TriniTuner Blood Bank & Organ Donor Register

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 9th, 2008, 10:20 pm

I wonder if JM was asking, if one is sick, how soon after can you donate???

If this is the question, then that would depend on what you were sick with, and the medication taken, and that can only be answered by a medical professional.

But as eurogirl indicated, you do not normally get sick after donating blood. I go about my normal routine, but just do not exert myself for a day. And I have been repeatedly told that those who give blood regularly have fewer bouts of illness, that I also can confirm.

But, I have also seen what we would call big, hard back men ( one from the army too) start to feel weak, and want to faint after donating a pint. There are some who just cannot face the sight of blood in a bag, or really are sacred of a needle.

Notwithstanding, I really hope that others do not wait until a family member is in need to rush around to seek a pint.

JM

Postby JM » November 10th, 2008, 4:31 pm

I meant how soon after being sick can u donate...
sorry..LOL
thanks for the info..

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 10th, 2008, 1:50 pm

Come on folks !!! its accident season once again !!! Time to up your units and drink de ppl free juice or milk or water !!!

I've just been blood bank's latest pin cushion .. de nurses in Mt hope changed ! and dey nice too !!! they making jokes with you now !! .

I could never get over how easy it is to drain blood yes esp when they taking the 3 tubes for testing ..

ANYHOW!!! ppl if you have never given, I suggest you start , GO GIVE BLOOD !!!

Postby bluesteel29 » January 19th, 2009, 8:35 pm

too bad not every 2uner can donate blood.
i heard if ur a smoker or if ya beat out ah new ting within 3 mths u cant donate?????

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 19th, 2009, 10:45 pm

^^ So you have been denied??? :shock:

Postby bluesteel29 » January 19th, 2009, 10:50 pm

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2009, 10:59 pm

gave @ Mt Hope yesterday
the close off at 2:30 so they can finish at 3, but they still let me donate at 2:50pm
don't like the new lance tho..........damn thing rel sting...I prefer the old way with the manual chook

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 25th, 2009, 4:21 pm

MG Man, thas coz the nurse used the top of u're finger , u're suppose to use the side of u're finger . All u're nerve endings are at the finger pads ..

Postby tr1ad » March 6th, 2009, 8:58 am

hi all can anyone give blood? close friend in the hospital right now

anderson jamoona, ward 9 san fernando general hospital

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 6th, 2009, 10:54 am

gave blood once....not sure if i can give again

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 6th, 2009, 2:51 pm

So here we go again, only when one is in dire need that a panicked request is made. What about the family, the distant family, the friends?

When will a whole set of people realize that at any time any one can be in need of Blood, and then have to scamper around to get help. Hope that the family and friends of above named person start to make a serious effort to donate regularly and maybe also help others in time of need.

The comment elsewhere of taking 3 hours is what people encounter who are not regular donors. Regular or more correctly, Volunteer Donors are given preferential treatment and spend half that time at the Blood Bank.

Postby MG Man » March 12th, 2009, 10:29 am

^^^yup
when I gave last month, they were ready to close the doors but they know I always give voluntarily, and were happy to stay back the extra half hour. Now when ppl ask me for units, I have a whole screening process of my own, because as you said, people live their merry lives and never think to donate, or make excuses. Sometimes I duck work just so i can give, and it is one of the main reasons I don't even consider tattoos, because it means a whole year I can't donate..............they whole 'we need blood urgently' thing is getting a bit tired now.......

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 12th, 2009, 1:15 pm

Coming up with a new strategy for RT09, where I am certain all the competitors will have their Blood Type proudly displayed on cars and helmets.

So the strategy is to ask if they all have this info. and I am sure we will get a resounding yes. And then ask, so how many of you are Voluntary Blood Donors? Not sure if we will get a resounding yes.

Then point out that we all know that Motor Sport is dangerous!
And an accident can happen.
And it can be serious.
And one can then have the urgent need for Blood.

