Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Wtk: zc21 suspension options?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 7th, 2016, 6:44 am

Wo fellaz

Hear the situation:

I have been getting a couple of rattles and knocks recently on my zc21.

Car is 6 years old
Doing 140k kms

Took it to my mech who gave it a thorough suspension check.
His conclusion:

-The knocks in front are due to bad shock heads on the left and right.

-The front shocks are on the way out.

-1 outer steering rack need to be replaced

- 1 anti-sway bar linkage needs to be replaced.

-He says bushings and rubbers are looking good.

-1 back shock has a bad bushing and the back shocks are on the way out too.

So i'm considering the options for suspension

Either:
4 new shocks/2new shock heads which is costing around 6k at LSM

Or a set of coilovers (gecko for 6k or tein for 7400) i will consider any other brand also , but these are whats for sale on tuner currently.

What i want to know is, in terms of ride quality and longevity, will coilover make any sense vs OE replacments?

will i be able to dial the damping on the coilovers to give a OK enough ride?

Car will be a daily driver for my wife

Feel free to post reviews and advice

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: Wtk: zc21 suspension options?

Postby Big Z » March 7th, 2016, 7:30 am

Cant talk about the coilovers.
Monroe or KYB shocks will run you about 2400 for the set.
Use the sx4 shock head.
Replace both link arms.
Replace sway bar bushing. Use Super Pro
Replace both tie rod ends.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 7th, 2016, 7:32 am

Postby *KRONIK* » March 7th, 2016, 1:18 pm

Thanks for the reply and info

Big Z wrote:Cant talk about the coilovers.
Monroe or KYB shocks will run you about 2400 for the set.

Which KYB is available for the zc21?
Red or Blue box?
I know last i checked. Only monroe repalcements were available for the rear...

Big Z wrote:Use the sx4 shock head.

Where do i get these?
OEM or aftermarket options?

Big Z wrote:Replace both link arms.

Was going to do the both sides

Big Z wrote:Replace sway bar bushing. Use Super Pro

I replaced these a while back with OEM

Where to get SuperPro locally?
Any part # for the specific rubber?

Big Z wrote:Replace both tie rod ends.

Was going to replace both inner and outer.

As for the gecko coilovers...i'm a wary of those as they are new to the market and also i am always skeptical of products distributed by THAT dealer, even tho its much cheaper than the Tein...

Still weighing my options and shopping around as i have some time to play with.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 8th, 2016, 3:15 pm

Get the sx4 head from lsm.
Superpro guy is on tuner.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 8th, 2016, 3:48 pm

Nice...
Will start shopping for that car sometime soon...

The recession hit mih hard!

Postby *KRONIK* » April 14th, 2016, 2:58 pm

So...update

Ended up biting the bullet and took to the car to to the dealership.

Although my mechanic checked the vehicle and concluded it was
The 4 shocks + 2 front shock mounts along with steering ends and stabilizer linkages which needed to be replaced...
LSM said its was just the shock mounts. So they replaced it and the car seems to be fine now.

Return to “SUZUKI”