2009 Jetta , a good buy?

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

radIS300

2009 Jetta , a good buy?

Postby radIS300 » April 1st, 2018, 7:38 pm

Hi, looking for some advice, I'm thinking about buying a 2009 Jetta with the TSI engine (the model with the headlamps similar to the golf).

I read some good reviews online regarding the performance of the TSI and handling of the Jetta, but also read that some had issues with the transmission.

Would this model have any problems with the transmission?
Are there any other known problems I can expect from this model with a mileage of around 60,000 km?
Is replacement parts readily available locally? and is maintenance crazy expensive?

Your advice would be much appreciated, thanks in advance

randolphinshan

Re: 2009 Jetta , a good buy?

Postby randolphinshan » April 2nd, 2018, 4:12 pm

Palos save yourself headache and get a used Japanese vehicle. Those Euros are high maintained and have low resale value.

You owe me 2 Guinness for saving you tons of headache

radIS300

Postby radIS300 » April 2nd, 2018, 5:19 pm

[quote="randolphinshan"]Palos save yourself headache and get a used Japanese vehicle. Those Euros are high maintained and have low resale value.

You owe me 2 Guinness for saving you tons of headache[/quote]

Thanks for the advice dats too bad, i rel like them tho and wanted something a lil different than the Japanese, but might just have to settle for them anyway, any suggestions on what's a good used Japan car? In terms of reliability, ride quality, not break yuh wallet type maintenance/repairs etc. My other option was '08 model civic with the 1.8 engine

nick639v2

2009 Jetta , a good buy?

Postby nick639v2 » April 2nd, 2018, 5:30 pm

What's your budget??

Civics are always a good buy in my opinion. Had foreign used eg, ek and fd and never have i regretted it. Tho alot of local ones are beaten and abused so be weary

radIS300

Postby radIS300 » April 2nd, 2018, 6:21 pm

Thanks, my budget is 80k

shimon

Postby shimon » April 19th, 2018, 6:56 am

Stay away from the 1.4tsi with dry clutch dsg if you can there are good euros don't be afraid to buy something you like gimme a call 777-1424 if you want further assistance.

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » May 31st, 2018, 1:12 pm

Jetta is only good in diesel and in Manual. 1.4tsi engine is a waste of time, and dsg gearbox is an epic waste of time and money. Good luck

Return to “EURO”