SHOW OFF UR EURO

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 7th, 2010, 2:08 pm

^^ IS NOT MY FAULT THE SHIPMENT OF ROVERS WAS ON A JAPANESE PORT FOR MONTHS!!!...

ASK Mr. Bentley that nah? He's SUCH A TURD EH!!

never return my phone calls on the dealership issue...

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » January 7th, 2010, 3:17 pm

They real give Rover a bad name with that move, and telling people the cars BRAND NEW!!!! When you check the manufacturing date your car 2 years old.

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2010, 3:30 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ IS NOT MY FAULT THE SHIPMENT OF ROVERS WAS ON A JAPANESE PORT FOR MONTHS!!!...

ASK Mr. Bentley that nah? He's SUCH A TURD EH!!

never return my phone calls on the dealership issue...
Mr. Bentley says he does not deal with hooligans and scoundrels

Postby Monk BANzai » January 7th, 2010, 4:48 pm

NickJr. wrote:They real give Rover a bad name with that move, and telling people the cars BRAND NEW!!!! When you check the manufacturing date your car 2 years old.

unnerstan?

i knew what i was gettign into when i bought my VI..i bought the LAST Vi (9116) and it was a "demo" car for other persective drivers...so even when the price tag was advertised at 120K..I got mines for 90K...."Showroom: hehehe....

ncie cars though eh...sans the HFG issue..really nimble lil cars....

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2010, 5:37 pm

common sense....yuh have ah modern car an yuh hadda top up coolant every mornin.............where it goin?????
sumthin wrong...duuuuuuuuuuuuh
Met a guy who ruined ah MGF same way....man din see no cause for concern over daily top up of coolant :?

Postby Monk BANzai » January 7th, 2010, 5:39 pm

MG Man wrote:common sense....yuh have ah modern car an yuh hadda top up coolant every mornin.............where it goin?????
sumthin wrong...duuuuuuuuuuuuh
Met a guy who ruined ah MGF same way....man din see no cause for concern over daily top up of coolant :?

funny...i never really had to top up my coolant everyday.....i ran my car hard over Maracas hard (yunno i love the route) and when i reached back in Maraval...i heard bubbling....opened up the engine bay...and "mud" all around...that was that...

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2010, 5:42 pm

sucks to be you man
usually with the K-series HGF there were warning signs...coolant loss, 'mustard' under the rad cap, etc
I ahve the full history of the causes and evolution of the fixes if u wanna tek a read

Postby Monk BANzai » January 7th, 2010, 5:44 pm

MG Man wrote:sucks to be you man
usually with the K-series HGF there were warning signs...coolant loss, 'mustard' under the rad cap, etc
I ahve the full history of the causes and evolution of the fixes if u wanna tek a read

i know the signs....hehehehe....saved a fellow Vi owner from the same.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 8th, 2010, 8:12 am

well i had to go through hgf TWICE with mine... i think they shaved the block too much the first time or something.

Postby MG Man » January 8th, 2010, 8:49 am

pays to do your research when you buy a car, particularly a european car
The 1.8's head bolts stretch when they are torqued down. They can only be used if the stretch is within tolerance, otherwise they will bottom out and you will not get proper torque...similarly if you skip the head, you end up with the head bolts bottoming out......

and that's just one issue owners need to be aware of.......head gaskets with plastic vs metal dowels are a whole other discussion

Then there's the Rover retrofit and the Freelander retrofit etc

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 8th, 2010, 10:22 am

I inherited my car :oops:

It's been in the family for 10 yrs. I'm just trying to maintain it.

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » January 8th, 2010, 12:07 pm

My HGF was like Banzai... running nice then all of a sudden mud all over... lucky the second HGF there was no warping, ordered the HG from QED and it's been going ever since... till that clang a year back and it shut off.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » January 8th, 2010, 5:47 pm

MG Man wrote:pays to do your research when you buy a car, particularly a european car
The 1.8's head bolts stretch when they are torqued down. They can only be used if the stretch is within tolerance, otherwise they will bottom out and you will not get proper torque...similarly if you skip the head, you end up with the head bolts bottoming out......

and that's just one issue owners need to be aware of.......head gaskets with plastic vs metal dowels are a whole other discussion

Then there's the Rover retrofit and the Freelander retrofit etc

The cheese bolts tie the crankshaft girdle to block as well as the liners, and cylinder head together as a unit.
When doing this overhaul, head skimmed or not, you must use updated gasket as used in Freelander else, during engine operation, cylinder pressure will seep out and start pressurizing coolant system. The bolts do not bottom out on second use, but simply loose clamping pressure.
The engine must never be turned w/o head else the liners will loose seal with the coolant passage.
This modular approach to the Rover K series design made it a ground breaking engine at the time. Sadly it was let down on durability.
Some of my colleagues were involved in the development of this engine.
Oh how I love to take the piss when they start on how great this motor was...lol.

