2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara - Price Update Mar.2010

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

booEVO

Postby booEVO » July 21st, 2008, 8:38 am

well i guess itz 2 far out of my range so i'll jus wait to get the engine for my sammi

2.4L 16v Suzuki Samurai, i like the sound of that

jus imagine watt it'll do then 8-)
Last edited by booEVO on July 21st, 2008, 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 21st, 2008, 8:38 am

an anyone confirm whether this would be diesel ? - If it diesel its gonna be the number one seller

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 28th, 2008, 3:58 pm

In showrooms NOW!

Mini

Postby Mini » August 28th, 2008, 4:55 pm

nice

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 28th, 2008, 7:30 pm

booge wrote:an anyone confirm whether this would be diesel ? - If it diesel its gonna be the number one seller

The Diesel model is currently not available in this region, import model from the UK would be the Diesel 1.9DDiS manual transmission ONLY.

But I agree, it would be the number one seller, but very expensive $$$$.

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2008, 7:48 pm

i need more heh cloth

goin fuss ting in d mornin

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 28th, 2008, 7:58 pm

tr1ad wrote:i need more heh cloth

goin fuss ting in d mornin

Why yuh torturing yuhself??!! :lol: :lol:

Postby tr1ad » August 29th, 2008, 9:07 am

jed dey put meh out yes.... something about rubbin up on d sgv an meh keys scratchin it up

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 29th, 2008, 7:26 pm

tr1ad wrote:jed dey put meh out yes.... something about rubbin up on d sgv an meh keys scratchin it up

It good fuh yuh!! :lol: :lol:

Postby tr1ad » August 30th, 2008, 11:18 am

i serious

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 30th, 2008, 2:20 pm

First Impressions:

If you already have the 06/08 SGV, the 09 face-lift is not worth the upgrade. But, if you've never owned one, by all means buy one today. There were no 2.4s/3.2s for test drive. I wanted to see if the additional 26/39 horses were worth it.

It's the same vehicle - the dimensions are the same. This is a minor face-lift.

The most significant thing for me is the Front/Rear Disc brakes upgrade.

2009 2.0L Leather & Fabric on display:
- They've made the main grill and mesh below bigger
- Xenon, Cruise control & Sunroof is now standard on the leather models
- The 17" wheels resemble the 16" on the 06/08. (Don't like it)
- Wing mirror turn signal is not LED, just a bulb with an angled lens to give the effect.
- The fender turn signal has been removed since there is now one on the wing mirror
- The wing mirrors are STILL manual folding.
- Marble trim replaces the wood grain depending in the vehicle colour
- New colours like the Metallic Navy Blue Pearl. The Plum is weird.
- The info display has moved from on top of the centre A/C vents to the instrument cluster
- An almost invisible 'D' shaped curve around the headlights
- Front and rear disc brakes
- They now have Beige upholstery/interior (yuck) in addition to beige leather/interior
- A centre speaker has replaced the info display
- 7.1 Sound system sounds better that the previous 6.1 model
- ESP & brake assist (2.4L & 3.2L only)
- No door lights on the 2.0, only on 2.4 & 3.2
- They may not bring the 3.2 except on order ($425 is high). The mid sized Captiva is only $328. The full size Grand Cherokee is $500k.
- Same head & tail lights.
- They brought back that shitty Bridgestone Dueler H/T 687 tire. New buyers should change immediately. Terrible on wet roads.

For 06/08 SGV Owners - The following shall soon be available as upgrades: Cruise control, indicator mirrors, Rear Disc upgrade and if yuh bounce yours you could change to the 09 front grill and bumper.

I must admit I was distracted by the Porsche Cayenne GTS which was parked in its enclosure. After getting a hands-on tour of the GTS, it makes me want to spend $1.3M. :lol: 8-)
Last edited by NorStar2K on August 31st, 2008, 1:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 30th, 2008, 6:49 pm

You cah be serious about the SGV having manual wing mirrors????

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 30th, 2008, 6:55 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:You cah be serious about the SGV having manual wing mirrors????

Manual folding I mean. :oops:

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » September 1st, 2008, 2:29 am

norstar2k wrote:
Rallyfignis wrote:You cah be serious about the SGV having manual wing mirrors????

Manual folding I mean. :oops:

OH!!!

Ah wuz wunderin :lol: :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 3rd, 2008, 9:57 pm

its a better vehicle than the Hyundai Tucson, Kia Sportage and Honda CR-V but the Toyota RAV4, Mitsubishi Outlander, Mazda CX-7 and Subaru Forester is better. In terms of price we can throw in the Hyundai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento which is better as well and they're turbo diesel.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 3rd, 2008, 11:44 pm

x2floor wrote:its a better vehicle than the Hyundai Tucson, Kia Sportage and Honda CR-V but the Toyota RAV4, Mitsubishi Outlander, Mazda CX-7 and Subaru Forester is better. In terms of price we can throw in the Hyundai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento which is better as well and they're turbo diesel.

