want to change engine

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

dtp

want to change engine

Postby dtp » April 13th, 2008, 3:05 pm

my friend has a question to ask he have a 1988 jimmy want to change the engine buy still use his awd gear box
he want to go fuel injected what can he use it dont have to be a suzuki engine but want to keep de all wheel box
so help him out
he is a trinituner member but internet down
its "morfire "

booEVO

Postby booEVO » May 1st, 2008, 2:00 pm

i'm going to do my engine change in a couple days as well, and as most of the member would tell you that the easiest change over would be either the G13B (4cyc 1.3L samurai) or G16A/B (8/16 valve 1.6L escudo).

>>>awaits comments from senior members :roll:

JL

Postby JL » May 1st, 2008, 9:02 pm

G16A... nice powerful engine and loads of parts available for them on the net too. If you get one to buy good for you!

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » May 2nd, 2008, 4:39 pm

G16A or G16B from the escudo/vitara.......lots of low end torque....

single point EFI (8valve SOHC)
multi point EFI (16-valve SOHC)

single point EFI (8-valve SOHC)
multi-point EFI (16-valve SOHC)
or there is the Swift GTi engine: Multi Point EFI (16-valve DOHC)
___
(single point EFI= One injector in a throttle body)
(multi point EFI= 4 injectors)
___

.........Using the 1600 engine might require an adapter plate to fit your transmission (as its the case with the older samurai).

The 1300 engines should be a direct bolt up to the transmission (also as n the case of the older samurai). Front wheel drive engines from the Swift, Baleno, etc., will require modification to the distributor by using a right angle drive kit, since FWD engines have a horizontal position distributor unlike the upright position of the RWD engines.
Four Wheel drive will be retained in all cases.

My best bet, would be to go with the G16 Series Multi Point EFI (16 valve SOHC) :twisted:

aidan

Postby aidan » May 2nd, 2008, 5:05 pm

^^if its a jimny, the gearbox different from the samurai, cuz when we was changing the engine on the jimny it didnt want to bolt back up, so he might need a new engine/transmission and t-case, if he opting for the 1300cc.

Postby tr1ad » May 3rd, 2008, 6:43 am

correct, however the complete setup from the vitara/ecsudo would fit engine tranny transfer case

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » May 3rd, 2008, 5:48 pm

An adapter plate should work

aidan

Postby aidan » May 3rd, 2008, 11:40 pm

some of the gran vitaras came with a suzuki diesel engine, anyone knows how available them is?not sure of the engine number, ill post it when i find out.

booEVO

Postby booEVO » May 5th, 2008, 7:39 am

A turbo diesel engine (4 cyl. 1.9L 129 hp (96 kW) manufactured by Renault) is also available.

was the Jimny a 3cyc engine? if it is the jimny doesn't bolt on to the G16A/B.

By the way anyone have the bars and side steps?

Postby tr1ad » May 5th, 2008, 9:33 am

the 3cyl engine was the turbo engine

660 epi 55hp@5500rpm

aidan

Postby aidan » May 5th, 2008, 5:00 pm

booEVO,you could giv mih more info on the diesel engine and if u know it's availability.

booEVO

Postby booEVO » May 6th, 2008, 8:14 am

i asked about the diesel engines a long time ago, but no 1 brings it (bamboo,anand in st. mary's or even this guy right in san juan)

even if u get the engine itz goin 2 be alot of work for the gas to diesel switch over (in my opinion 2 expensive).

as for info, jus try searchin wikipedia eg. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G13B

booEVO

Postby booEVO » May 6th, 2008, 8:28 am

aidan
if u're lookin for a sweet project let me know
jus think "V6"

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » May 6th, 2008, 6:28 pm

hey i'm looking for an G16A engine block any body have one?

dtp

Postby dtp » May 10th, 2008, 7:46 am

g13/ g16b
what are the general prices lookin 4 only engine swap want to keep gearbox

booEVO

Postby booEVO » May 10th, 2008, 10:40 am

*iz his jeep the 4cyc or 3cyc?

Not sure about the G13B price but i guess u can get it by Anand in Chase Village(his prices high though)

The G16B can start at about 5500 for engine/harness/brain (no transmission, price with transmission iz about 9000)

My suggestion iz to go 4 the G16B, a little more money but,
-more hp & torque
-parts easier to get
-MORE DAMNNN FUN

my 2cents.

aidan

Postby aidan » May 10th, 2008, 4:14 pm

^if its a 1988 local jimny more than likely it will be a 4cyl.booEVO, i was thinkin about putin a V6 in d escudo, but gas might kill mih lol.but the 1600cc EPI works damn good, absoloutely problem free and good on d gas.
if anyone have a link to get car parts from miami, the vitara/sidekick engines are cheap up there, and alot of parts too.

booEVO

Postby booEVO » May 12th, 2008, 8:05 am

aidan wrote:^i was thinkin about putin a V6 in d escudo, but gas might kill mih lol.

no probs man but if u change ur mind you can check seenath, they had a V6 front cut

i wanted it but itz gonna pinch my pocket too hard on the installation side

by the way i'm tryin to get my sammi in the shop today for the engine change. i don't know if i'll hav time but i'll try to get some pics to help otherz.

prelude2madness

Re: want to change engine

Postby prelude2madness » November 1st, 2015, 12:53 am

I am looking for a complete engine and transmission with brain box and harness 1300 or 1600 direct bolt up preferably for the hardtop samurai/Jimny

morfire

Postby morfire » March 17th, 2016, 3:29 am

prelude2madness wrote:I am looking for a complete engine and transmission with brain box and harness 1300 or 1600 direct bolt up preferably for the hardtop samurai/Jimny

are u still looking 4 one
i got a engine and tranny put down

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 20th, 2017, 5:58 pm

morfire wrote:
prelude2madness wrote:I am looking for a complete engine and transmission with brain box and harness 1300 or 1600 direct bolt up preferably for the hardtop samurai/Jimny

are u still looking 4 one
i got a engine and tranny put down

PM me what you have please

Return to “SUZUKI”