So many RX-8s???

MAZDA People United - it continues here

MJ

So many RX-8s???

Postby MJ » May 14th, 2011, 9:36 am

i find i'm seeing A LOT of RX-8s for sale, i mean second hand ones and it seems like they're being sold as soon as they're bought.
is there some kinda problem with them that ppl only find out about when they buy them O_o or is it maybe cuz maintenance is too high?

MAZTUNE

Re: So many RX-8s???

Postby MAZTUNE » May 14th, 2011, 7:46 pm

They don't realize that a rotary burns a lot of fuel.

rxforever

Postby rxforever » May 15th, 2011, 7:53 am

rotary should be your secondary, not primary car....

MJ

Postby MJ » May 19th, 2011, 8:10 am

oh ok thanx for that info

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 21st, 2011, 8:38 am

Most people don't maintain the things properly, or know about them.....e.g. I met a dude once who was complaining his 8 wasn't working properly cuz it was burning oil (hence it was for sale).

Last edited by Alpha_2nr on May 27th, 2011, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 24th, 2011, 9:55 am

everytime i see a dodo driving an rx8 i tell myself it gonna hit a trinicars4sale jus now. those cars deserve owners who know about rotary power, but the typical sr20 b14 quasi dan man crowd buying dem and flicking them up.

venum

Postby venum » May 24th, 2011, 10:30 pm

recently eyeing these

good lookers and good performers

hardcore mitsu man though

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 25th, 2011, 11:54 am

venum wrote:hardcore mitsu man though

Would never have guessed!

j/k eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

massacre

Postby massacre » August 3rd, 2011, 2:16 pm

A little research would show that the RX8 has been banned from some European countries as well as the USA. The vehicle did not passing the latest European emission regulations.

http://www.topspeed.com/cars/mazda-rx8/ke341.html

Rel disappointed with Mazda, was going to purchase 1 but changed plans after getting the bad reviews.

But for the businessmen to save their investment woes...ship it down to third world countries to be sold!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 3rd, 2011, 3:55 pm

^^so why was the rx8 sold from 2003 until 2011? You mean after 8 years and with hundreds of thousands of customers around the world, you mean they now ban it? Why are you dissapointed in Mazda? Because emissions regulations standards improve over the years and we can't have an almost decade old car selling for MY2012?

Steups

Postby j.o.e » August 3rd, 2011, 7:52 pm

acesinghit wrote:^^so why was the rx8 sold from 2003 until 2011? You mean after 8 years and with hundreds of thousands of customers around the world, you mean they now ban it? Why are you dissapointed in Mazda? Because emissions regulations standards improve over the years and we can't have an almost decade old car selling for MY2012?

Steups

^^^ took the words out my mouth..the rx-8 run had to come to an end...its only "new" in trinidad bcus of the foreign used business...its served its time. Hate it or love it. Emissions standards are a moving target and make cars obsolete...happened to the fd too

spanishchick

Postby spanishchick » August 4th, 2011, 6:31 am

That car was such a disappointment when it got released in the USA, it should have never carried the RX badge. Its the "wanna be" RX unless Mazda comes up with a new RX that's follows the on the success of the 3rd Gen platform with the Performance to back it up!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 4th, 2011, 8:18 am

performance to back it up? Where alluh come from? D bamboo or what?

Tell me which 3200lbs car (with driver and full tank of gas, fully equiped version - features wise) could cover a quarter mile in 14.5-15s flat and rip to 60mph in around 6s???? Which? Which car in the RX8's price bracket could actually out-handle it on a circuit?

spanishchick

Postby spanishchick » August 4th, 2011, 8:28 am

acesinghit wrote:performance to back it up? Where alluh come from? D bamboo or what?