I agree totally. And, it's unfortunate that the prices are now so high. You can get a lot more vehicle/features from other brands for the price of the 2.4L SGV ($340K). The larger 2.5L X-Trail for example, is $330K.

x2floor, you can add the 2.0L Turbo Diesel Chevy Captiva (Sport) Mid-sized SUV to your list from Jan.09.

I had to squash my upgrade plans, the minor facelift ain't worth it. I think I'll buy the diesel Captiva instead. RAV4 too small.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » September 4th, 2008, 6:49 am

Norstar2k........? diesel Captiva do i hear SGV for sale?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 4th, 2008, 10:26 am

jusjase44 wrote:Norstar2k........? diesel Captiva do i hear SGV for sale?

Most likely! :)

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » September 4th, 2008, 11:01 am

Why man?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 4th, 2008, 11:27 am

jusjase44 wrote:Why man?

Not my baby, the wife own. :) I'll give her mine so it says in the family. I want a diesel vehicle and I'm not a pickup fan.

Postby tr1ad » September 4th, 2008, 11:56 am

tuscon in dey mc

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 4th, 2008, 7:04 pm

tr1ad wrote:tuscon in dey mc

Yeah boy, Tucson sales are up. And their prices haven't varied much since the model's introduction 3 yrs ago, unlike Suzuki - prices are now ridiculous.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 5th, 2008, 11:48 am

^^^I heard that Hyundai had to re-adjust their thinking about the trini market because they supposedly re-directed a shipment bound for the UK to Trinidad's port to get them offloaded to meet our local demand. The sales rep told me that and despite being the 2nd cheapest new cross-over SUV on our market its the #1 seller taking that crown away from the likes of the X-Trail and Grand Vitara.

norstar2k, I totally forgot to mention the Chevrolet Captiva which for $349k you getting an Alloytec 3.2 V6 and this thing is based on the latest GM cross-over architecture......its our local market best kept secret. The underpinnings of this vehicle is the same as the Chevrolet Equinox, Pontiac Torrent, Suzuki XL-7 and Saturn VUE if Im not mistaken (Theta unibody platform), it also has an optional Italian VM Motori 2.0 SOHC 16V Turbo Diesel CRDi with 150HP and 250Nm which is essentially the equivalent of the 2.7 V6 engines found in top grade Tucsons and Grand Vitaras with the exception of greater fuel efficiency more on the Captiva.

So its actually an upgrade if you decide to go that route and last I heard from the grapevine, Trinidad Automobiles is being bought over by LifeStyle Motors so sales and service reputation is gonna head for the better.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 5th, 2008, 12:37 pm

x2floor wrote:^^^I heard that Hyundai had to re-adjust their thinking about the trini market because they supposedly re-directed a shipment bound for the UK to Trinidad's port to get them offloaded to meet our local demand. The sales rep told me that and despite being the 2nd cheapest new cross-over SUV on our market its the #1 seller taking that crown away from the likes of the X-Trail and Grand Vitara.

norstar2k, I totally forgot to mention the Chevrolet Captiva which for $349k you getting an Alloytec 3.2 V6 and this thing is based on the latest GM cross-over architecture......its our local market best kept secret. The underpinnings of this vehicle is the same as the Chevrolet Equinox, Pontiac Torrent, Suzuki XL-7 and Saturn VUE if Im not mistaken (Theta unibody platform), it also has an optional Italian VM Motori 2.0 SOHC 16V Turbo Diesel CRDi with 150HP and 250Nm which is essentially the equivalent of the 2.7 V6 engines found in top grade Tucsons and Grand Vitaras with the exception of greater fuel efficiency more on the Captiva.

So its actually an upgrade if you decide to go that route and last I heard from the grapevine, Trinidad Automobiles is being bought over by LifeStyle Motors so sales and service reputation is gonna head for the better.

Good info x2floor. The buyout of TA is complete actually. It's this option I was going to use to get the Captiva now that it's a Lifestyle product. And as you know I can't get better service than Lifestyle. I was skeptical about Chevy, but I've heard great things about their quality and performance.

Lifestyle now has 3 levels of SUVs:
- The compact Suzuki Grand Vitara
- The midsized Chevy Captiva
- The fullsized Jeep Grand Cheerokee

Nice move Lifestyle!

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 7th, 2008, 5:24 pm

whats the cost of the diesel captiva 2.0 and do you know what features it comes with.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 7th, 2008, 7:38 pm

Slow Poke wrote:whats the cost of the diesel captiva 2.0 and do you know what features it comes with.