Postby MG Man » January 9th, 2010, 6:57 pm

in the UK it was THE tuner engine for a long time....
about the bolts, they are stretch bolts so yeah the risk is that they 'stretched out' from first use...however some techs tell you to lower them in place and measure the head face to underside of bolt distance and depending on the space, they say you can reuse.....I personally would use new bolts and run the Freelander retrofit

I tried explaining this to a dude with HGF on his MGF but he went ahead and used the old bolts anyway.....punk rebuilt the engine and reused the old coolant hoses too....needless to say, one blew out a few days later.....can't wait to see him on the shoulder again........ maybe this time he will sell :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 9th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Is there any retro fit for the 200? If so, please direct me to a write up simple enough that I can perform it myself.

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » January 11th, 2010, 8:48 am

The freelander uses the same HG as the 200. When taking off the head you need to know what you are doing or else you'll be in for a serious migrane. Honestly The two times I've taken off the head on the 1.6 I used back the bolts. No problems. If I was to take it off a third time I would change them for sure... wouldn't have wanted to push my luck. Personally I'd go back with my QED gasket kit.

I am hoping that by next week my "new" engine should be residing in my engine bay

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 11th, 2010, 11:07 pm

^How the old one working?

We might need to talk some figures soon...

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » January 12th, 2010, 9:02 am

It dead in the water... never opened it to see what was wrong. The car has been off the road for a year now. For all I know it might be a simple fix, but the R65 was giving trouble too to go into 2nd so I was just at a limit. Was hoping it was the box that broke when I heard that sickening sound :( Ahhhh my poor 1.6, how torquey thou twas. Alas it's time to retire.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 12th, 2010, 10:56 am

might still be some stuff in your engine i might be able to use.. throw it my way when you throwing away

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 31st, 2010, 2:58 pm

Project Clio coming along nicely.
Rims : Checked.
Headliner job : In progress
Engine: Purrs like a charm. Checked
Gearbox: 5speed. Checked
Exterior:- Thinking of repainting side strips
Interior:- Wood Interior kit. Checked

ECD AUG 2010.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 31st, 2010, 9:11 pm

Pointman-IA where u getting your headliner done?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 1st, 2010, 8:48 pm

TriniVdub wrote:Pointman-IA where u getting your headliner done?

a guy in Buenos Ayres.
South T'dad.

Postby MG Man » February 2nd, 2010, 5:58 pm

got the headliner on my Mini done in St Joseph...they did a brilliant job
you would be hard pressed to know it was redone

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » February 2nd, 2010, 7:33 pm

that's a lot closer to where i am, where exactly was the place MG and would u happen to have a number?

Postby MG Man » February 2nd, 2010, 9:05 pm

I'll get it for u tomorrow
but it's a street on the right about 5 streets after the medical centre

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » February 3rd, 2010, 1:59 pm

That's just after the road goes downhill again towards the silver brigde? I've always wondered how good their work was. Do they have access to all materials like alcantara?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » February 3rd, 2010, 6:49 pm

MG where meh number? :lol:

not too familiar with St Joseph, is that near the police station? or La Joya?

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2010, 8:13 pm

workin on it :oops:

anoojra

Re: BMW X6

Postby anoojra » February 3rd, 2010, 10:20 pm

Ultimas wrote:My Mineral Silver X6

Saw one of these today....love at first site :)

anoojra

Postby anoojra » February 3rd, 2010, 10:32 pm

MG Man wrote:Wires only look good on Jaguars and Aston Martins :twisted:

True, my brother bothering me to buy wire wheels for the Jag, but I don't want the headache to clean them ting plus the roads in Trinidad will bend up then spokes in truth :(

Return to “EURO”