Tell me which 3200lbs car (with driver and full tank of gas, fully equiped version - features wise) could cover a quarter mile in 14.5-15s flat and rip to 60mph in around 6s???? Which? Which car in the RX8's price bracket could actually out-handle it on a circuit?
Are you kidding me?...your going to actually compare an RX8 to a 3rd Gen 7 in terms of performance? All, am saying is when Mazda released the RX8 as the future of the RX series vehicle it was a huge dissapointment, in every aspect compared to previous 3rd Gen RX7 at the time.

spanishchick

Postby spanishchick » August 4th, 2011, 8:44 am

"This is just a short list of some of the problems they have"

RX-8 Bulletins

HIGH OIL CONSUMPTION DUE TO WRONG AIR INTAKE HOSE SERVICE PARTS
MIL ILLUMINATED - P0455 SET
CHATTERING NOISE / UNABLE TO ADJUST DRIVER-SIDE MANUAL SEAT LIFT
INTRODUCTION OF AQUA-TECH PAINT SYSTEM
HEADLIGHT PLASTIC LENS MAINTENANCE CAUTION
ENGINE COMPARTMENT SHROUD PANEL POOR APPEARANCE
DASHBOARD UPPER SURFACE POOR APPEARANCE
TPMS VALVE STEM BREAKS WHEN REMOVING AFTERMARKET VALVE STEM CAPS
CONDENSATION / FOG IN FRONT AND REAR COMBINATION LIGHTS
HANDS-FREE BLUETOOTH MODULE TROUBLESHOOTING PROCEDURE
SQUEAKING NOISE FROM LEATHER SEATS
CLUNK NOISE FROM SEAT WHEN BRAKING
SEAT SHAKES BACK AND FORTH / MAKES NOISE WHEN BRAKING
SQUEAKING NOISE FROM SEAT BACK DUE TO FRAME AND SPRING CONTACT
SQUEAKING NOISE FROM UNDER DRIVER SEAT LIFTER LINK
SQUEAKING NOISE FROM SEAT BACK DUE TO FRAME AND SEAT BACK PAD CONTACT
HESITATION / IDLE VIBRATION DUE TO CRACKED ENGINE MOUNT
WATER IN REAR COMBINATION LIGHT
ENGINE LACK OF POWER
ENGINE CRANKS NO START
NOISE FROM FRONT OF VEHICLE / STABILIZER CONTROL LINK BROKEN
WATER IN COMBINATION LIGHT - IMPROPER SATELLITE RADIO ANTENNA
CABLE ROUTING
NOISE FROM SPEAKERS WHEN USING AUX JACK AND 12V ACCESSORY SOCKET
WITH NAVIGATION - AUDIO CD TEXT DOES NOT ALWAYS DISPLAY
AT - VIBRATION AT 45-60 MPH DURING LIGHT ACCELERATION
MIL ON - P2070 SET
FAST IDLE DURATION CHANGED
MAZDA SPECIAL PROGRAM (MSP16) - ENGINE LACK OF POWER - PCM REFLASH
NAVIGATION SYSTEM DISPLAYS INCORRECT MAP OR NO MAP AT ALL
PRE-MIXED LONG-LIFE "FL22" ENGINE COOLANT
MIL ON WITH P0456 - LEAKING FUEL FILLER CAP
IGNITION COIL INSPECTION
MIL ILLUMINATED - P0126 SET - THERMOSTAT MONITOR
MIL ILLUMINATED - P2004 SET
TRUNK REQUEST SWITCH INOPERATIVE
HEADLIGHT AUTO-LEVELING MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LIGHT ILLUMINATES
SUN VISOR PIVOT BROKEN
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION COOLER/LINES FLUSHING PROCEDURE
MILKY SUBSTANCE ON OIL LEVEL GAUGE (DIPSTICK)
SULFUR SMELL FROM EXHAUST SYSTEM
MT - UNUSUAL NOISE WHEN CLUTCH PEDAL IS DEPRESSED
AT - SLIGHT SURGE WHILE DRIVING AT 40-55 MPH
MANUAL TRANSMISSION - CLUTCH HARD TO DISENGAGE
CALIFORNIA REFORMULATED GASOLINE
SQUEAKING NOISE FROM SUNROOF
SIRIUS SATELLITE RADIO ACTIVATION - SERVICE TIP
HESITATION / IDLE VIBRATION DUE TO CRACKED ENGINE MOUNT
TPMS VALVE STEM BREAKS WHEN REMOVING AFTERMARKET VALVE STEM CAPS - SERVICE TIP
INSTRUMENT PANEL NOISE - DRIVER SIDE
BROKEN PARKING BRAKE LEVER COVER
SEALANT APPEARS BETWEEN CASE AND EXTENSION HOUSING
W / SUNROOF - OVERHEAD CONSOLE LID HARD TO OPEN
SQUEAL NOISE FROM FRONT BRAKES DURING BRAKING
SHIFT PANEL REMOVAL CAUTION
WINDSHIELD WIPER BLADE MAINTENANCE AND CLEANING
FUEL DISTRIBUTOR INSULATOR - REMOVAL / INSTALLATION CAUTIONS
BATTERY REPLACEMENT
RETRACTABLE KEY TRUNK RELEASE BUTTON - REVISED HOLD DOWN TIME SPECIFICATION
DTC P0336 DURING ENGINE START
REDUCTION OF TIE-DOWN PLUGS
NEW ENGINE OIL LEVEL GAUGE (DIPSTICK)
RETRACTABLE KEYS - SERVICE TIPS
POWER WINDOW INOPERATVE
CHIPS AND SCRATCHES ON FRONT SEATBACK COVER - LEATHER SEATS
DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG RATTLE
TPMS WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AND A WARNING BUZZER - NO DTCs
INTERFERENCE BETWEEN TRUNK, REAR LAMPS AND/OR REAR BUMPER
ROOM FUSE REMOVAL / INSTALLATION CAUTION
A/C AIR TEMPERATURE FLUCTUATION AND / OR LACK OF COOLING
LOW OIL LEVEL WARNING LIGHT COMES ON WHEN LEVEL IS NOT LOW
REAR QUARTER WINDOW GLASS LOCK BECOMES LOOSE
DOME LAMP FLASHING AND / OR CLICKING SOUND FROM REAR DOORS
INTERIOR TIRE HOUSE TRIM LIFTING OVER BOTH REAR WHEEL HOUSINGS
SNAPPING NOISE WHEN TURNING AT LOW SPEED - 18" WHEELS
ENGINE COVER GROMMETS MISSING
FRONT LICENSE PLATE FRAME MOUNTING

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 4th, 2011, 9:15 am

spanishchick wrote:
acesinghit wrote:performance to back it up? Where alluh come from? D bamboo or what?

Are you kidding me?...your going to actually compare an RX8 to a 3rd Gen 7 in terms of performance? All, am saying is when Mazda released the RX8 as the future of the RX series vehicle it was a huge dissapointment, in every aspect compared to previous 3rd Gen RX7 at the time.

Where did I say I was making a comparison to the RX-7? I feel you didn't learn english properly. Even so, you could use your spanish common sense and realize the RX-8 was never a successor to the 7 and it costs less. The 7 is lighter and carries dual turbos. It must be faster! :lol:

Have you found another 3200lb car that could match the RX8's performance yet wit similar price?

spanishchick

Postby spanishchick » August 4th, 2011, 9:46 am

acesinghit wrote:
spanishchick wrote:

Where did I say I was making a comparison to the RX-7? I feel you didn't learn english properly. Even so, you could use your spanish common sense and realize the RX-8 was never a successor to the 7 and it costs less. The 7 is lighter and carries dual turbos. It must be faster! :lol:

Have you found another 3200lb car that could match the RX8's performance yet wit similar price?
Lets try to keep this on topic since you seem to feel the need to post stupid comments like "if you from d bamboo" or "learning the English language". Which has nothing to do with the topic...Anyways

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 4th, 2011, 10:47 am

2003 Nissan 350z 0-60mph 5.4s , 1/4 mile 14.1s

2009 Nissan 370Z 4.7s and 13.3s

The RX8 is a great track car but it will get eaten by the 370Z. Although the RX8 may get into and out of corners faster, and I say may since the 370 chassis is upgraded from the 350, as soon as the road straightens the Z's mighty hp and torque advantage will end any competition.

