M16A oil filter

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

M16A oil filter

Postby Dave » February 20th, 2008, 3:41 pm

what oil filter works back here in the regular shop brands
the swift m16a uses a 18x1.5 thread whereas the 2.0 sx4(don't know engine code) uses a 3/4x16

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » February 20th, 2008, 3:54 pm

If you can switch out the threading and replace it with a 3/4-16...
Saw this done on a big block american engine

Re: M16A oil filter

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 21st, 2008, 8:25 am

Dave wrote:what oil filter works back here in the regular shop brands
the swift m16a uses a 18x1.5 thread whereas the 2.0 sx4(don't know engine code) uses a 3/4x16

puraltor (sp) :D :D

and the engine code is j20a

Postby Dave » February 21st, 2008, 8:57 am

^smarty i know :lol: is purolator i want but i want model no
ok, the sport has what engine? m15A?
and the swift only comes with a m series o i safe checking a canadian version for engine related info
nice
think i answered myself, lol

btw, the GV and the USDM sx4 has the same engine? J20A?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 21st, 2008, 10:53 am

Dave wrote:^smarty i know :lol: is purolator i want but i want model no
ok, the sport has what engine? m15A?
and the swift only comes with a m series o i safe checking a canadian version for engine related info
nice
think i answered myself, lol

btw, the GV and the USDM sx4 has the same engine? J20A?

ignis sport m15a high comp 11:1
swift m15a 9.5:1
swift sport m16a high comp 11.5:1

sx4 1600cc m16a 9.0:1
sx4 2000cc j20a 9.5:1

lord ... i cyah remeber ...right now i have on the oem suzuki filter and i can't remember the number for the purolator. but i have it written down in the service manual ...so i will post it up later

try going throught the links i posted for the sx4 service manual.... all the info you need should be there

[/b]

Big Z

Postby Big Z » February 21st, 2008, 2:40 pm

Edit.. the information below is incorrect for all the local Suzuki products.

From Purolator web site...

L10111
Threads: M18x1.5
Type of Filter: Spin-on
Relief Valve P.S.I.: None
Height: 3.42
Anti-Drain Back Valve: Yes
O.D.: 2.98
Last edited by Big Z on April 12th, 2013, 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » February 22nd, 2008, 9:54 am

i got that too but it is not available locally

kdat

Postby kdat » April 12th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Bosch Distance Plus High-Performance Oil Filter

Diameter: 3 in
Gasket Inside Diameter: 2.398 in
Gasket Outside Diameter: 2.76 in
Height: 3.36 in
Length: 3.36 in
Seal Inside Diameter: 2.398 in
Seal Outside Diameter: 2.76 in
Spin On: Yes
Thread Size: M18X1.5-S

will the above work on the M16A even if the seal diameter is smaller? Is it once you have the right thread size the filter will work properly or does the seal diameter and the filter dimensions matter? If it does matter is there specs on the OEM filter to compare to find the closest after-market match?

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » April 12th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Yes the size of the filer does matter...i use the purolator L10241 series...not sure if it is available in trinidad I buy mine in the states but there are other purolator filters that work and fram too can't remember the number offhand. I believe the fram one is PH2951. The guys on here can give you the other purolator ones that fit

Big Z

Postby Big Z » April 12th, 2013, 6:39 pm

Filter below will not work on local Suzuki products.

You need one with a 3/4 - 16 thread.

kdat wrote:Bosch Distance Plus High-Performance Oil Filter

Diameter: 3 in
Gasket Inside Diameter: 2.398 in
Gasket Outside Diameter: 2.76 in
Height: 3.36 in
Length: 3.36 in
Seal Inside Diameter: 2.398 in
Seal Outside Diameter: 2.76 in
Spin On: Yes
Thread Size: M18X1.5-S

will the above work on the M16A even if the seal diameter is smaller? Is it once you have the right thread size the filter will work properly or does the seal diameter and the filter dimensions matter? If it does matter is there specs on the OEM filter to compare to find the closest after-market match?

kdat

Postby kdat » April 12th, 2013, 9:33 pm

i have a sx4 m16a - is that different to the swift m16a, with respect to threading on the filter? coz from the first post it stated that the swift m16a uses 18 x 1.5

if the filter is 3/4 x 16 thats supposed to be much easier to find especially online, wouldn't it?

What you guys think of sakura filters? have been using them for the past 3 filter changes as i use amsoil, to me they're not great but get the job done for a reasonable price.

I once got a bosch oil filter from the firm when the oem ran out, cant find that anywhere outside, so i'm looking for a reasonably priced oil filter for m16a sx4, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » April 12th, 2013, 10:01 pm

The first post is wrong.

Return to “SUZUKI”