Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

allblacks

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby allblacks » December 11th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Hey Fellas
I called for an appointment at the Morvant location for a routine service of a Jetta.They said as I live in south I could use their new service in Chaguanas which turns out to be a Masterserve. Anybody have any experience with them? My experience with them in south points me to go to the Main Morvant Location.Any advice? Thanks

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 11th, 2015, 7:56 pm

Yeah the back seats can tilt and slide back and forth but still the jetta trunk is bigger ... but you can fit taller items and the fold down seats are more practical.

will post pic's once I collect it next week and clean it up!

Postby cinco » December 12th, 2015, 12:32 am

allblacks wrote:Hey Fellas
I called for an appointment at the Morvant location for a routine service of a Jetta.They said as I live in south I could use their new service in Chaguanas which turns out to be a Masterserve. Anybody have any experience with them? My experience with them in south points me to go to the Main Morvant Location.Any advice? Thanks

I was in masterserv chag buying a. Battery today there were no cars to be worked on

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 12th, 2015, 6:33 am

I would stick with morvant ... I think the guys in Chaguanas only know how to do the basic's like oil changes. Also Jetta's need special attention even with oil changes not damage your timing chain tensioner. I only took the Jetta there for tire rotation's and alignments.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 12th, 2015, 9:26 am

Lol @ special attention for oil change. What special attention?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 12th, 2015, 11:51 am

I was wondering the same thing lol

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 12th, 2015, 5:36 pm

Aren't you not supposed to drain the old oil completely on the jetta or you cause problem with the timing chain tensioner? I've heard of incompetence issues at masterserv with basic services ... I personally would not have trusted them to service the Jetta. But then massy now own 100% of BA so don't know how this affects service.

Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 12th, 2015, 7:09 pm

Bad timing chain tensioner will happen regardless of oil drain method cuz it's a manufacturing defect on some (batch of older) engines. Nowhere in VW's documentation does it say not to train fully so that's how BA gonna change your oil.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 12th, 2015, 7:15 pm

Ohhhhhhhh!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 12th, 2015, 7:42 pm

So the plot thickens! Checked the service history and BA says this model tiguan I'm getting doesnt have a dsg. It has a 6 speed automatic they ordered a few with traditional automatic trannies back in 2013 to 2014. The US also gets these transmissions in their tiguans. Apparently these at's are made by aisin a Toyota owned transmission manufacturer.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 12th, 2015, 10:01 pm

Cheaper servicing for you then?

allblacks

Postby allblacks » December 13th, 2015, 8:23 am

drchaos wrote:I would stick with morvant ... I think the guys in Chaguanas only know how to do the basic's like oil changes. Also Jetta's need special attention even with oil changes not damage your timing chain tensioner. I only took the Jetta there for tire rotation's and alignments.

Thanks

Mini

Postby Mini » December 29th, 2015, 6:29 pm

Too much to read. Looking a new(er) vehicle and this came up. What should I look out for when checking used ones?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 29th, 2015, 8:10 pm

Get it scanned by a mechanic for error codes. Find out how often it was serviced with respect to engine oil changes. Ask if mechatronic unit was replaced or if recall was done on transmission.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 29th, 2015, 8:56 pm

Check the coolant bottle in the engine bay. It's located to the top left of the engine bay and is spherical. Make sure that the coolant level is above the "min" mark printed on the bottle. If it's below find out why from the owner.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 30th, 2015, 9:46 am

where was mini when I was piping my jetta?

buying a used dsg jetta that is out-of-warranty is a huge risk. The regular 1.6 model is a bit more reliable which shared parts with the Octavia mpi.

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2015, 9:57 am

this ched has scared me off VW for life

Mini

Postby Mini » December 30th, 2015, 10:38 am

MG Man wrote:this ched has scared me off VW for life

just skimming it... i might agree...

but the trunk space in the Jetta is UNREAL

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2015, 11:18 am

In terms of trunk space, I much prefer station wagons...I like the Focus wagon, even tho the cargo area is a bit narrow.....the Corolla has a decent sized trunk, but the rest of the car is astoundingly meh....I was actually in the market for a Roro Lancer wagon, but accidentally bought another MINI Cooper....life's funny that way

neexis

Postby neexis » December 30th, 2015, 12:28 pm

Yea.. accidentally ent

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 30th, 2015, 1:16 pm

lol @ accidentally.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 30th, 2015, 2:30 pm

Stop lying. You know you just waiting for these to get old as fcuk before you buy one :D

Mini

Postby Mini » December 30th, 2015, 3:39 pm

MG Man wrote:In terms of trunk space, I much prefer station wagons...I like the Focus wagon, even tho the cargo area is a bit narrow.....the Corolla has a decent sized trunk, but the rest of the car is astoundingly meh....I was actually in the market for a Roro Lancer wagon, but accidentally bought another MINI Cooper....life's funny that way

i am very wary of the focus... I know someone who has one (PCY titanium model) and experienced transmission issues from day 1... firm tried repeatedly to fix it... without success.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 31st, 2015, 3:45 am

Mini wrote:Too much to read. Looking a new(er) vehicle and this came up. What should I look out for when checking used ones?

I would probably suggest a look at another vehicle but if you are really looking at one. .... transmissions namely the mechatronic unit tend to be its major Achilles heel.

Does the 1.6 that was mentioned come with the plastic impeller water pump. I think servicing those was another pain in the arch.... well if you plan to service it yourself. Good luck with vehicle shopping

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2015, 9:47 am

Mini wrote:
MG Man wrote:In terms of trunk space, I much prefer station wagons...I like the Focus wagon, even tho the cargo area is a bit narrow.....the Corolla has a decent sized trunk, but the rest of the car is astoundingly meh....I was actually in the market for a Roro Lancer wagon, but accidentally bought another MINI Cooper....life's funny that way

i am very wary of the focus... I know someone who has one (PCY titanium model) and experienced transmission issues from day 1... firm tried repeatedly to fix it... without success.

xoutlaw's parents have one, maybe 8 years old now, no major issues...wifey has one that's 2 years old, doing 24,000kms....wht I notice is the DCT gets jerky from too much crawling traffic commuting, so ever so often, I drive it in 'sport' mode for a while and it smooths out again

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2015, 9:50 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Stop lying. You know you just waiting for these to get old as fcuk before you buy one :D

I do have a special place in my heart for the CC, but when it comes to buying old cars, nothing with a computer will qualify...my cutoff date for 'old' is maybe 1983....anything after that is new to me

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 31st, 2015, 10:05 am

I do have a special place in my heart for the CC, but when it comes to buying old cars, nothing with a computer will qualify...my cutoff date for 'old' is maybe 1983....anything after that is new to me

When I ready to upgrade from the Jetta I'll rip out all the computers and sell it to you. Will even add a CC badge to the back :infinity:

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 31st, 2015, 10:06 am

What about to access the window regulators for the Jettas?
I thought the E39 one was a pain in the ass but VW take the cake.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 31st, 2015, 10:16 am

What do you have to do? I never tried accessing.

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2015, 10:24 am

When I ready to upgrade from the Jetta I'll rip out all the computers and sell it to you. Will even add a CC badge to the back :infinity:

I've actually looked into converting an EFI car to carbs and mechanical spark distribution....when the first EMP drops, I'ma be ready

Return to “EURO”