At approx U$32,500 for top spec models the Nissan has more race track hardware than the Mazda.

Another point to note is that Mazda dealers in the US have asked that RX8 services not be included in the overall statistics for customer satisfaction ratings. This is due to the exceptionally high number of fixes required for the RX8 which if those numbers were included would reduce the ranking of Mazda. It is also due to the many dissatisfied owners who are having to return the vehicle for multiple attempts to fix an issue.

I think ppl who bought these here are starting to have problems already and local support is scarce. Just do a search on the web and you'll see the countless owners who have had problems with this vehicle. Even those bought new from the dealer and maintained by the dealer need engine replacements. Mazda (US) is even selling an extended warranty cause they know there are so many disgruntled owners out there. Some dealers don't even want to sell the RX8 because they know it's headache to support them down the road.

The RX8 maybe a good drivers car but it is very unreliable and too many repeat issues with it .... very poor quality vehicle. Mazda is probably on the brink of a lemon lawsuit for the RX8

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 9th, 2011, 9:05 am

acesingshit, you sound like you know a thing or too about ur cars. Do u have one?

well, I think maybe it's a good thing that people don't buy that many rotaries. they are a niche car in my opinion, and the average person might blow up the engine faster?

Here are some RX7 bulletins:

Service Bulletins
TSB Number & Issue Date TSB Title
J00190 APR 03 M/T - Shim Adjustment Procedure
0101899 MAY 99 Year 2000 - Computer Systems Compliance
K00598 DEC 98 A/T Cooler/Line - Flushing Procedure
F01498 DEC 98 Throttle Adjustment Screw - Adjustment Precaution
G00198 OCT 98 Battery - Dies In A relatively Short Period Of Time
S0901898 JUL 98 Door Weatherstrip - Wind Noise Around Doors
B00398 JUL 98 Engine - Oil Leak At Rear Stationary Gear O-Ring
S0801198 MAY 98 Seat Belts - Warning Lamp/Buzzer ON
N00198 APR 98 Steering Wheel - Slightly Off Center.
ST00198 FEB 98 Star Tester - New Version Program Cards
S02297 DEC 97 Retractor Switch - Seat Belt Lamp/Buzzer ON
S0802297 DEC 97 S0802297 - 12/28/97
S02097 OCT 97 Bumper - Painting Preparation
T01397 JUN 97 Wiper Motor - Inoperative/Circuit Breaker Operation
U00897 MAY 97 A/C System - Tracer Dye Leak Detection
ST00297 MAR 97 Special Tools - Storage Cabinet System
U00597 MAR 97 A/C - O-Ring Replacement
AD00397 FEB 97 Speedometer - Replacement Procedure
U00996 OCT 96 A/C Refrigerant - Recommendations
E00296 JUN 96 Reconditioned Anti-Freeze - Recommendations
F01496 JUN 96 Fuel - California Reformulated Gasoline
F01396 MAY 96 Fuel Volatility - Driveability Concerns
ST00895 OCT 95 A/C - R134a Training/Equipment Requirements
U00995 SEP 95 A/C - O Ring Replacement
K00295 AUG 95 A/T - Repair Policies
F00595 JUN 95 Intake Manifold - Rough Idle After Replacing Gasket
ST00295 APR 95 Required Tools - Inventory List
F00595 MAR 95 F00595 - 03/28/95
B00595 MAR 95 HLA - Noise After Long Storage
U00195 FEB 95 Receiver Dryer - Replacement Criteria
N00195 JAN 95 Pre Alignment - Specifications
ATRATB294 JAN 95 A/T - Drive Axle and Wheel Lug Nut Torque Specifications
N00394 DEC 94 Alignment - Background Information & Specifications
ST00294 NOV 94 Tools - Shipment Of NGS Program Card Version 2.0
ST00394 OCT 94 Brakes - Use On Car Brake Lathe to Correct Judder
