Oil Filters - Swift and Swift Sport

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

BLUE_CP9A

Oil Filters - Swift and Swift Sport

Postby BLUE_CP9A » June 6th, 2011, 7:49 pm

I have decided to make this thread where owners can easily cross reference the OEM oil filter to aftermarket units available.

Again, I only use the OEM filter in my Swift Sport

I have not listed the After market Filters in any particular order!

Please follow Suzuki recommendations for service interval etc.

I do not work for Suzuki or Lifestyle Motors, I am just another Owner!

This is the OEM filter used on the Swift and Swift Sport

Original Suzuki Filter

Suzuki Part Number : 16510-61A30

Picture:

I have crossed referenced the below brands to the OEM Oil filter (16510-61A30) and this is the list:

Luber-finer
Part Number: PH2840

Picture:

Link:
http://www.luberfiner.com/catalog/part- ... tno=PH2840

Purolator
Part Number: L14477

Picture:

Link:
http://www.purolatorautofilters.net/res ... num=L14477

Wix/Mahle
Part Number:57530

Picture:

Link:
http://www.wixfilters.com/filterlookup/ ... Part=57530

Fram
Part number:PH4386

Picture:

Link:
http://www.framcatalog.com/PartDetailWi ... &pn=PH4386

The following Manufacturers did not offer direct cross referencing to the OEM filter number and as such the car used to match the filters were;
2008 Suzuki Sx4 2.0 which uses the above filters and same OEM number (16510-61A30

K&N
Part Number: HP-1003

Picture:

Link:
http://www.knfilters.com/search/product ... od=HP-1003

Royal Purple
Part Number:10-2840

Picture:None

Link:None

Thank you for looking, and I hope this helps you in some way.

Shane
Last edited by BLUE_CP9A on June 7th, 2011, 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Oil Filters - Swift and Swift Sport

Postby gt4tified » June 7th, 2011, 12:17 am

Good stuff there man. Much appreciated. Btw, you know if the older model swift and GTi use the same filter?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » June 7th, 2011, 7:50 am

The older Swift and the GTi can use the same filter.

Compatible filters available inthe local market:

Luberfiner PH2835
Royal Purple PH2835
Purolator L10241
Purolator L14476
Purolator L14477
Fram ??? (If using Fram, ensure that the filter has a bypass valve)

The following are oversize filters which will work. Please check your engine for the necessary space if you wish to use an oversize filter. The orientation of the filter will also affect your decision to use an oversize filter.

Big Z wrote:Is a bigger oil filter better?

A larger oil filter has the following advantages:
1. More oil - Useful if you are running an extended drain interval.
2. Better filtration - The filter has more filter media so the flow rate per unit area is lower. Slower moving particles are easier to capture in the filter media.
3. Increased particle holding capacity - More filter media will hold more particles.
4. Lower oil temperatures - Larger filter has more surface area exposed to the air and thus allows more cooling of the filter.
5. Less flow restriction - Due to being larger, the oil filter will have less flow restriction, allowing for slightly higher oil pressures and freeing up some engine horsepower.
6. More consistent filtration - As the engine speed climbs, the oil pump volume output climbs as well. Most filter have bypass valves which bypass the oil filter media should the pressure across the filtration media go too high. It is common for filters to be in bypass at higher engine speeds. With a larger filter, the pressure drop across the filter media is lower, allowing for the engine to run to a higher speed before the filter goes into bypass.

Royal Purple 20-561
Purolator - cant remember the #.. will confirm when I get home.
Fram - cross reference the Purolator part # above. lol

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 7th, 2011, 10:22 am

if u running extractors the oversize filters get pretty close to the pipes.

be very carefull using purolator filters ... i had one blow out on me

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 7th, 2011, 11:15 am

Can you remember the Purolator part number?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 7th, 2011, 11:27 am

Purolator L14477 ^^^

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 7th, 2011, 1:40 pm

Okie then... was hoping you said something else, like L14459 (which is the wrong threading, and will definitely blow off)
L14477 is the correct thread for the M series engine...

Postby pete » June 8th, 2011, 7:53 pm

What's the difference between the Fram PH4386 and PH2951?

And if the Old swift can use a L10241 and the L14477 can the new swift also use an L10241?

whizpig

Postby whizpig » June 8th, 2011, 9:09 pm

pete wrote:What's the difference between the Fram PH4386 and PH2951?

any of you guys cut open some of these filters that can fit the same car to see what the difference is?
wrt:
filter element
end caps
how many pleats
how the pleats are connected
bypass and anti drain back valves

and before anybody say "why you doh go and do it", i'll post my findings when ah ready

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » June 8th, 2011, 9:55 pm

whizpig wrote:

any of you guys cut open some of these filters that can fit the same car to see what the difference is?
wrt:
filter element
end caps
how many pleats
how the pleats are connected
bypass and anti drain back valves

and before anybody say "why you doh go and do it", i'll post my findings when ah ready

I have cut open an OEM, Fram and Purolator.

The purolator was not a cross-referenced part, i.e. was a used one from a civic or lancer.
By a mechanic friend I know.

The OEM sure looked the best, especially compared to the Fram.

Fram bore the following:

Paper/Cardboard End Caps
Gaps in the filter element ( No filtration)
I cannot comment on the bypass and anti drain back valves other than the bypass designed differed to the OEM.

Again, I continue to use the OEM Oil Filter as I trust it the most, it was designed for my car, other than the other filters which are more universal, wide range.

For peace of mind use the OEM oil filter

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 8th, 2011, 10:20 pm

And if the Old swift can use a L10241 and the L14477 can the new swift also use an L10241?

Fram PH4386

Product Type Full-Flow Lube Spin-on
Anti-Drain Valve YES
Gasket I.D. 2.25"
Gasket O.D. 2.5"
Gasket Thickness .28"
Gasket Usage Base
Product Height 3.47"
Product I.D. 3/4-16 Th'd
Product O.D. 2.69"
Relief Valve Setting PSI 14

PH2951

Product Type Full-Flow Lube Spin-on
Anti-Drain Valve YES
Gasket I.D. 2.13"
Gasket O.D. 2.42"
Gasket Thickness .2"
Gasket Usage Base
Product Height 3.36"
Product I.D. 3/4-16 Th'd
Product O.D. 3.02"
Relief Valve Setting PSI 12

Small differences.. nothing that I would consider significant.
Both will work fine on the new Swift.
Fram makes an excellent filtration efficiency media, but the overall reliability of the filter is, in my opinion, questionable.

Postby pete » June 9th, 2011, 8:51 pm

Cool cuz from a previous thread I was using the 2951. Next oil change I'm planning to use the luberfiner though.

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » June 15th, 2011, 9:50 pm

this is a post worthy of a sticky!mods take note!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 23rd, 2011, 8:48 pm

pete wrote:Cool cuz from a previous thread I was using the 2951. Next oil change I'm planning to use the luberfiner though.

big z lol.......

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 1st, 2017, 8:13 am

which oil fiter should i get for the 2013 swift k12b engine?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 1st, 2017, 11:10 am

Anything listed here will be fine.

Return to “SUZUKI”