Re: Launch control on an SSS

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 12th, 2011, 2:16 pm

damn...is 8k u swinging buddy

rado

Postby rado » December 12th, 2011, 4:34 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:damn...is 8k u swinging buddy

Well the second rev limit is set at 7900, so close enough.

....I love the sound :D

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 12th, 2011, 4:37 pm

I noticed it bogged down after you let your foot off the clutch tho...is it supposed to do that?

rado

Postby rado » December 12th, 2011, 5:33 pm

chris1388 wrote:I noticed it bogged down after you let your foot off the clutch tho...is it supposed to do that?

Well it is a factor of how much traction is available, and the launch RPM set. If I set the launch RPM higher it wont bog, but I'll be spinning the tire more; and not going anywhere.

I was just looking at a data log for the run and engine speed droped to a low of 2400 before climbing back up. That's lower than I would like so I might just raise the launch to 3600 and see what that does.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 12th, 2011, 5:41 pm

Ok cool...i normally launch at 3500rpm and its a great balance between wheel spin and not bogging down.

rado

Postby rado » December 13th, 2011, 7:04 am

Chris, I raised the launch to 3800 and after a little tire spin it settled to 3000 which is just where I wanted it. It feels alot stronger off the line too. Thanks for the tip!

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » December 13th, 2011, 8:43 am

so sunday morning uh hooking up mine right?

Swifted

Postby Swifted » December 13th, 2011, 9:33 am

stick an LSD in it, and you won't need a 'launch control' ...hahaha

...what I need is traction control! Wheel-spin right thru!!

rado

Postby rado » December 13th, 2011, 4:36 pm

spanglish1 wrote:so sunday morning uh hooking up mine right?

I'll pack de laptop :D

greasyspoon

Postby greasyspoon » December 14th, 2011, 6:22 pm

oh gorm sounds sweet. allyuh does make men wanna spend money jeez.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » December 15th, 2011, 8:16 am

No video, only pictures, but driver select Launch Control.
Actually that is just a 2-step as there is no intervention to control wheel slip.
System is armed once vehicle is at zero wheel speed, revs below 2500 and clutch depressed.
Select switch allows 5 different Launch rpm selects, either of which can be scalled to suit conditions.
The system shown in the link below, will be integrated with the ABS sensors and will be a full "Launch Control System" when completed.

http://www.carvtechpc.com/carvtech-cust ... jects.html

rado

Postby rado » December 15th, 2011, 11:08 am

CARVtech wrote:Actually that is just a 2-step as there is no intervention to control wheel slip.

...ummmm, perhaps that's why I said in the vid that "this is a test of a 2 step rev limiter" ?

and there actually is some rudimentary timing adjustment available to help control wheel slip.... no fancy dymamic intervertion though.

But nice projects you got there! :)

Return to “SUZUKI”