Wtk: mercedes benz AClass

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

whites

Wtk: mercedes benz AClass

Postby whites » February 24th, 2014, 11:08 am

Wtk what you'll think about the 2014 A Class. 1.6t, 7spd dct, starting price $285k

Re: Wtk: mercedes benz AClass

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 24th, 2014, 11:16 am

I like it. I think if that was available when I was purchasing I would have gotten it instead of the Jetta.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 24th, 2014, 6:03 pm

1.6t? serious?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 24th, 2014, 6:21 pm

Something wrong with a 1.6T?

whites

Postby whites » February 24th, 2014, 6:28 pm

For 320 you get panaramic sun roof and reverse camera along with other features

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 24th, 2014, 6:37 pm

Taken from new car thread:

Mercedes Benz A class:

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 25th, 2014, 7:49 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Something wrong with a 1.6T?

Bunny..I didn't know that Sterling were bringing down the 1.6T.
No wonder they are considering halting the importation of any new Skoda units.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 25th, 2014, 10:19 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:

Decision wasn't up to them really...Czech Republic plant stopped exports to the Caribbean forcing Barbados (who sterling gets the cars from btw) to seek out alternative suppliers

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » February 26th, 2014, 10:02 am

Well I can't speak of the A class but I can share a bit of experience with a C class carrying the same drivetrain.

The 1.6T has enough power to carry the heavy rear wheel drive C class. Fuel efficiency is superb and averaging between 7l /100km @ 15000 Km (highway run). Car gets up to 180 km/h easily, comparing it to my 1.8TSI, it will be right there. One thing about the Benz and I drove the E class, I found the accelerator pedal to be stiff, forcing you to drive the car slow (my opinion). But step on the pedal it will move.
Suspension is really the best, on more than one occasion, the type pressure was down to 25 PSI on two tyres (normal recommended 35 PSI) and the car was still riding perfect. Not sure what the tyre pressure monitoring system is there for as I do not get any indication of low tyre pressure, need to speak to Sterlin about it in some detail.

The build of the Benz is very solid, my only beef with the C is the compact size. Other than that a lovely car. I would imagine the A class will follow the same trend and may even more fun to drive based on the power to weight ratio.

Yes, get it.

allblacks

Postby allblacks » March 6th, 2014, 11:28 am

purple_heart77 wrote:Well I can't speak of the A class but I can share a bit of experience with a C class carrying the same drivetrain.

The 1.6T has enough power to carry the heavy rear wheel drive C class. Fuel efficiency is superb and averaging between 7l /100km @ 15000 Km (highway run). Car gets up to 180 km/h easily, comparing it to my 1.8TSI, it will be right there. One thing about the Benz and I drove the E class, I found the accelerator pedal to be stiff, forcing you to drive the car slow (my opinion). But step on the pedal it will move.
Suspension is really the best, on more than one occasion, the type pressure was down to 25 PSI on two tyres (normal recommended 35 PSI) and the car was still riding perfect. Not sure what the tyre pressure monitoring system is there for as I do not get any indication of low tyre pressure, need to speak to Sterlin about it in some detail.

The build of the Benz is very solid, my only beef with the C is the compact size. Other than that a lovely car. I would imagine the A class will follow the same trend and may even more fun to drive based on the power to weight ratio.

Yes, get it.

Purple Heart which model C-Class is that as the CG models came with a 1.8 Turbo?

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 6th, 2014, 10:01 pm

This one is referred to as the W204. Looks like your avatar pic.

Don't know much about the previous CG models, but I think those were supercharged.

allblacks

Postby allblacks » March 7th, 2014, 7:19 am

purple_heart77 wrote:This one is referred to as the W204. Looks like your avatar pic.

Don't know much about the previous CG models, but I think those were supercharged.

Nah...this is the 2012 CGi models 1.8 Turbo....facelift to the 2011 model W204..I think they changed over from the Kompressor to the CGi in 2009...I stand to be corrected though.....I will do a review on it soon...its about 2.5 yrs old now from new....

whites

Postby whites » March 20th, 2014, 3:29 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:

Decision wasn't up to them really...Czech Republic plant stopped exports to the Caribbean forcing Barbados (who sterling gets the cars from btw) to seek out alternative suppliers

This information is on point.

ztune

Postby ztune » March 26th, 2014, 9:02 am

A friend of mines singing all through his years of uwi "when ah get meh benz" so he ended up buying this A class recently and seems to be very pleased and also now like the euro market. Car is nice, real nice and quick. $1200 a service and he is good to go.

Visited the showroom recently, the C class basic package which were all sold out caught my attention and most importantly I never thought I would fit but the seat goes way back and its pretty snug. Its a really comfortable gorgeous car with some cool standard features. A car definitely worth buying.

MERCEDES-BENZ C CLASS- Avantgarde

Metallic Paint

Leather Upholstery

Adaptive Front & Side Airbags (4) Windowbags (2) (std)

Belt Tensioners with Belt Force Limiters

Neck-Pro Safety Head Restraints (std)

Headlamp Assist with Light Sensor

ELCODE Locking System with Infrared and Radio Remote Control Key

K11 Adaptive Brake with ABS, ASR, ESP, Brake Drying and Hill Start Assist

30P Stowage Package

P47 Automatic Package

P49 Mirror Package

P64 Memory Package

R44 5 Spoke Light Alloy Wheels – 17”(std.)

U12 Velour Floor Mats

213 Parameter Steering

230 Parktronik System

236 Day Time Running Lamps (std.)

290 Window Air-Bags (std.)

292 Side Air Bags (std.)

310 Twin Cup Holder (std.)

345 Windscreen Wipers with Rain Sensors (std.)

400 Folding Armrest in the Rear (std.)

427 7 G Tronic-Speed Automatic Transmission (std.)

440 Cruise Control with SPEEDTRONIC (std.)

442 Luxury Multifunction Steering Wheel (std.)

461 Instrument with Mile Counter (std.)

481 Protective Undershielding

510 Audio 20 with CD Changer

518 Media Interface

524 Paint Protection

543 Sun Visors with Illuminated Vanity Mirrors (std.)

580 Two Zone Thermatic Automatic Climate Control (std.)

584 Power Windows (std.)

613 Projector Beam Headlights with Halogen Technology

621 LED Daytime Running Lights

668 Packing for Export

669 Emergency Spare Tyre

677 Agility Control Suspension with Selective Damping (std.)

739 Aluminium Trim (std.)

916 66 Litre Fuel Tank

932 Stowage Boxes under Both Front Seats (std.)

954 Avantgarde

New C class coming in August.

whites

Postby whites » April 2nd, 2014, 1:27 pm

GLA coming in July too. Call me for more details # 620 3559 :P

Return to “EURO”