My Suzuki Swift Sport

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

trini240z

My Suzuki Swift Sport

Postby trini240z » May 9th, 2013, 10:44 pm

hi, i transferred my 2008 SSS today and drove it for a few hours.
i have a few questions for the Suzuki people:

thanks so much everybody for the help! im looking forward to being a part of this community,
Last edited by trini240z on April 4th, 2014, 4:45 pm, edited 15 times in total.

trini240z

Re: Got my SSS today! need some advice

Postby trini240z » May 9th, 2013, 10:49 pm

also: there is no muffler so the car is VERY loud, the system is replaced from the connection to the original muffler.

what options do i have to quiet down the exhaust? weld in a muffler after the connection but before the tips or replace the whole system?
i like the look of the pipe tips, and a little grumble, but not a defening drone like it is now.

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 9th, 2013, 11:00 pm

also the airbag warning light is on on the dash? is this a common problem or serious? its not blinking, solid.

going to read the manual now, but any advice? (no collisions reported by the seller. and the car seems straight.)

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » May 10th, 2013, 7:00 am

trini240z wrote:first thing, i checked the oil level and it was below the low level

Common issue with the sport. Either clean or replace your pcv valve. These fellas get clogged real fast, leading to oil consumption. Alternatively, you can do a pcv delete.

Q: whats the best (economical) oil to use?

Everything is a compromise. For the best bearing protection, use redline. It has the highest hths available. For the most power, use royal purple. There are a number of reviews where an rp fluid change resulted in power increases on the dyno. For the longest lasting oil, use amsoil. says so right on the bottle. Concerned about price? Use 10w30 or 5w30 mineral.

Q: its doing 114k KMS How often should i do a service, and what problems should i keep an eye out for?

Follow the recommendations in the owners manual.

BIG Q: its idling very rough! every few seconds it blips and its revving rough too, and the acceleration is lagging a lot sometimes. intermittently i get smooth revving. i heard from this forum it might be the mass airflow sensor??? or cld it be fuel problem, spark problem???

Possible spark plugs. That would be my first try. Clean the maf. Clean the throttle body. Service the injectors. Very unlikely to be anything else.
Welcome to the group. We heading to columbus bay on the 26th. Would be nice if you fall in.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 10th, 2013, 7:04 am

trini240z wrote:also: there is no muffler so the car is VERY loud, the system is replaced from the connection to the original muffler.

what options do i have to quiet down the exhaust? weld in a muffler after the connection but before the tips or replace the whole system?
i like the look of the pipe tips, and a little grumble, but not a defening drone like it is now.

I have an original barrel that you are welcome to have.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 10th, 2013, 7:07 am

trini240z wrote:also the airbag warning light is on.

Get the car scanned. Take it from there.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 10th, 2013, 10:43 am

Is this the black SSS?

The rough idling and hesitance when accelerating could be the stuff big Z spoke about but my hunch is that its the coil packs, that in my opinion is a weak point of the engine....they all fail with time some earlier than others. I've gotten that problem in both my cars....ignis sport and swift sport a like. Check your PM.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » May 10th, 2013, 1:05 pm

chris1388 wrote:Is this the black SSS?

was thinking the same thing ....

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 10th, 2013, 1:12 pm

hi, thanks for all the advice guys, yes, its a black SSS (PCH).

BIG Z! i might take u up on that offer for the original exhaust! PM me a price.

taking the car for a service on monday by our mechanic. the seller did an engine wash and said the rough idling only started after that! someone told me its probably water by the spark plugs causing trouble. any thoughts?

will definitely plan to go on the columbus bay trip if the car gets sorted out next week.
going for new tires and alignment next week too!

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 10th, 2013, 1:34 pm

trini240z wrote:hi, thanks for all the advice guys, yes, its a black SSS (PCH).

BIG Z! i might take u up on that offer for the original exhaust! PM me a price.

taking the car for a service on monday by our mechanic. the seller did an engine wash and said the rough idling only started after that! someone told me its probably water by the spark plugs causing trouble. any thoughts?

will definitely plan to go on the columbus bay trip if the car gets sorted out next week.
going for new tires and alignment next week too!

Its definitely the coil packs then..once water gets near those that's it.