Est. $345+ (To be confirmed)

The diesel option is a 2.0 liter turbocharged unit with Bosch direct injection making 150hp at 4,000rpm and 320Nm of torque at 2,000rpm, mated to a 5-speed automatic transmission with Tiptronic. Interestingly, it has a ladder frame chassis similar to the Grand Vitara.

Features for the Captiva include a remote keyless entry, adjustable steering column, power windows for both the rear and front/rear fog lamps, a full-leather interior, climate control, 16-inch alloy wheels, a glass-flip tailgate, electric door mirrors/windows, an eight-way adjustable driver’s seat and a powerful six-speaker Radio/CD player with MP3. Steering-wheel mounted audio controls, front, side and curtain airbags, remote control two-stage deadlocking and charcoal-effect roof rails round off standard kit on the new Captiva 2.0L VCDi LS.

Feature demo:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vvgNTWIis4

Standard Features Captiva LS

Styling

Interior features

* 5 Integrated storage boxes in luggage area
* Retractable luggage compartment cover
* Front and rear armrests with storage compartments
* 2 cupholders front and rear
* Flush flat fold passenger seats

Exterior features

* 16'' Alloy wheels
* Twin tail pipes
* Charcoal-effect roof rails
* Body colour door handles and mirrors

Comfort

Climate/heating

* Air conditioning
* Pollen filter

Seating comfort

* Eight way adjustable driver's seat (height, tilt and lumbar)
* 60/40 Split folding reclining 2nd row seats
* Height adjustable tilting headrest
* Charcoal woven seat fabric

Convenience

* Level Ride Suspension
* Body colour electrically adjustable door mirrors
* Rake adjustable steering column
* Twin sunvisors with covered mirror
* Glass flip tailgate
* Power-assisted steering

Audio and communication

* Six speakers
* Steering wheel mounted audio controls
* Stereo RDS Radio / CD player with MP3 player jack
* Aerial integrated within side glass

Safety and security

Theft protection

* Electronic engine deadlock immobiliser
* Remote control two-stage central deadlocking (inc. tailgate and fuel flap)
* GM Sentinel: Thatcham Category 1 car alarm

Passive safety

* Driver's and front passenger's seatbelt reminder
* 3 x 3 point 2nd row seatbelts
* ISOFIX child seat restraint system (2nd row outer rear)
* Front seatbelts with pretensioner and load limiter
* Child proof locks on rear doors

Active safety

* Front seat side-impact and curtain airbags
* Driver's and front passenger's airbags
* Anti-lock Braking System (ABS)

(Some features may vary)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 9th, 2008, 4:12 pm

The diesel option is a 2.0 liter turbocharged unit with Bosch direct injection making 150hp at 4,000rpm and 320Nm of torque at 2,000rpm, mated to a 5-speed automatic transmission with Tiptronic

optional Italian VM Motori 2.0 SOHC 16V Turbo Diesel CRDi with 150HP and 250Nm

Interestingly, it has a ladder frame chassis similar to the Grand Vitara.

The underpinnings of this vehicle is the same as the Chevrolet Equinox, Pontiac Torrent, Suzuki XL-7 and Saturn VUE if Im not mistaken (Theta unibody platform),

norstar2k is my information wrong? :?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 9th, 2008, 7:18 pm

x2floor wrote:
The diesel option is a 2.0 liter turbocharged unit with Bosch direct injection making 150hp at 4,000rpm and 320Nm of torque at 2,000rpm, mated to a 5-speed automatic transmission with Tiptronic

optional Italian VM Motori 2.0 SOHC 16V Turbo Diesel CRDi with 150HP and 250Nm

Interestingly, it has a ladder frame chassis similar to the Grand Vitara.

The underpinnings of this vehicle is the same as the Chevrolet Equinox, Pontiac Torrent, Suzuki XL-7 and Saturn VUE if Im not mistaken (Theta unibody platform),

norstar2k is my information wrong? :?

No, why? Those are the specs I got for the local Turbo Diesel CRDi unit expected in January. Current local offerings are the 2.0L and 2.4L Gas.

Interestingly though, after checking, the uni-body platform (crossover style) is not ladder framed. I was told by a LStyle rep that it DID have a ladder frame. :)

RA 420 SOHC
http://www.maitlanddiesel.com.au/vm-mot ... 0-sohc.php

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 10th, 2008, 1:14 am

norstar another suv? Dont 4get I have to borrow the vitara before u sell it ok

btw got a liana

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 10th, 2008, 10:13 am

Nigson wrote:norstar another suv? Dont 4get I have to borrow the vitara before u sell it ok

btw got a liana

:lol: Finally! PM some pix nah?

Return to “SUZUKI”