My 98 Swift GTi - Honey Badger

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Detune

My 98 Swift GTi - Honey Badger

Postby Detune » December 21st, 2012, 12:49 am

Hey there from across the lake. I'm from Barbados and this is my attempt at a responsive quick street legal, track bred swift GTi....

Here goes of what I'm slowly building to be a fun weekender.
Had it for 2 going 3 years now and I believe I'm the second owner. Its currently my daily driver but that'll soon change as I'm looking to get another daily so I can strip and fully rebuild this car. Basically I want something that I can go to the track and smash on, be able to drive home afterwards in one piece and I want it to still be comfy enough to drive on the streets if need be. Enough chit chat, here is how far I got with it so far. Hope you like

Mod wise I'm aiming for 250hp at the crank with the help of a turbocharger obviously, with basic block mods and majority work done to the engine head, some lowering springs and konis or adj coilovers, full interior and stock body...nothing radical!

When I first brought it home, next to my ex samurai.

How under the bonnet looked when I first got her

First day being road legal

Interior

Only additions I bought it with from stock are 4 14" "compomotive" alloys and a poor attempt at painting it white :x

Since the sole purpose of buying this car is to modify and use as my guinea pig when I complete ECU Tuning school, I thought it was best to purchase this book

Basic service parts....New front bottom arms, new timing belt & tensioner and all engine seals
*Engine oil and couple other service parts aren't pictured but they were purchased

Next up was stripping the interior for cleaning and rust prevention
Cleaned
*No longer have the images but I used Underliner & Waxoyl for the process of cleaning and treating....

Then found me some B&G 40mm lowering springs w/ Koni yellow adjustables
Lowered

Then found some fogs to block those massive holes in the front bumper

Old air filter needed changing so why not change to an open element filter
MAF Adapter
Filter
OEM unit out
New unit in

Couple poser pics

Then found a Forsa GTi fuel rail that's said to flow very well over the newer swift units

Then got my hands on a used but very good condition Turbine-Tech Turbo kit from a local race car that switched back over to NA....The turbo is blown but I was mostly interested in the manifold as a new decent unit is pretty costy....Its made of mild steel, equal length design and ceramic coated :D ..The downpipe is also made by turbine tech and is a divorced design like a proper internally gated downpipe should be :mrgreen: ...BTW the turbo in the pics is a Garrett GT2560R(GT28R)

The previous owner of the turbo kit is who blew the turbo and said he found all the balls from the chra in his sump...He said the car overheated couple times and I believe that's what killed the turbo as the Garrett ball bearing CHRA's don't handle much disabuse well. So I decided I'll pull down the turbo to see if the compressor and turbine housings are of any use so all I would need to order is a fresh CHRA.....Keep in mind with all the balls out the chra the centre shaft now has about an inch of play any direction you move it

Downpipe removed

Compressor cover and downpipe

Turbo manifold solo

Almost scattered....
* The housings were slightly damaged but not that bad that they can't be used back....Clearance between the wheels and the housings would just be a little more but this decreases the turbo efficiency so I will have to decide what route I'll take when I get around to installing the kit onto the car

Turbo kit reassembled and each unit separated

The downpipe is a 2.5" discharge with a 1.5" wastegate channel, then both merge into a 3" v-band exit...I think 3" is wayyy too much for a 1.3L engine and exhaust pluming becomes a task to keep everything nicely tucked up into the tunneling, so I want to run 2.5" the most on exhaust sizing. So I cut the downpipe where it goes 3" and now I have the 2.5" I wanted and an open wastegate channel....Screamer pipe maybe? :twisted:

Also got some Magnecor 8.5mm wires off the same race car as he went Coil on plug setup
Installed

Then got a SuzukiRD 6lbs aluminum flywheel from a wrecked GTi :twisted: .....Sadly a friend wanted it more than I did and offered more than I paid for it, so it got sold within a week of me owning it...O well, can't use the 1.3L gbox on a turbocharged engine anyway so when I go on boost this flywheel would be useless to me

Got an OMP strut brace soon there after

Aeromotive FPR

Adjustable rear toe bars designed for the Subaru STi..Direct bolt on for my car

Then ordered some wilwood mounting hardware from a guy over in England....
Designed for the Wilwood Midilite calipers

