What have you done to your Audi or Volkswagen today????

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

purple_heart77

Re: What have you done to your Audi or Volkswagen today????

Postby purple_heart77 » November 20th, 2015, 2:16 pm

Like the OP, I had both the B6 Passat and Yeti decarbonized. There was a noticeable power gains and improved MPG on the old B6. The Yeti seen some power improvement and also a little better fuel economy.
B6 104K km, Yeti 40K km.

I will see Big Z in 20K km!

neexis

Postby neexis » November 20th, 2015, 9:22 pm

purple_heart77 wrote:Like the OP, I had both the B6 Passat and Yeti decarbonized. There was a noticeable power gains and improved MPG on the old B6. The Yeti seen some power improvement and also a little better fuel economy.
B6 104K km, Yeti 40K km.

But that Yeti still new man..... 2.5 yrs and performance affected so?

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » November 20th, 2015, 9:31 pm

neexis wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:Like the OP, I had both the B6 Passat and Yeti decarbonized. There was a noticeable power gains and improved MPG on the old B6. The Yeti seen some power improvement and also a little better fuel economy.
B6 104K km, Yeti 40K km.

I was very skeptical, but when I felt the difference in the B6, I said what the hell, it can't hurt. I was pleasantly surprised. Yeti does only short run not exceeding 80km/h. 15 mins one way and back, after the decarbonizing there was a noticeable power increase. For me there is value in this service.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 21st, 2015, 6:27 am

purple_heart77 wrote:
neexis wrote:
B6 104K km, Yeti 40K km.

I was very skeptical, but when I felt the difference in the B6, I said what the hell, it can't hurt. I was pleasantly surprised. Yeti does only short run not exceeding 80km/h. 15 mins one way and back, after the decarbonizing there was a noticeable power increase. For me there is value in this service.

Nice. I'm close to 90k right now, so it's probably worth checking.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » November 21st, 2015, 6:38 am

neexis wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:
neexis wrote:
B6 104K km, Yeti 40K km.

Nice. I'm close to 90k right now, so it's probably worth checking.

I'll suggest you do it at your oil change.

BTW, did you have your front windshield changed by Massey?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 21st, 2015, 9:35 am

Thread: Audi FSI Engine Carbon Build-up Megathread

Above link should help you guys understand the scope of the problem that the direct injection engines have.

Thanks for the review purple_heart77. Much appreciated.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 21st, 2015, 8:32 pm

purple_heart77 wrote:

Yea I did.. about a year ago

ztune

Postby ztune » November 23rd, 2015, 7:18 pm

anyone changed out their park light bulb in the b7? my hands are way too big to access them.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 23rd, 2015, 9:01 pm

ztune wrote:anyone changed out their park light bulb in the b7? my hands are way too big to access them.

If you from south you can check Carplus. Those guys changing bulbs easy.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » November 24th, 2015, 1:58 pm

neexis wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:

Yea I did.. about a year ago

No issues, everything working normal, ie auto lights, auto wipers etc? Headlights come on automatically when you cross 100mph?:grin:

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » November 25th, 2015, 9:01 am

ztune wrote:anyone changed out their park light bulb in the b7? my hands are way too big to access them.

It's a PITA but possible. I changed out the wires inside my lamps since most euros are prone to the insulation breaking down inside the lamp
so I did the swap to led

ztune

Postby ztune » November 25th, 2015, 9:17 pm

TRDGUY wrote:

It's a PITA but possible. I changed out the wires inside my lamps since most euros are prone to the insulation breaking down inside the lamp
so I did the swap to led

That access port is too small. The bulb type is wedge for the park light and the front indicator is P21 like the rear bulbs or t20?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 1st, 2015, 2:11 pm

anyone know the part numbers for front brakes for the passat b7 as well as rotors?

neexis

Postby neexis » December 4th, 2015, 8:21 pm

ABS sensor went out yesterday.. dash lit up like a xmas tree.

BA changed it out this morning. The part cost About $800.. slightly less than what ECS Tuning sells it for.

Right rear part # WHT003858

https://www.ecstuning.com/Search/SiteSe ... ES1834047/
Last edited by neexis on December 5th, 2015, 6:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 4th, 2015, 9:06 pm

I'm surprised they had it in stock. I wonder if it's a different part for the Passat. So far I've only heard it go on those.

neexis

Postby neexis » December 5th, 2015, 6:59 am

It might be the same.. I see it being listed for all models of the Mk6 Jetta as well.