E00194 OCT 94 Coolant - Propylene Glycol Based Not Recommended
K00294 OCT 94 A/T - Diagnostic Procedures
B00494 JUN 94 Engine - Partial Repair Components Available
U00194 APR 94 A/C - 0 Ring Replacement
ATRATB191 OCT 93 A/T - Failsafe Modes
ATRATB188 OCT 93 A/T - G4A-EL Retrieving Trouble Codes
G00293 SEP 93 Electronic Devices/Electrical - Diagnosis and Repair
R00793 SEP 93 Suspension - Excessive Negative Rear Camber
Q00593 JUN 93 Tire Chains - Installation Precautions
F00593 APR 93 Emission Inspection Test - Proper Preparation
F00193 JAN 93 Fuel Injector - Cleaner Kit for Improved Performance
ATRATB156 JAN 93 A/T - N4AEL Erratic/Intermittant Shift Complaints
AD02892 NOV 92 Emissions - Proof of Recall Correction Certificate
U01692 SEP 92 A/C - O Ring Installation Procedure
ATRATB132 SEP 92 A/T - Intermittent Electrical Problems
G00692 JUL 92 Drive Belt - Tension Adjustment
J00492 JUL 92 M/T - Hard Shift to 2ND Gear After Cold Start
ATRATB113 MAY 92 A/T - E4N71B, L4N71B, 4N71B No 4th Gear
ATRATB115 MAY 92 A/T - N4AEL General Information
ATRATB078 NOV 91 A/T - How To Use A Pressure Gauge
P00391 OCT 91 Brakes - Rotor and Drum Inspection Criteria
ATRATB053 JUN 91 A/T - Overdrive Planetary Burn Up
F01091 APR 91 EGI Control Unit - Remanufactured Exchange Program
W00191 MAR 91 Cooling, A/T, Fuel System - Workshop Manual Corrections
F00991 MAR 91 Turbo Charger, ECU - Engine Hesitation
B00791 FEB 91 Engine Rear Oil Seal - Damage Prevention
00791 FEB 91 Engine, Rear Oil Seal - Prevent Damage While Assembling
U00790 DEC 90 A/C - Receiver Drier Fuse Plug Elimination
ATRATB028 OCT 90 A/T - Engine Vacuum Testing
ST00290 AUG 90 A/T - Proper Control Unit Connection
D00290 JUL 90 Engine, Rear Oil Seal - Revised to Prevent Oil Leak
T00390 JUN 90 Cruise Control - OE Replacement Recommended
D00190 JUN 90 Engine - Electronic Oil Metering Pump Terminals Switched
R00490 JUN 90 Strut, Front - Squeaking or Groaning Noise
F00590 JUN 90 Sub Zero Starting Assist Device - Discontinued
T00290 JUN 90 Cruise Control - Operation Revised
G00190 JUN 90 Tools - Correct Use of Timing Light on DLI System
AD01190 MAY 90 Engine - Metering Oil Pump Manual Corrections
ST00190 APR 90 Tools, Special - Modification
E00190 FEB 90 Coolant - Reconditioned Antifreeze, Not Recommended
ATRATB9002006 FEB 90 A/T - Choosing the Right ATF
4002689 DEC 89 Tools - Using the EC/At Tester
502289 NOV 89 Wiring Harness - Rough Idle or No Start
104489 NOV 89 Oil Nozzle & Oil Metering Tube - Torque Specifications
ATRATB8930 OCT 89 A/T - Math Part II
406289 SEP 89 Secondary Air Bypass - Idle Speed Hunting or Fluctuation
ATRATB8927 SEP 89 A/T - Twenty Steps To Successful Repairs
ATRATB8923 AUG 89 A/T - Math Formulas Part I
405989 JUL 89 EGI Control Unit - Remanufactured Parts Available
706289 JUN 89 M/T - Hard Shift In Low Temperatures
1507889 MAY 89 Audio System - Troubleshooting
ATRATB8910 APR 89 A/T - Shifts Into Overdrive with Switch Off
1406689 MAR 89 Hood Latch Assembly - Removal & Reinstallation
1000789 MAR 89 Horn Wiring Harness - Incorrect Routing
1406789 MAR 89 Static Electricity Shock - Recommended Antistatic Sprays
405489 FEB 89 Fuel - Use of Regular Unleaded Gasoline
705689 FEB 89 M/T - Proper Installation of Change Rod Boot
502088 NOV 88 Battery, Maintenance Free - Charging & Testing
6008088 SEP 88 Vehicle - Proper Use of Corporate Logo
ATRATB8754 SEP 87 A/T - Front Bushing Wear
ATRATB8748 AUG 87 A/T - Slipping or No-Shift/Metal Sealing Rings