So what have you, dear competitor, done to ensure that you can get a “Bailoutâ€

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2009, 10:51 am

sounds like a plan. The typical response I get from ppl is 'why I need to give blood?' Race drivers should understand the need to have insurance, but when you have men piloting 11 second cars with inadequate safety, you begin to see where attitude defeats common sense :?
I gave away a lot of blood last year so right now I am focusing on rebuilding stocks to at least 5 units before I give any more away......sounds harsh but none of the families I have bailed out (strangers) have ever taken it upon themselves to become donors after they got over their crisis :? :? :?

AutoSport

Mount Hpoe

Postby AutoSport » June 30th, 2009, 12:50 pm

MG Man, I am shocked to hear of your experience going to the Mount Hope Blood Bank as a voluntary donor and being turned away.

In this day and age for this to happen is just crazy especially when one looks at the charts at the POS Blood Bank and see the vast deficit in what is needed as opposed to what is donated.

I feel that you should put pen to paper and publish in all the printed media., and inform POS Blood Bank also.

Postby RBphoto » September 15th, 2009, 8:55 am

MG Man wrote:......sounds harsh but none of the families I have bailed out (strangers) have ever taken it upon themselves to become donors after they got over their crisis :? :? :?

Just a small bump. I gave in March, and owe a lot of units to a lot of people (16). Taking next Friday off to give again. Any Tuners want to meet me in Mt. Hope?

MG, The kind of excuses I hear people saying when I trying to convince people to go... They fraid needles, they trying to work out and that will drain them... it just sad. Giving blood voluntarily is as taboo as putting on your seatbelt in the back seat.

A note to the wise... IT IS GOOD FOR YOUR HEALTH!!!

Encourages growth of new tissue.

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2009, 9:51 pm

PM me ah reminder nah
I shoud have time...........but I NOT holdin yuh hand eh palos

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » September 15th, 2009, 10:15 pm

pm me when u guys going also, it would be the first time i giving blood,

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 15th, 2009, 10:45 pm

crossdrilled....“I gave in March, and owe a lot of units to a lot of people (16).â€

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2009, 9:42 pm

yup
POS staff are wonderful
I had to hold up cuz of HepB vaccine

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 14th, 2009, 8:26 pm

went today to start back building up my bank as well. they told me when you donate 5 pints, they automatically add a 6th pint to your "account".

Always a good cause ppl... when you go, you see ppl begging for blood donations. Let us be prepared :)

Postby MG Man » December 20th, 2009, 11:12 pm

good stuff...........I need to duck work and give again :!:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » December 21st, 2009, 10:36 am

^^^^ Man can't help but bring in some ole time name even here ....duck work

Too few carrying this burden for to many.

Mini

Postby Mini » December 21st, 2009, 10:40 am

what happens if you can't find your donor card ... the little pink one?

Postby MG Man » December 21st, 2009, 10:50 am

Mini wrote:what happens if you can't find your donor card ... the little pink one?
go to the bank where you last gave, and they will have updated records
the will not give out that information over the phone due to the personal / confidential nature

Postby MG Man » February 9th, 2010, 4:58 pm

went to Mt Hope this morning to give again
Arrived at 8:15, left at 9:00
friendly staff as usual. They giving out numbers now and running like clockwork
Had sum new faces too...one cute doctor-lookin chick but she din seem too friendly :lol:

Re: TriniTuner Blood Bank Register

Postby MG Man » May 26th, 2010, 10:49 am

hmm...............3 months pass..............time to give again
anybody wanna make an 8:00 Mt Hope blood donation lime nex week?

Foxy

Postby Foxy » May 26th, 2010, 1:21 pm

what about tattoos? is it possible to still donate?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » May 26th, 2010, 1:40 pm

I believe that there is a time factor - when was the tattoo was done?

Will check to see if this is one year.

Postby MG Man » June 1st, 2010, 8:37 pm

i think it's one year