Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

nivek

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby nivek » December 11th, 2017, 7:42 am

Jusso my horn stop working...

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » December 15th, 2017, 12:59 pm

nivek wrote:Jusso my horn stop working...

I could get u 1 changed for $400.00

nivek

Postby nivek » December 15th, 2017, 1:55 pm

And just like that it start back working..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 15th, 2017, 2:07 pm

nivek wrote:And just like that it start back working..

LOL

Postby Ted_v2 » December 15th, 2017, 4:00 pm

What milage did those two failures happen at?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » December 16th, 2017, 2:47 pm

nivek wrote:And just like that it start back working..

Yeah, mines come n goes everytime I start the car. Guy @ best auto says there's a high n low horn. If the high not working the low works n it sounds weird. Or sometimes doesn't work at all till I restart.

He's stocking horns so I guess it's something that's comin up now.

nivek

Postby nivek » December 16th, 2017, 2:57 pm

Good info...will monitor what's happening

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 16th, 2017, 4:10 pm

Seems like mechatronic problems are a thing of the past! ... When you see men complaining bout their horn not working then you know things not so bad anymore!

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » December 16th, 2017, 5:39 pm

Hahaha..yuh know

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 16th, 2017, 7:51 pm

Now that you guys talking about horn mine had horn issues too. One of my horns would work intermittently. That started up in the first year of ownership. Started working together again after the fourth year.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » December 16th, 2017, 8:55 pm

drchaos wrote:Seems like mechatronic problems are a thing of the past! ... When you see men complaining bout their horn not working then you know things not so bad anymore!

Yeah I think men who changing them now never changed at all. Those who changed running smooth...

Postby Monk BANzai » December 17th, 2017, 3:04 pm

so it safe to buy one now then?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 17th, 2017, 4:45 pm

Go strong ... and the lower price point from when we beta testers bought around 4 to 7 years ago means you can afford to replace the horn multiple times if it goes bad.

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » December 18th, 2017, 9:08 am

Hahaha..yeah man..true dat eh. Go strong..

Postby Team Loco » December 20th, 2017, 9:33 am

hi guys. came here asking for advice on buying a used jetta. instead i read some posts and its like freaking scary. sold my octavia today. maybe i should have kept it lol.
so i guess this jetta is too problematic?

getting a pdb series for $90k. worth it? owner has had no issues. mileage 48,000miles

Postby aaron17 » December 20th, 2017, 10:04 am

y u sold the octavia?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 20th, 2017, 12:43 pm

Team Loco wrote:hi guys. came here asking for advice on buying a used jetta. instead i read some posts and its like freaking scary. sold my octavia today. maybe i should have kept it lol.

getting a pdb series for $90k. worth it? owner has had no issues. mileage 48,000miles

If you buy cater for a few things. Headliner could fall. Mechatronic could have to change. Find out if BA did the recall on it. 90k is a Bess price considering they went for 230-240 back then.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » December 20th, 2017, 1:53 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Team Loco wrote:hi guys. came here asking for advice on buying a used jetta. instead i read some posts and its like freaking scary. sold my octavia today. maybe i should have kept it lol.

If you buy cater for a few things. Headliner could fall. Mechatronic could have to change. Find out if BA did the recall on it. 90k is a Bess price considering they went for 230-240 back then.

Not so bess if u trying to sell 1...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 20th, 2017, 3:16 pm

Seems like fuel line just buss so add that to the list

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 20th, 2017, 5:49 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

Have never heard this happening to a car less than 10 years old :shock:

Postby Team Loco » December 20th, 2017, 10:48 pm

thanks. sold the octavia due to age of car. small issues kept popping up. great car. was hopi g to just get a more powerful vw

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 20th, 2017, 10:53 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

Just like that? Didn’t hook up on something?

Postby aaron17 » December 21st, 2017, 6:01 pm

Looking to upgrade front drls from old led white drls i got online. Four leds are out but it still illuminating good though. Any suggestions on good one that is bright enough?

dalesmobileR

Postby dalesmobileR » January 5th, 2018, 8:14 am

Hi folks,
I have a 5+ year old 1.4 Polo non-turbo. Mechatronic was changed on warranty after 2 years and again last year on the 5th year (goodwill). Less than 4 months and it failed again!! I thought this Mechatronic issue was sorted out years ago?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » January 5th, 2018, 10:16 am

U probably have a different issue, wat is the code thrown? Wat model transmission u have?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 5th, 2018, 10:55 am

dalesmobileR wrote:Hi folks,
I have a 5+ year old 1.4 Polo non-turbo. Mechatronic was changed on warranty after 2 years and again last year on the 5th year (goodwill). Less than 4 months and it failed again!! I thought this Mechatronic issue was sorted out years ago?

Carry it back best Auto if you can. Should still be under warranty after the goodwill change.

dalesmobileR

Postby dalesmobileR » January 5th, 2018, 2:45 pm

it's there.

quietdevil

Postby quietdevil » January 5th, 2018, 2:53 pm

dalesmobileR wrote:Hi folks,

Have the same model, mine was changed after 4 years on goodwill but I realized they did not change the oil to mineral oil. Had to pay to get that changed, no issues after.

dalesmobileR

Postby dalesmobileR » January 5th, 2018, 3:29 pm

How did you know the oil used was not mineral?

quietdevil

Postby quietdevil » January 5th, 2018, 3:44 pm

dalesmobileR wrote:How did you know the oil used was not mineral?

The polo comes with a synthetic transmission oil. The recommendation after the mechatronic issues was to change to mineral oil, Confirmed it after the change with the invoice and by a transmission specialist.

Return to “EURO”