Raceline RL7s from a wrecked swift rally car.. They are 15x6 ET40

Then the much needed Swift Sedan 1.6L gearbox...Carries bigger everything internally....Most I've seen quoted going through one is 410WHP so I'm hoping the 250bhp target doesn't break it :lol:
After I scrubbed eons of dirt, dust, sludge, oil and grime from the gbox
*The flywheel used from factory in this application is QUITE heavy so I'm trying to get my hands on a Baleno flywheel which is much lighter...If one can't be located I'll be forced to buy an aluminum 1.6L flywheel from SuzukiRD

Suzuki APV Pistons...Drop in compression quoted to be around 8.5:1 and up 1mm in sized from stock. Honda D16 guys run the vitara pistons which are basically the same thing as the APV pistons and get up around 500hp without the pistons breaking a sweat.

Ordered the other book to add to my collection :roll:

Sent the rims to get sandblasted and powdercoated....
Sandblasted
Powdercoated
New tires fitted....Kumho Escta XS KU36 (Street slicks) - 205/50R15
New shoes! :bday:

Upgraded the headlights to HIDs
Super white fog light bulbs vs 8000K HIDs

Also have two OEM Powersteering setups in my possession...Thinking if to use it or to go with the Ignis electrical PS setup

Always liked the look of a burnt tip muffler so I just had to have one!
I'm looking to get some mandral U's and V-band clamps to do full 2.5" exhaust with the muffler install.

*These were the mods I did over the past couple years I have owned the car so this post is up to date now

Quite recently the battery start to give out on me so before it completely died and leave me stranded in a well lit highly populated area like they always do :roll: , I decided to change over to a Stinger 1200AMP drycell unit....This model is a SPP1200
Installed battery box onto OEM tray
New lugs
Installed 8-)

That's all for now
Thanks for looking...Will update as much as I can

katastrophic

Re: My 98 Swift GTi - Honey Badger

Postby katastrophic » December 22nd, 2012, 10:02 pm

NICE!!!!!!! you can also try the 1994 corolla headlight conversion and do the HID retrofit..

BTW... would you be interested in selling one of your power steering racks? jus the rack, no pump reservoir..

Postby wagonrunner » December 22nd, 2012, 11:46 pm

well done OP.
well done. well done. well done.

look forward to more.

Mini

Postby Mini » December 24th, 2012, 3:04 pm

great project

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 24th, 2012, 5:48 pm

love the way this is going ......

great work so far

Postby Ted_v2 » December 24th, 2012, 6:19 pm

Well done

Swifted

Postby Swifted » December 25th, 2012, 4:24 pm

welcome aboard!

Postby gt4tified » December 25th, 2012, 6:49 pm

Sweet...its about time you got over here.

Detune

Postby Detune » December 26th, 2012, 6:33 am

Thanks alot guys....Will keep you posted as often as I can. I have a bipolar internet service....Works when it feels like :|

qwerty

Postby qwerty » December 26th, 2012, 7:16 pm

luv what ur doing.
heard there r lots of parts available in barbados. how true?

Detune

Postby Detune » December 26th, 2012, 7:51 pm

qwerty wrote:luv what ur doing.

What kind of parts? :|

Detune

Postby Detune » January 6th, 2013, 11:46 am

Considering changing the build to a weekend dragger but still can be daily driven if need be......

How is the drag scene over in Trini?

gabriel_tintman

Postby gabriel_tintman » January 12th, 2013, 10:59 pm

nice gti!!! its an awesome lil rocket, take good care of it..hell i love my lil 4 door, alotta fun to drive. even tho my steering is going to hell, again..

Detune

Postby Detune » January 21st, 2013, 6:36 pm

Built short block:
Copper O-Ringed Cylinders
Bored 75mm
Vitara Pistons w/ Total Seal Gapless Piston Rings
Crank Oil Scraper
Block Breather
Modified Sump (Turbo Drain)

qwerty

Postby qwerty » February 24th, 2013, 3:48 pm

Detune wrote:
qwerty wrote:luv what ur doing.

What kind of parts? :|

4 starters, i`d like lowering springs. wha price so? if u kno whe hav.

Return to “SUZUKI”