Can the Beemer take super?

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » October 1st, 2012, 7:54 pm

Just curious, can u fill super in a BMW 3 series? Just curious...

I had a friend who had an Audi and filled super and the sensor picked it up...somehow I feel as though the octane levels stated by NP are incorrect...

kg494EJ-1

Re: Can the Beemer take super?

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 1st, 2012, 8:27 pm

1st, what year is it? 2nd Engine Spec?
But I would not advise it, as you mentioned the car would pick it up especially on it, you may not initially notice a difference, everyday traffic but when you decide to push the car a little you would notice it.
Just expect the engine(knock sensors) to retard the timing, if that does not happen you will experience gas burning at a faster rate (may notice it any way), some pinging and eventually/possibly detonation (worst case). So to be on the safe side use what is recommended by the manufacturer.

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2012, 10:22 am

refer to owners manual first, to see what your engine needs

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 1:39 pm

mango_chow wrote:Just curious, can u fill super in a BMW 3 series? Just curious...

I had a friend who had an Audi and filled super and the sensor picked it up...somehow I feel as though the octane levels stated by NP are incorrect...

Just out of curiosity...why do you feel Np octane levels are incorrect if your friend's audi picked up that the octane level of super was below the minimum required for the vehicle? Or are the two not related?

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » October 2nd, 2012, 4:04 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
mango_chow wrote:Just curious, can u fill super in a BMW 3 series? Just curious...

Just out of curiosity...why do you feel Np octane levels are incorrect if your friend's audi picked up that the octane level of super was below the minimum required for the vehicle? Or are the two not related?

Sorry the Audi said it can take an octane level of 91. They filled super and the warning light came up "wrong fuel filled" I think that super is supposed to be octane level 92 so technically it is supposed towork. That's why I said so. 0X

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » October 2nd, 2012, 4:05 pm

It's a 2009 3 series. I'll check the Manuel but I think it's 96 or 97 octane level so I guess premium it is.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 2nd, 2012, 4:51 pm

Out of curiosity, I hope you have maintenance $$ put down to rectify any damages that might be done to your engine.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 11:10 pm

Oh ok. That is odd. Super filled straight from a gas station or from a container holding it for a while?
Yeah super supposed to be 92.

Wha engine in d Beemer? 96/97 real high for none turbo.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » October 3rd, 2012, 11:26 am

but even so....Premuim gas is 95

so if manufacturer says 96,97...u still under the level there...

do you use a treatment or an octane boost?

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 4th, 2012, 7:52 am

MG Man wrote:refer to owners manual first, to see what your engine needs

Agree.d

I still doan trust NP gas rating though...

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » October 7th, 2012, 4:09 pm

Got an E60 525 that says the minimum octane level is 89RON

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 11th, 2012, 1:19 pm

I wouldn't attempt Super in them, but you're free to try.
I'm guessing you have the 192hp 525i if it says 89?(pre-2008) Even then, I doubt that would actually work.

I'm stuck with a min of 95 on mine. So iz premium and octane booster for me.

http://forum.roadfly.com/threads/126158 ... e-gasoline

It's an older statement, but you could try.
Keep in mind when they say 89 they don't mean what we call "regular" in trinidad. :)

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » October 22nd, 2012, 7:03 pm

I guess the best thing to do is just spend the money and use the premium. Might try to save money up front and have to spend way more later.

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 28th, 2012, 11:59 am

Depends. The manual clearly states 91 RON. It'll retime itself, lose a shitload of power but not knock. Ironically my mech says no octane boosters or additives... None.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 28th, 2012, 12:09 pm

As in he says don't use them? Why would he say that?

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 30th, 2012, 11:36 pm

nemesis wrote:As in he says don't use them? Why would he say that?

Cause he's BMW trained and THEY say don't use any. So to be fair he's answering my questions to spec and treating me as if he's dealing with every other BMW from factory.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 31st, 2012, 12:00 am

octane boosters don't work ... most raise rating by 0.5 or less. Mixing Super with racing fuel will do a better job ... not saying to do that though as you need to know the exact proportions to get it right.

On another note ppl only looking at BMWs and Audis ... but my 1999 EK4 specifies 95RON .... so is not just the luxury car owners affected

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 2nd, 2012, 6:13 pm

I think stay clear of leaded octane boosters and you should be fine djcarbon. Also I've been using them in more than one euro for years now with no problems. Probably ever manufacturer in the world says don't use them though. Yes they do work at times ek4. I've used normal gas, then added octane booster and seen the difference while on the dyno. Also have cars pinging and just adding those stopped it. It might not be very much, but they do help. I agree race fuel works well too, but it's more difficult to mix properly and some of them are leaded and therefore are very bad for sensors.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » December 4th, 2012, 3:52 pm

the E39's (98-2003 5 series) has RON91-98 written on the inside of the gas lid.

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » December 18th, 2012, 7:20 pm

Out of curiousity, I asked the attendant at the gas station if ppl fill super in their beemer and he said yes. He told me there is one customer who has a brand new bmw and fills super sometimes. He reccomended filling 150 super and 50 premium etc. I don't know if he b*** sh**ing me lol.

My manual says the same as above. 91 minimum permissible grade but many ppl are saying stay away from the super.

Does anyone here have a bmw less than 5 years old and fulls super in it?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 19th, 2012, 5:02 am

Mine made 5yrs in Nov I believe. And no, would never consider super for my model. I'll find out from some more people though. And I'll ask the mech at BMW if he's ever seen any fuel related problems and what.

Postby MG Man » December 19th, 2012, 7:55 am

drove a MINI cooper two nights ago, that's been running on super from new. The owner has a MSD coil, fancy plug wires and a sprint-booster installled...........and the car runs like sheit, compared to mine, which is bone stock, but has always run on premium..........his car is 2 years newer and is doing just under 60,000 kms, while mine just crossed 103k..........his fuel filter came out looking like sheit and mine still looked new..........even the BMW mechanic was surprised at how responsive my car was, compared to the other one
Fuel? Maybe, maybe not, but I not usin super in my car............tried it once, years ago, and instant pinking and loss of power (yes pinKing.....that's how we British say it)

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 20th, 2012, 7:52 am

Sounds like dirty gas if the filter was pretty bad. Probably the gas station he uses most often compared to you.
Either way, I agree that it's not worth trying the Super.
You Mini is which engine btw?

Postby MG Man » December 20th, 2012, 8:31 am

W10 engine, ie 1.6 n/a

devrat

Postby devrat » December 26th, 2012, 5:26 pm

No!!!!!........I normally pump my own gas but this time I was distracted :oops: and let the attendant
pump my gas.....only to realize he put super.......caused an engine malfunction warning and the car went into reduced power mode....apparently it "retimed" it self.....will get that sorted out tomorrow.
2011 523i :?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 26th, 2012, 11:16 pm

^^^ hey what's d displacement in that engine?

Postby MG Man » December 27th, 2012, 8:04 am

according to devrat's experience, while a beemer cannot run on super, it can run on wood O_O

devrat

Postby devrat » December 27th, 2012, 12:39 pm

MG Man wrote:according to devrat's experience, while a beemer cannot run on super, it can run on wood O_O

Got the problem fixed.....as for MG....I am not telling you any more juicy secrets ever again :oops:

Postby MG Man » December 27th, 2012, 1:25 pm

did you burn off most of the super and put in premium or did you run a fuel additive to compensate?
And how did you manage to get your wood out of the fuel filler?

Postby S_2NR » December 27th, 2012, 7:27 pm

have a friend with an e46 that uses super.

Return to “EURO”