VW MK5 Jetta Water Pump issues!

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

svramoutar

VW MK5 Jetta Water Pump issues!

Postby svramoutar » March 13th, 2017, 7:53 pm

Hi guys, apparently my water pump failed on me last week. I've been topping up the coolant bottle every so often, thought I had a leak. Mechanic checked, but none was found. Last week one morning, car was sounding like a diesel and then a warning came up on the display saying to check my coolant. Car has been parked up since. Been looking for the cheapest place for the pump. ERM doesn't have in stock, neither does Automotive Supplies, neither Continental among a few other places. If anyone knows where I can purchase please, I'm all ears.
Also, would I need to replace the belt/belts with the pump or only after further inspection? Thanks again folks.

Sanjay.

Re: VW MK5 Jetta Water Pump issues!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 17th, 2017, 1:53 pm

Hopefully the diesel noise was the pump and not the engine. As the plastic impellars of the pump break down they sometimes make noise.
Ebay is your best bet. Pumps way cheaper than at Best Auto.

Look yuh pump here:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/For-VW-Golf-Mk5 ... 5~&vxp=mtr

Also look it here for cheaper: http://www.ebay.com/itm/For-VW-Scirocco ... RX&vxp=mtr

or better yet: http://www.ebay.com/itm/For-VW-Scirocco ... RX&vxp=mtr

In the meanwhile check the belts to see if they need replacing. Unless oil spill on them they should be ok once you not doing ridiculous mileage. If you need belts best you check Massy or ERM. It's only two belts there so maybe it might just make sense to replace both as you gonna have to be doing work in that area of the engine anyways.

svramoutar

Re: VW MK5 Jetta Water Pump issues!

Postby svramoutar » March 31st, 2017, 2:44 am

Thanks Bunny, I already got it at Massy a couple weeks ago along with belts. Installed and everything is working fine. My turbo is another issue I'm dealing with now.

Return to “EURO”