Apparently they can throw fault codes if they're dirty etc.
Check this on how to service them http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.p ... n-10-steps)

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » December 5th, 2015, 1:43 pm

uploadfromtaptalk1449337189201.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1449337182695.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1449337182695.jpg (56.42 KiB) Viewed 6527 times
uploadfromtaptalk1449337176000.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1449337176000.jpg (45.6 KiB) Viewed 6527 times
uploadfromtaptalk1449337169019.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1449337169019.jpg (119.99 KiB) Viewed 6527 times
uploadfromtaptalk1449337157854.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1449337157854.jpg (52.21 KiB) Viewed 6527 times
uploadfromtaptalk1449337149864.png
uploadfromtaptalk1449337149864.png (95.13 KiB) Viewed 6527 times

Tuned my R&D Jetta 1.4tsi stage 2 ECU remap, stage 1 DSG tune...250 to 260hp, 280tq

2.5inch Catless Downpipe custom made by Farley in Barataria.

Car way faster than with stage 1 tune, engine oil temperature at 89 deg on a 30 deg day....on a 37 deg day, engine oil temp at 94 deg.

Removed turbo heat shield which saved me 4 to 5 deg

Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk

syncrod

Postby syncrod » December 6th, 2015, 7:12 pm

neexis wrote:ABS sensor went out yesterday.. dash lit up like a xmas tree.

BA changed it out this morning. The part cost About $800.. slightly less than what ECS Tuning sells it for.

lucky it wasn't the unit

neexis

Postby neexis » December 7th, 2015, 6:21 am

syncrod wrote:
neexis wrote:ABS sensor went out yesterday.. dash lit up like a xmas tree.

lucky it wasn't the unit

Are the units known to be problematic?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » December 7th, 2015, 3:00 pm

can't say for sure, research online suggested that the internal pressure sensor is weak and prone to fail somewhere near the 5 year old mark. my unit is the MK60EC1. I believe the newer mk6 uses a MK70 which is abit smaller but similar issue. last quote I got was 25k, I'm using a eBay purchased used unit with similar feature set (Hill hold and all the other goodies). cost around 1500 for unit, fluid and installation.

there are companies in the UK that claim they can repairs these unit for around 2k+. but for now if it working fine. you shouldn't have anything to worry about.
also if ever you need to change one of these units it's recommended to backup the long coding using a vcds autoscan. without this code you will need BA to program the unit directly from VW

reference:
http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/VW_Golf_(1K)_Brake_Electronics_(MK60EC1)#Coding
http://www.ecutesting.com/ate_abs_pumps___modules.html

Sent from my SM-N910H using Tapatalk

Postby tr1ad » December 16th, 2015, 8:16 am

yet to fine tine to tune the tig

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 16th, 2015, 9:31 am

It doh take long eh. Let d man meet you somewhere.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » December 16th, 2015, 3:38 pm

tr1ad wrote:yet to fine tine to tune the tig

men done savings up for stage 2

Sent from my SM-N910H using Tapatalk

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 17th, 2015, 9:23 am

Anyone know a good mechanic outside BA? Need one asap...car burning oil like mad..not even getting 500km between top up

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

neexis

Postby neexis » January 5th, 2016, 8:25 pm

VW guys:

Have any of you done the 60k mile/90k km service either at the dealer or on your own?
I'm looking to get this done on my own and I'm trying to compile a list of parts/services that need to be performed.

From the VW Maintenance manual, so far:

Oil/filter
Air filter
Cabin air filter (possibly)
Spark plugs

Is there anything else?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 6th, 2016, 9:00 am

Brake fluid? Check your pads? That's about all I can think of...grease the sunroof rails?

neexis

Postby neexis » January 6th, 2016, 12:00 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Brake fluid? Check your pads? That's about all I can think of...grease the sunroof rails?

No sunroof :(

Brake pads probably about due for a change as well.

Didn't see anything in the service manual about the Coolant though.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 6th, 2016, 12:30 pm

have to order some new rotors myself.. looking at https://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-Pa ... ES2167540/

neexis

Postby neexis » January 6th, 2016, 6:46 pm

What's the problem with your current rotors? Any symptoms in particular?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 6th, 2016, 7:32 pm

Lip dept had dropped a couple mm. The car is over 100k now so it's recommend to change then. I already replaced the pads. I'll just swap out the rotors when I get them

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Return to “EURO”