The rx7's are said to have endless problems with oil systems and also alignment and suspension issues. Plus the site I pulled that list from said all rotaries have starting issues.

Maybe rotaries on the whole are troublesome?

ROTARY BRAIN

Postby ROTARY BRAIN » August 10th, 2011, 10:39 am

All things being said, all valid points and good information. To begin my comtribution, i must state for the record i am very PASSIONATE about rotaries. That being said you really need to be knowlegable about these cars to understand them. To answer the original question on this post, yes alot of rx8s are for sale for a number of varying factors. Alot fo ppl who buy these cars know little about rotaries and how they function and mainly purchase them for cosmetic reasons, i must say its a very good looking car. All rotaries burn fuel by design, the engine needs to be running rich all the time to avoid detonation, any kind of fuel problems and ur engine would break (apex seal failure) although mazda has developed much more efficient seals in the renesis series, they are nut immune, secondly, the engine by design comsumes oil via the oil metering pump (OMP) that injects into the combustion chamber to lubricate the apex seals. This car is not what u want to commute in, well from my knowledge as i converse with friends that own these, hence u see alot of them for sale cause ppl realize they burn fuel and oil and is costly to maintain.

I must admitt rotaries are indeed troublesome but the latter maybe true for mainly the 3rd generation rx7, mazda engineers did a poor job with this cars that has several issues but the main one is the compliacted sequential twin turbo system thats has a who rats nest of vacuum lines and solenoids that controls its function. But thats where the passion for this car comes in, u do the proper reliability modifactions and make this a great car, its a great feeling driving it, and the more u drive it the more power u would want, more power would equate to more likely to detonate.

I could go on and on on these cars, ppl hv to realize they are true breed sports cars, and its best to keep it jess for a weekend cruise, u would enjoy it alot more, and buy ah pick up to carry u to work (lol)

FAST CAR = NO MONEY.............LIVE BY IT, DIE BY IT........ROTARY TILL I DIE

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 10th, 2011, 11:53 am

very good info there Rotary brain.....I think alot of these owners can learn something from your post. I sure did.

I get the impression that owning a rotary is like a passion/love. If so, I find it hard to believe a true "rotor-ian" would a bash a car of their own breed (see comments about the rx8 further up).

This car is not what u want to commute in, well from my knowledge as i converse with friends that own these, hence u see alot of them for sale cause ppl realize they burn fuel and oil and is costly to maintain.

I think yuh hit the nail there bud. fellas buy these cars cuz they look nice and they are listed as a 1.3, not so? but they don't realise the design of the rotary which makes it different to a normal engine

although mazda has developed much more efficient seals in the renesis series, they are nut immune, secondly, the engine by design comsumes oil via the oil metering pump (OMP) that injects into the combustion chamber to lubricate the apex seals

so the seals are better in the rx8? nice!

