oil light flickering ah bit....ODD!?

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

insanelunatic

oil light flickering ah bit....ODD!?

Postby insanelunatic » April 26th, 2013, 12:10 am

after doing a HEAD n BLOCK G15(baleno) swap iam seeing my oil light flickering and might stay on ah bit and comes off if i rev the engine a bit.....the engine makes a slight sound as if the tappets are slack(just saying) and quites down after...the engine has OIL to the brim...

issues: realise the crank sensor has a slight leak where it bolts on to the block..would that cause the light to flicker?

was also told it could be a diffected oil pump,oil pressre sensor or even the strainer in the sump pan is clogged..."sighs"

whats alur conclusion? seriously dont wanna damage the engine..

whizpig

Re: oil light flickering ah bit....ODD!?

Postby whizpig » April 26th, 2013, 6:16 pm

this might not be relevant but what the hell: the two times my oil light came on (didn't notice it flickering first or anything like that) was cause i didn't screw the oil filter on properly after an oil change, and the other time the oil sender unit needing changing. I hope you get it sorted out quickly and that the solution isn't too costly, good luck man.

Postby gt4tified » April 26th, 2013, 8:06 pm

Where does your OEM oil pressure sensor take its reading from? How is the lubrication system designed to pump oil, ie does the oil go to the bearings first and then the filter or filter then bearings?

It could be the pickup clogged, it could be the oil pump, it could be the sensor...who knows? Until you run some tests, we're shooting in the dark hoping to hit something.

insanelunatic

Postby insanelunatic » April 27th, 2013, 12:02 pm

well i'll start with the oil pressure sensor 1st yes and hope it that because the oil pump is in front the engine and has ah pully bolted on to it and that a piece of work.

Postby wagonrunner » April 27th, 2013, 12:11 pm

the engine has OIL to the brim...

when you say that, what you mean?

insanelunatic

Postby insanelunatic » April 27th, 2013, 8:07 pm

the engine has OIL to the brim...

when you say that, what you mean?

must have exaggerated.....meant its at the second DOT on the dip stick..

officially changed the oil pressure sensor and problem still there....

only just realized the wire in which the sensor is taking its signal from is joined, not a straight wire from the main box,for what ever reason the mechanic did it for...think that could give off a bad signal?

at idle light is on,if i rev the engine it comes off and when moving light also comes off.....

BTW...is there a tool one can use to verify the "oil pressure reading"? and who willing to assist! :mrgreen:

psychokid

Postby psychokid » May 2nd, 2013, 9:28 pm

Most likely the strainer is partially clogged.remove the samp and wash out the strainer. This should solve the problem

insanelunatic

Postby insanelunatic » May 8th, 2013, 10:57 pm

ok!!! so i official change sensor, oil, filter and pump and blasted problem still persistant....only conclusion, bearings need changing...alur believe i bought this engine from a fellow tuner member and man told me engine has no issues and when i install it in my vehicle dat "oil light"started to flicker and hold.....steups!!! what to dem fellers yooo....SMH

Postby gt4tified » May 9th, 2013, 6:50 pm

Did you check the oil pickup strainer yet?

insanelunatic

Postby insanelunatic » May 11th, 2013, 12:42 pm

[quote="gt4tified"]Did you check the oil pickup strainer yet?[/quote
i did! clean as a whistle....no gum up or any particles.

Postby gt4tified » May 13th, 2013, 5:46 pm

what type of oil pump does your engine carry?

insanelunatic

Postby insanelunatic » May 13th, 2013, 11:48 pm

gt4tified wrote:what type of oil pump does your engine carry?

dont no what model they call it, but its the oil pump that the g13,15 and 16a uses, being a SOHC engine that is...i change that also....but the engine has a slight knock so iam just goin to source a HEAD and BLOCK and done yes.....getting gray hair trying to resolve this problem... :(

Postby gt4tified » May 23rd, 2013, 11:25 am

insanelunatic wrote:

dont no what model they call it, but its the oil pump that the g13,15 and 16a uses, being a SOHC engine that is...i change that also....but the engine has a slight knock so iam just goin to source a HEAD and BLOCK and done yes.....getting gray hair trying to resolve this problem... :(

slight knock = problem identified!

insanelunatic

Postby insanelunatic » May 23rd, 2013, 7:44 pm

gt4tified wrote:
insanelunatic wrote:

slight knock = problem identified!

yh yh!! no doubt!!! getting worst as i drive......already invested in a foreign used.....so hole conversion again....sighss!!

Return to “SUZUKI”