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

so whats the solution? new coilpacks? or can they be saved?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 10th, 2013, 5:02 pm

Remove coil packs and plug wires. Dry water. Remove plugs. Tumble engine with plugs out to expel water that didnt get removed from previous drying exercise. Clean plugs if necessary. Reinstall and hope coil packs arent damaged.

timos976

Postby timos976 » May 10th, 2013, 6:51 pm

Welcome...... To the club...... :smile:

Sent from my HTC Desire HD A9191 using TriniTuner mobile app

whizpig

Postby whizpig » May 11th, 2013, 5:52 am

the air bag light could be as simple as a loose ground wire, but scanning is the best way to investigate that. generally speaking any used car purchased should go through a full battery of servicing, change all fluids, plugs etc. as I doh trust nobody.

Welcome to the group, look forward to seeing you on the 26th and at the next Autocross/Solodex event, as a matter of fact i look forward to seeing all of you at the next Autocross/Solodex event.

trini240z

Re: My Suzuki Swift Sport (Updates)

Postby trini240z » May 13th, 2013, 5:58 pm

sent the car for its service today. got a full service, replaced suspension rubbers that were bad, fixed airbag issue, tightened handbrake. replaced spark plugs, spark plug wires, cleaned TB.

replaced one coil pack! when i picked up the car it idled smooth, and it revvs very smooth now, but when i got home its idling rough again!

will see what happens this week before i take it back in.

going to get new tires tomorrow and align. any advice for tires??

im thinking more comfort, but i also want grip??
it has 205/45/16 now.

whizpig

Postby whizpig » May 13th, 2013, 6:47 pm

for comfort, get the biggest profile that will fit in the wheel well, as for grip, that depends on how much money you want to spend

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 14th, 2013, 11:42 pm

Told you it was the coil packs.....where did you get the replacement coil packs? the 300$ ones that most part places have?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 15th, 2013, 8:45 am

Good to see that you got thru.
Tires... the trouble with SSS owners. sigh.

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 16th, 2013, 12:42 am

updates: engine in perfect working condition now! one coil pack was bad, the one we replaced was the good one, so replaced the other with the one we took out and now its perfect.

some drama with the tires, one wheel nut would not come off, so had to drill out the stud, then could not find the size stud to replace it, finally got one, replaced it, then aligned.

in the end i got some sweet TOYO 205/50/16 will post some pics soon of the car.

also got some matte black vinyl for the front lip installed. to cover some scratches and protect from further damage. it also looks very good.

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 16th, 2013, 12:43 am

chris1388: the coil pack cost me 1500. its from LSM,

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 16th, 2013, 11:57 pm

trini240z wrote:chris1388: the coil pack cost me 1500. its from LSM,

timos976

Postby timos976 » May 20th, 2013, 10:44 am

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 20th, 2013, 12:19 pm

thanks for the video, all the problems are sorted out. just installed the stock muffler this morning and the car is very quiet. i dont notice any performance differences yet.

another topic: what Kms per Litre do you guys get?

mine is down to 7.8 Kms/L. when i got the car it was around 11.

timos976

Postby timos976 » May 20th, 2013, 12:35 pm

430/450km per full tank

timos976

Postby timos976 » May 20th, 2013, 12:48 pm

I would not mind buying new parts for my car.... just to keep my mind at ease.. but LMS prices are crazy...

Postby pete » May 20th, 2013, 1:03 pm

Where did you get the 7.8km/L figure?

On my 1.5 I get around 12km/L. 7.8km/L would be less than 300km on a whole tank of gas.

From full to 1/2 tank I normally do 240-280km.

You using premium?

timos976

Postby timos976 » May 20th, 2013, 1:20 pm

probably he drives really hard.....

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm

using super :( i would prefer to use premium but my dad disagrees and my mechanic says its fine to use super.

also i havent done any highway driving yet. driven 320 kms on about a half tank of premium and a half of super. all my driving is accelerating between speed bumps and around san fernando. this week i am trying my best to drive economically to bring the average back up to about 10Kms/l.

trini240z

Postby trini240z » May 20th, 2013, 4:47 pm

the car has a kms/l on the dash. when i release the gas, it goes to 30kms/l. when i accelerate it goes to like 5 kms/l.

so i guess its best to accelerate as little as possible XD

timos976

Postby timos976 » May 20th, 2013, 6:08 pm

A swift sport u have right???

Sent from my HTC Desire HD A9191 using TriniTuner mobile app

Return to “SUZUKI”