Re: MAZTUNE's 1988 FC3S RX-7 Build

Posted: February 14th, 2011, 9:57 am
by Safeq
New gauges cool

when yuh doing the painting?

Posted: February 19th, 2011, 2:42 pm
by MAZTUNE
well working on the sunroof in march and trying to get in some body parts first.

Posted: February 21st, 2011, 8:44 am
by Safeq
ok cool sounding good

Re: FC3S RX-7 build

Posted: July 6th, 2011, 11:22 am
by MAZTUNE
So things have took a turn for the worse... Apex seal spring in the front rotor seems to be sticking but the worse is a clutch problem or gearbox will keep you all informed:-(

Re: FC3S RX-7 build

Posted: January 18th, 2012, 10:38 pm
by MAZTUNE
Ok thanks to a good friend used amsoil combustion chamber cleaner and unstuck the seal so we are back in business. No rebuild and compression looking good. So we took the car for a neat drive down the San Fernando bypass, when all of a sudden the car started to shudder, we looked under the car and saw nothing wrong.

How as everybody been?? Big plans for 2012.

Found out the rear right tire imploded on itself (this could have been dangerous!) giving the vibration. I endup selling the Enkei wheels to be replaced with some Rays Gram lights 57c 8x8.5 +30 offset from my brothers Familia GT-R.

These wheels fit perfect in the back but need a +30 offset wide fender in the front to work without touching. So got to get these before bodywork, I am currently saving lol.

On another note i finally got my Cusco Strut tower brace for the front!! so the suspension is complete!!!!

Finally got my Cusco Strut Tower Brace for the front after 4 years!!!

Re: MAZTUNE's FC3S RX-7 build

Posted: January 24th, 2012, 12:21 am
by Razkal
sorry to jump in all random and off-point here, but you might be the best person to tell me my available options if i'm looking for a set of FC coilovers, doesn't have to be complete, i can live with the front alone.

Posted: January 24th, 2012, 7:24 am
by MAZTUNE
No fc suspension in stock. I considering selling the suspension off my car but that's front and rear.

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 10:48 pm
by black start
nice build thread maztune

Posted: March 18th, 2012, 3:45 pm
by MAZTUNE
things now start to get interesting stay tuned.....

Posted: March 22nd, 2012, 2:32 pm
by legoRB
Nice thread

Posted: December 24th, 2012, 11:25 am
by Computerman
Dare we update this?

Posted: December 30th, 2012, 7:30 am
by MAZTUNE
i dunno boy i dunno...

Posted: January 4th, 2013, 2:16 pm
by Miatabrah
Hey Maztune, what would a 13B and 5 speed from an FC run me? Turbo or non-turbo
Or a 12A.

I'm thinking of putting rotary power in my Roadster

Posted: January 4th, 2013, 3:47 pm
by Computerman
Miatabrah go BPT! :twisted:

Posted: January 4th, 2013, 4:21 pm
by Miatabrah
I thought about it or an SR20, don't know how hard it would be to source a BPT. So I considering all options if I can afford it.

Posted: January 4th, 2013, 9:31 pm
by Computerman
Miatabrah wrote:I thought about it or an SR20, don't know how hard it would be to source a BPT. So I considering all options if I can afford it.
If you seriously considering cross breeding you in the wrong forum! Budget $20K (minimum) for a proper BPT install. What is wrong with your B6?

Posted: January 4th, 2013, 10:43 pm
by Miatabrah
I got it with a blown engine, and it's automatic. I like the idea of a carbd 13B in it
Needs quite alot of work, i'm not in Trini btw, another island.

Posted: January 7th, 2013, 10:18 am
by Boosted FC
Stay away from the 12A, as parts for those are becoming extinct.

Posted: January 12th, 2013, 11:02 am
by Miatabrah
what can i expect to pay for a non-turbo 13B?

Posted: September 23rd, 2014, 11:15 pm
by MAZTUNE
ok so where were we.... ahh yes 2012 my engine got blown by lending out my car in the middle of the year. I needed the following to get back on the road :

1) 2 rotor housings which i swapped from a FD3S engine. (note one hole has to be drilled into the housing to work in an FC so water can cool the turbo)
2) 2 rotors which I also swapped from this same FD3S engine. it has better oil passages than FC anyhows.
3) 1 oil pump. My oil pump was scorched beyond repair.
4) 3 engine plates. Now my old plates were good but I found a set of limited edition 1992 series 5 plates which comes with FD bigger porting.
5) Gasket seal kit. went for an Atkins Type A kit without apex, side and corner seals.
6) Apex/side and corner seals - got hold of a set of brand new mazda apex side and corner seals from a remanufactured FD engine. The reason why i went for this was simply the side seals were already cut and shaped for the corners hence saving a good few days.

All my old parts seemed ok.

TOTAL COST - $18000.00

All parts cleaned with a fine tooth comb and built using the Atkins Rotary DVD. I had no idea how to build an engine before this. Built a rotary before a piston engine which personally way harder.

This build took place Christmas day 2012.

Posted: September 23rd, 2014, 11:27 pm
by MAZTUNE
Happy new year everybody its not 2013!!! :drinking: :bday:

So early that year I got my suspension sold and went Cusco Fully Adjustable coilovers. It was time to paint so I pulled out the old bussed up Shine Auto body kit I had lying around and sent the car by Xtreme Body Kits to fix and install. Now the pictures you are about to see are not for the faint of hearted and viewer discretion is advised.

Posted: September 23rd, 2014, 11:38 pm
by MAZTUNE
So the FC went to paint August of that year and 2013 done.... :( NO RX-7 YET

we are now in FEBRUARY 2014 when i get back the car. now let's add..... AUG, SEPT, OCT, NOV, DEC, JAN... 6 months to paint a car...and it come out with all kinda eye... fish eye bug eye etc...

Sigh... but at least it paint. So low and behold the new Rx-7!!!

Posted: September 24th, 2014, 12:42 am
by Razkal
looks great man!.. what's next?

Posted: September 24th, 2014, 9:42 am
by streaminhonda
MORE MORE WE WANT MORE!!!!
btw mnr richard here...

Posted: August 2nd, 2016, 2:49 pm
by MAZTUNE
ok folks so have some spare time on my hands lets see where we left off

Posted: August 2nd, 2016, 3:17 pm
by MAZTUNE
so I in 2014 I was happy with the freshly painted Rx-7 . Went on a couple drives with the MNR(midnight runners) crew until i noticed the turbo was beginning to creep which brings us to Feb 2016. So decided to convert my actuated To4E Knight sports turbo to a 40mm Turbosmart external wastegate.

first thing is remove the turbo and manifold...obviously.. then remove the actuator from the turbo and remove the back plate from the turbocharger. Notice oil is on the turbine wheel, so I went ahead and got a To4e turbo repair kit. This kit includes all parts to refresh the center cartridge. Also got my life long dream of a RE Amemiya turbo manifold.

Posted: August 23rd, 2016, 9:06 am
by streaminhonda
YESSSSS finally...