TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

2jz-gte in rs200 altezza?

Tuning advice, problems and troubleshooting

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

razi
Street 2NR
Posts: 48
Joined: April 11th, 2005, 12:13 am

2jz-gte in rs200 altezza?

Postby razi » July 3rd, 2005, 8:55 pm

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can any of you fellas tell me if the 2jz-gte (supra engine) can fit into
the rs200 Altezza without having to do any cutting or alterations to the engine compartment? I know the is300 in the usa have the 2jz-ge engine
but I'm not sure if the Altezza and the is300 have the same dimensions.
Thanks in advance for the relevant information.
And also what is the average performance (0-60,1/4mile,etc.)can I expect since this car is lighter than the Supra.

Final question I promise, what stock cars(high performance e.g. skyline,evo,wrx,etc) can I go up against(1/4 mile) and have a realistic chance of beating if I should do this.
THANKS!

Advertisement
User avatar
JWT
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6653
Joined: April 20th, 2003, 12:33 am
Location: making money
Contact:

Postby JWT » July 3rd, 2005, 9:48 pm

fit and fit sweeet
but traction go be a biatch

User avatar
Jimbo
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5711
Joined: September 26th, 2003, 7:27 am
Location: Cold place

Postby Jimbo » July 4th, 2005, 1:12 am

not a direct bolt up though; it will require some fabrication, I don't think you will need to cut the inside of the engine bay though

User avatar
Anton
I LUV THIS PLACE
Posts: 982
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 10:07 am

Postby Anton » July 4th, 2005, 7:55 am

That would be one sweet conversion breddo

User avatar
Jimbo
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5711
Joined: September 26th, 2003, 7:27 am
Location: Cold place

Postby Jimbo » July 4th, 2005, 8:15 am

Image

"The swap was done completely by me, with help from Jeff Stevens of TBKO, who wired the ECUs together initially and handled wiring the AEM EMS. Also, another misconception is that the swap is easy. People think because the IS comes with a 2JZ-GE, a Supra 2JZ-GTE will fit easily. It will not. Nothing bolts in or fits; [in my case,] the engine mounts are custom, the upper and lower oil pans are custom, the fan assembly, coolant lines, trans mounts, driveshaft, shifter are all custom. Let me reiterate: Nothing fits. This was the first Supra swap in an IS300 so there was no prior information to work off of." Consider us "reiterated

check out the "4 door Supra" at http://www.turbomagazine.com/features/0312tur_is300/

User avatar
dgobo
Sweet on this forum
Posts: 273
Joined: April 26th, 2004, 6:39 pm
Location: training the trainers down @ beachfield

Postby dgobo » July 4th, 2005, 9:15 am

i was thinking of doing the same thing, but after a lot of research i decided to just go with the 3sgte

if your interested i can hook you up with a 2jz for 18k, but its has a tranny

User avatar
bleedingfreak
3NE2NR Diesel Boyz
Posts: 2214
Joined: April 4th, 2005, 7:35 am
Contact:

Postby bleedingfreak » July 4th, 2005, 9:16 am

That look so sweet eh... :lol: :lol:

Has anyone down here done such an abominable transformation? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

User avatar
Raziel
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 427
Joined: June 9th, 2003, 3:32 pm
Location: I have enough stalkers already

Postby Raziel » July 4th, 2005, 1:24 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:That look so sweet eh... :lol: :lol:

Has anyone down here done such an abominable transformation? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:


As far as I know, there is at least one, possible two or more.

The one experienced some "challenges" as mentioned, it's not an easy conversion.

User avatar
pyromaniak
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 580
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 12:43 pm
Location: Inhaling fumes from de gridlock round de savannah!

Postby pyromaniak » July 4th, 2005, 2:29 pm

Not going to be easy. And fitting it in without cutting the engine compartment may be tricky, but damn, it will be a hell of a ride.

That Toyota will do more than move you forward. :twisted:

User avatar
pyromaniak
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 580
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 12:43 pm
Location: Inhaling fumes from de gridlock round de savannah!

Postby pyromaniak » July 4th, 2005, 2:32 pm

Almost forgot!

Based on power to weight you should kill most wrxs and evos.

Your MAJOR problem will be TRACTION. :mrgreen:

User avatar
JWT
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6653
Joined: April 20th, 2003, 12:33 am
Location: making money
Contact:

Postby JWT » July 4th, 2005, 3:07 pm

yes mint cars did one in his altezza
had no traction though was skating all over d place

razi
Street 2NR
Posts: 48
Joined: April 11th, 2005, 12:13 am

Postby razi » July 4th, 2005, 4:28 pm

fellas thanks very much for the information, right now I'm weighing
my options and doing some research before I start any project.
The only thing I know for sure at present is that it must be TOYOTA.
I'll need to consult you all from time to time for infomation, clearly I'm
not as knowledgeable as you about this kinda thing.
thanks again!

User avatar
dgobo
Sweet on this forum
Posts: 273
Joined: April 26th, 2004, 6:39 pm
Location: training the trainers down @ beachfield

Postby dgobo » July 4th, 2005, 9:09 pm

stones you might know about this, there was some guy in arima that did it, he was buying some stuff from the guy i bought my clucth kit from and i took a lil macko and heard he was doing it in arima, so how many machanics it could have up there

User avatar
JWT
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6653
Joined: April 20th, 2003, 12:33 am
Location: making money
Contact:

Postby JWT » July 4th, 2005, 9:33 pm

then it had to be my mechanic he is the only one i know capable of doing them sheit

cause he doing my new engine for me :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

User avatar
daymean
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 567
Joined: December 16th, 2003, 9:26 pm

Postby daymean » July 4th, 2005, 10:02 pm

fellaz what about sourcing ah is300 from singapore with the 2jz-ge and then turboing it???
aren't there kits out there to turbo that engine?????

User avatar
JWT
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6653
Joined: April 20th, 2003, 12:33 am
Location: making money
Contact:

Postby JWT » July 4th, 2005, 11:16 pm

yess
check yanci
:mrgreen:

razi
Street 2NR
Posts: 48
Joined: April 11th, 2005, 12:13 am

Postby razi » July 5th, 2005, 8:37 pm

when I last checked the official lexus website in singapore, I
noticed only is200's are available for that market and not is300's.
Could someone please confirm this!

User avatar
Picasso
punchin NOS
Posts: 4962
Joined: April 28th, 2005, 8:24 am
Location: REICO

Postby Picasso » July 5th, 2005, 8:43 pm

yess
check yanci


For real check yanci brother there is no better information dan going to someone who has alot of exerience

User avatar
.:PROZAC:..
punchin NOS
Posts: 4146
Joined: May 7th, 2003, 9:58 pm
Location: Mississauga,Ont.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 8th, 2005, 8:40 am

there is a tuner from south has done this conversion....

Cressida dude
Riding on 13's
Posts: 9
Joined: August 7th, 2016, 9:01 pm

Re: 2jz-gte in rs200 altezza?

Postby Cressida dude » August 16th, 2016, 9:31 pm

My Toyota brothers I have a 2 jz GE I my Cressida how much will It cost to turbo it up??

Advertisement

Return to “AUTOMOTIVE TECH”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests