Coolant for a Suzuki Swift

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Humes

Coolant for a Suzuki Swift

Postby Humes » July 7th, 2012, 8:28 pm

What brand/type of coolant should I use in a 2008 non-sport Swift?

chris1388

Re: Coolant for a Suzuki Swift

Postby chris1388 » July 8th, 2012, 12:28 am

I use the prestone pre-mix...works well...you just have to throw it in it comes premixed with distilled water already

Humes

Postby Humes » July 8th, 2012, 8:08 am

Cool, thanks. Where is it sold?

ng357

Postby ng357 » July 8th, 2012, 8:37 am

TJs in arouca on the main road, close to race track wheels.

Humes

Postby Humes » July 8th, 2012, 9:36 am

I'm not too far from there, so I'll check them tomorrow.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 9th, 2012, 6:56 am

but since we on the topic.....
what's the "OEM" coolant? is is the same prestone?
or do u think they have a special "suzuki" coolant?

Humes

Postby Humes » July 9th, 2012, 11:16 am

Lifestyle told me there's some OEM coolant they use. But the lady at the counter called it "Suzuki" coolant, which doh really sound too right to me.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 9th, 2012, 11:27 am

more dan likely is really a suzuki coolant....but the price you gonna pay for it is a next story. I find the prestone with half a bottle of red line water wetter does the job. Plus a big bottle of that prestone is just 70$

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » July 9th, 2012, 12:25 pm

actually it is an original suzuki product that comes in a tin at a cost of $225.00 last time i bought it.

Humes

Postby Humes » July 9th, 2012, 12:54 pm

Wha de hell...well look at that.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 9th, 2012, 6:15 pm

spanglish1 wrote:actually it is an original suzuki product that comes in a tin at a cost of $225.00 last time i bought it.

oh ok...
i always thought they use some "store bought" coolant and dont tell u what it is....
just like they dont like to tell u what the NGK part no for the spark plugs are.... :? :evil:

according to my bill/invoice....

99000-99032-12x Suzuki Coolant (Green)

price: 223.78 :shock:

labour: 115.00 :?

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 9th, 2012, 8:21 pm

^^lol...changing ur coolant is simple and as i said the prestone works fine

Postby *KRONIK* » July 9th, 2012, 9:21 pm

chris1388 wrote:^^lol...changing ur coolant is simple and as i said the prestone works fine

yea!
At that point in time i wasnt sure what coolant to use and right now i kinda lacking the following:
- garage with space to work!
- jack
- jackstands
- assistance (if necessary)
- time
and
- i kinda large, so i dont like lying down under cars to slacken the drain plug/ lower radiator hose!

so it was easier to drop the car @ the stealership and do the fluid changes there!

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 9th, 2012, 10:49 pm

fuh real

Humes

Postby Humes » July 10th, 2012, 6:33 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
spanglish1 wrote:actually it is an original suzuki product that comes in a tin at a cost of $225.00 last time i bought it.

oh ok...
i always thought they use some "store bought" coolant and dont tell u what it is....
just like they dont like to tell u what the NGK part no for the spark plugs are.... :? :evil:

according to my bill/invoice....

99000-99032-12x Suzuki Coolant (Green)

price: 223.78 :shock:

labour: 115.00 :?

LOL

Oh, Lifestyle.

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » July 10th, 2012, 7:08 pm

Bought mine and flushed the radiator then mixed it with distilled water.labour was free and took 30 mins

aidan

Postby aidan » July 11th, 2012, 12:07 am

My mechanic was sayin to use Delo coolant. What you all think?

Postby pete » July 11th, 2012, 5:55 pm

You don't need to go under the car to take off the drain plug though. It's accessible from above. Just make sure the car is cool when you start the entire process. :lol:

Postby gt4tified » July 26th, 2012, 11:36 pm

Had to change coolant recently on the Jimny when it did 50,000km. Went in to LS and paddna who in parts tell mih doh waste $$ with the OEM one, I could use NP Radol, just change it at around half of the next recommended change interval.

Ended up buying the Prestone premix for around $60....no problems at all so far.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 27th, 2012, 10:37 am

:oops: :oops: :oops: not gonna lie to allyuh ........

i never change the coolant in the ignis .........................EVER

6 years ...

whizpig

Postby whizpig » July 27th, 2012, 11:00 am

6 years? you sir are a bad example

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 27th, 2012, 11:44 am

ok...... i was just corrected .....

it was about 5 years ...when i changed the thermostat i changed the coolant

think i used the prestone

timos976

Postby timos976 » December 18th, 2012, 9:54 pm

5 years???? i dont even have my sift for 4 months and i ready to change minds lol

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 20th, 2012, 9:35 am

4 month change on coolant? If you have never changed it before then ok...but if you changed it last 4 months ago and the system is in sound condition you are wasting your money.
At the end of the day coolant is cheap...I wont wait 5 years, I usually change mine once a year.

timos976

Postby timos976 » December 20th, 2012, 10:22 am

its foreign and i already got some surprises......... so i dont wana risk anything happen to my precious........... what kind do u use?

Postby gt4tified » December 21st, 2012, 12:15 am

Redline water wetter + tap water....I&I no fear the critics.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 22nd, 2012, 1:27 pm

timos976 wrote:its foreign and i already got some surprises......... so i dont wana risk anything happen to my precious........... what kind do u use?

This is what I said...if it has never been changed before since you got the car then by all means change it immediately.

I use Prestone precision blend....its already premixed with de-ionized water so you do NOT need to add any water....just pour it in. I also add some redline water wetter with it as per the instructions....do NOT add the entire bottle read the instructions carefully.

Chris.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » August 28th, 2017, 9:27 am

so i say lemme go get some coolant for my car. i open the manual and it saying to use suzuki blue. no scene, i hop in the car and paid a visit to lsm and boi, i should have lubed up because i had to take it dry when they rest that 2L blue coolant for $300. for reference, the car calls for ~5L to flush the whole system.

anyone had any experience using the honda type 2 coolant? It is silicate free with ethlyene glycol as its base with anti corrosion additives, just what the manual say as a side note when they recommended the suzuki blue.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 28th, 2017, 10:09 am

Buy zerex

Its wayyyy cheaper

cryotec

Postby cryotec » August 28th, 2017, 2:31 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Buy zerex

Its wayyyy cheaper
Did you move on to that after the suzuki green?

Return to “SUZUKI”