Lifestyle Motors: Premium Issue (UPDATED)

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

NorStar2K

Lifestyle Motors: Premium Issue (UPDATED)

Postby NorStar2K » September 26th, 2008, 9:24 am

CUSTOMER SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT

All Suzuki vehicles with the exception of the Suzuki Swift SPORT, may use Super 91 Octane fuel without an issue.

SUZUKI MODELS

Premium or Super Unleaded

* Grand Vitara - All Models
* APV - All Models
* SX4 - All Models
* Jimny - All Models
* Liana - All Models
* Swift (1.5L)

Premium ONLY

* Swift Sport (1.6L)

The Suzuki Swift Sport MUST use Premium Unleaded. (States it on the inside of the gas flap.)

It was also recommended NOT to use any fuel additives, octane boosters, injector cleaners etc. This shall be taken care of during your LM service.

For the SGV, the standard plugs would have to be changed to lower temperature plugs if you choose to switch to Super. If you're using Iridium plugs (NGK Iridium Spark Plugs IFR5J11), you're good to go.

LM has commissioned the fuel test and will publish the findings and suggestions once available. Results expected by Thursday.

The issue is not the Octane ratings. Most petrol in the US is 92-93 RON. The concerns are (i) is Super actually 92 RON and (ii) just how "dirty" is this Super vs Premium.

Source: MD/LM
Last edited by NorStar2K on September 29th, 2008, 6:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby tr1ad » September 26th, 2008, 11:43 am

wow...never did think that

Postby pete » September 26th, 2008, 3:26 pm

haven't noticed any pinging with my swift yet on super. Car seems to have the same power as well.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 26th, 2008, 5:41 pm

same goes for the ignis sport ...the gas tank cover states 98 octane and above ....

:cry: :cry: :cry:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 26th, 2008, 11:15 pm

norstar ---whats your extension number at lifestyle? - lol -

I know that you would know about these stuff. What about the liana - safe with super?

Keep us updated - Thanks again!!!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 27th, 2008, 5:30 pm

Nigson, service has cleared the Liana for Super. :D My advice is to stay with Premium. As stated before, it's not about the octane, but the quality of the gas.

Thanks Duane.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 27th, 2008, 10:51 pm

Check the inside of your gas tank flap. If is says "Unleaded Fuel Only", it's a matter of choice; you can use either Super or Premium.

If it specifically says "Premium Only" as in the Swift Sport, use a guided.

So Swift Sport owners (only) please be guided accordingly.

Mini

Postby Mini » September 28th, 2008, 7:49 am

norstar2k wrote:Check the inside of your gas tank flap. If is says "Unleaded Fuel Only", it's a matter of choice; you can use either Super or Premium.

According to the Owner's Manual it would actually state "95 RON only" or something like that.

The SGV is running super as normal... when next I go in for service I'll change the plugs to the iridium.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 28th, 2008, 10:45 am

Mini wrote:
norstar2k wrote:Check the inside of your gas tank flap. If is says "Unleaded Fuel Only", it's a matter of choice; you can use either Super or Premium.

According to the Owner's Manual it would actually state "95 RON only" or something like that.

The SGV is running super as normal... when next I go in for service I'll change the plugs to the iridium.

Hey Mini, according to Page 1-1 of the SGV's Owner's Manual - "Fuel Recommendation - Gasoline Engine". It actually states:

"If a label "UNLEADED FUEL ONLY" is attached to on the fuel filler lid regardless of a fuel filter pipe, you must use unleaded gasoline with an octane number (RON) of 91 or higher (or RON of 95 or higher if it is stated on the fuel filler lid)."

All SGVs carry the label "UNLEADED FUEL ONLY" fitted to the fuel filler lid. The manual does not say "95 RON only". This was also confirmed with LM.

So you can use either or, it's now a personal choice.

The Iridium plugs - NGK Iridium Spark Plugs IFR5J11. These are available from Lifestyle. :)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 29th, 2008, 6:48 pm

Mini wrote:when next I go in for service I'll change the plugs to the iridium.

Mini, Andy (MiniCity, Valpark) has NGK Iridium Spark Plugs. LM was out of stock last time I checked. And he just got the K&N Air Filter #33-2361 ($450), best price in town.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 29th, 2008, 10:45 pm

Norstar - quick question - would using the K&N Air Filter void any warranty or anything like that? Also would gas consumption be alot better?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 29th, 2008, 11:44 pm

Nigson wrote:Norstar - quick question - would using the K&N Air Filter void any warranty or anything like that? Also would gas consumption be alot better?

No warranty issues with using the K&N air filter (drop-in only). Gas consumption wouldn't be a lot better but would improve a bit. Your driving habits (heavy foot) determine the final results. There would be an improvement in acceleration and a small increase in horsepower. Your K&N product #33-2847.

countrydan_tt

Postby countrydan_tt » April 18th, 2009, 5:58 pm

norstar- can the swift sport use a similar K&N Air Filter without penalty?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 18th, 2009, 7:32 pm

countrydan_tt wrote:norstar- can the swift sport use a similar K&N Air Filter without penalty?

Yes Sir!

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: Lifestyle Motors: Premium Issue (UPDATED)

Postby Big Z » August 20th, 2010, 6:20 pm

So.. what were the conclusions of the gasoline study?

dynamic1

Postby dynamic1 » October 6th, 2010, 4:43 pm

Hey norstar2k, you seem to be highly knowledgeable on Suzuki vehicles. So from your knowledge and experience what oil type and body is best recommended for optimal performance on 2006 Suzuki Vitara?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » October 8th, 2010, 9:29 am

Long answer: Check your owner's manual.
Short answer: 10W30

dynamic1

Postby dynamic1 » October 8th, 2010, 6:11 pm

Thanks Big Z

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 9th, 2010, 8:02 pm

Big Z wrote:Long answer: Check your owner's manual.
Short answer: 10W30

Yup. Yuh beat me to it Z.

Lifestyle uses Castrol GTX Magnatec Synthetic Blend Motor Oil.

Remember the 10W-30 is for the Synthetic Blend Motor Oil, not 'full' Synthetic Motor Oil.

The Blend is recommended by the firm.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 9th, 2010, 8:32 pm

Their oil prices not bad either....

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 10th, 2010, 10:37 pm

Nigson wrote:Their oil prices not bad either....

If you like Castrol.

My Warranty done on the first SGV, so I switching to Mobil One. :D

dynamic1

Postby dynamic1 » October 14th, 2010, 5:00 pm

Thanks norstar2k

Postby Greypatch » April 20th, 2012, 5:16 pm

For the SGV, the standard plugs would have to be changed to lower temperature plugs if you choose to switch to Super. If you're using Iridium plugs (NGK Iridium Spark Plugs IFR5J11), you're good to go.

what happens if u use super on the SGV ?

rado

Postby rado » October 2nd, 2012, 4:51 pm

so what was the result of the much heralded LM motors test on local fuel?

btw, I'm gonna de-tune my SSS and run super :twisted:

pups

Postby pups » May 8th, 2014, 11:02 pm

Any1 using super on there SSS

AbuStar

Postby AbuStar » May 29th, 2014, 9:52 am

to me they were advertising that all their vehicles could use super. is that true?

Postby gt4tified » July 18th, 2014, 5:26 pm

^No, all EXCEPT the Swift Sport.

But what I can't understand is the chupid excuse why they recommend Premium.They say its not based on the octane but how dirty super is vs. premium.

I don't understand that reasoning...maybe someone could explain, because last time I checked, EFI was EFI...unless all other Suzuki models gone back to carburetor.

maxtech

Postby maxtech » June 12th, 2020, 7:04 pm

i purchase a 2010 suzuki jimny from lifestyle motors and i was using premium gas with no Issues. 4 years into owning the jimny i switch to super unleaded (so called RON92) BIG MISTAKE the vehicle would stutter or seemingly misfire, i spent cash and time cleaning the injectors changing spark plugs, (suzuki mechanic advice) run diagnostic on computer which had no codes, same misfire and rough idle weather warm or cold.

When i switch back to Premium fuel all those issues when away. its now 5 years and no issuse. The jimny runs amazingly well.
That RON 92 is not RON 92 cause in those days jimny was the cheapest new vehicle money could buy.
Also keep in mind in some country our Premium gas (R0N95) is the cheaper fuel

Return to “SUZUKI”