42 pm

hmm... It could be a vaccum leak

klyman

Postby klyman » January 5th, 2009, 2:58 pm

you might be on to something there. Cause when i disconnect the vaccum tube to the fuel rail, it gets worse. what is the official procedure to check for this????

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 11th, 2009, 10:45 pm

clean your injectors an take off de throttle body and clean dat too

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » January 12th, 2009, 9:48 am

Do a diagnostic scan to see if any sensors malfunctioning or reading an error. Also check the intake tubing for cracks, esp after the MAF sensor on the way to the throttle body... because if it sucking air from there, the MAF wouldn't give an accurate reading and cause the same kinda problem you have. I recommend taking off the tube to inspect properly... you'll have to move and flex it around to check for cracks.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 13th, 2009, 4:52 pm

check TPS could be bad , vacuum leak. check all hoses. esp the brakes vacuum hose see if it has a crack.

klyman

Postby klyman » January 22nd, 2009, 6:14 am

I went to a mechanic in Chag. (whom i assume knows his sheit) an he jus rev the trottle a couple tymes an tell me is my left coil pack. I bought one together with a new cone filter. The pulsing get a lil quiet but still not enough power until i activate the kick down. The next thing to do is a scan.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 22nd, 2009, 6:28 am

should have done that first boi scan then buy

klyman

Postby klyman » January 22nd, 2009, 7:22 am

i went by 2 mechanic in chag thinkin that they will advise me to scan it but they was using the old time method to diagnose

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 22nd, 2009, 8:00 am

if you read any fsm the first thing they tell you with engine problems is to scan first any mechanic who has upgraded his skills will tell you this unless he is very experienced in the particular engine

klyman

Postby klyman » January 22nd, 2009, 8:34 am

No scene red bwoy.
this weekend i goin at it again, hope i dont waste any more money

klyman

Postby klyman » January 26th, 2009, 7:17 am

I checked a auto electrician down williamsville side and he said my timin belt need to change, thats why it idles like i installed a racing cam. i did not get it fixed yet cause he leaves heavier work for weekdays. so by wednesday i talk about the results. By the way, anyone know the correct timin belt for that zl-ve??????

muddgutts

Re: hey anyone have the wiring diagram for a zl10 ecu?

Postby muddgutts » May 29th, 2018, 7:15 pm

ζђίΰД™ wrote:Is it manual or automatic?

Check your ECU and see if it has ZL09 or ZL10 on it. Any other number would mean it's the wrong ECU.

The ECU is located under the dashboard on the passenger side if it's a BJ.

Make sure u have the correct ECU before doing or changing anything else :!:

Return to “MAZDA”