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 10th, 2011, 11:58 am

ah feel ah bug bite mih here. started some reading. check these out (found it on Mazda USA sitre):

So the RX8 more powerful than the 2nd gen RX7???? Thaz like a 65 hp difference! Is that for manuals only? Or autos too? Didn't know that!

ROTARY BRAIN

Postby ROTARY BRAIN » August 10th, 2011, 2:38 pm

correct the renesis engine is a 1.3. I wouldnt say that the apex seals use in the renesis are better, its just that they came along way from the earlier engine due to extensive research and development by mazda engineers.

The renesis does make more power than a second generation but the renesis does nut take turboing very well, thats y they are non turbo, you could maybe modify a 2nd gen to make alot more power, there isnt much modification u cud do with a rx8 to build power, u could use a supercharger, which brings a whole different set of issues, that i dont wanna go into rite now.

Most rx8 guys see me on the road crusing with meh FD cause i like to obey laws and then push meh buttons and when i unleash meh 400hp on them, they back off and feel stupid, lol, thats by the way...lol

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 11th, 2011, 8:23 am

rotary brain, please visit the below link and tell me what you think about those specs I posted. The specs you posted extracted from the US website actually turned out to be untrue as Mazda admitted the RENESIS never put out 250ps and 280ps as some websites have it.

Actual output is 228-232bhp, still more than the 2nd gen but impressive nevertheless for a 1.3. Of course some experts say the twin rotor actually displaces 2.6L.

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=301627&start=0

ROTARY BRAIN

Postby ROTARY BRAIN » August 11th, 2011, 10:08 am

i didnt post any specs, ""DSM-05"" did, and i was jess answering his question "" The rx-8 is more powerfull than the second gen rx7"", to which i confirmed but i visited the link to the post where u disclosed some good info. I apologize if anyting i said was untrue, i made contribution based on my own knowldege however little and i am always open minded to internalize and analyse information posted my other rotor heads, cheers mate!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 11th, 2011, 11:52 am

Nice info there Rotary ... I think the real issue with the RX8 and why it's been such a disappointment to many owners is that Mazda touted that the RENESIS fixed many of the annoying issues that plagued the 3rd Gen. Of course the reality was different and many people expected a more reliable and less troublesome product only to be faced with almost the same issues.

To add salt to the wound there are many customers who bought the RX8 who were well knowledgeable about a rotary powered car, maintained it properly, enjoyed driving it but still were very dissatisfied because of reliability and quality issues. These are the people who Mazda will have a hard time trying to convince to get back into a rotary powered car.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 11th, 2011, 2:02 pm

After reading all of this, I thin k the real reason is:

Alot fo ppl who buy these cars know little about rotaries and how they function and mainly purchase them for cosmetic reasons

ppl just don;t know about teh car. I get the sense that the normal rules dont apply with this engine, and people don;t undstd that?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 11th, 2011, 2:16 pm

^^ Thing is Mazda doesn't seem to understand this. When you buy a BMW M3 or M5 BMW provides a short training course to ensure that drivers understand how to operate these extreme vehicles. Mazda, however, treats the RX8 as if it were just as easy to operate and maintain as a normal piston engine car .... and it's not. Of course even a drivers orientation course would not make up for all the quality and reliability related issues

I'm sure the RX8 brochure does not have a warning stating "Not to be purchased for primary vehicle use" :D

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 11th, 2011, 2:22 pm

i've been told the owner's manual states certain things like not shutting off the engine cold and using only certain types of oil. but i think in the roro market, ppl don't get the owner's manuals with the car, so they are not better informed. and they blow up the car as a result.

maybe the car shud come with a how to dvd.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 11th, 2011, 2:34 pm

^^ yes ... ROROs without the manuals cold be part of the problem.

Return to “MAZDA”