3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

tdavies

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby tdavies » March 13th, 2012, 9:26 am

Dragist, I want to come an check your Bigma Lens.
I need that extra zoom bad!!!

Seriously comparing it to the 100-400L Canon.
Will be purchasing within the next few months

tdavies

Postby tdavies » March 13th, 2012, 9:27 am

Postby mitsu_chick941 » March 13th, 2012, 9:31 am

OMFG @ that bug

such awesome pics

Postby Trini Hookah » March 13th, 2012, 9:32 am

Such a simple shot but so amazing!

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 13th, 2012, 9:44 am

tdavies wrote:Dragist, I want to come an check your Bigma Lens.

Not at problem at all we will organize .

tdavies

Postby tdavies » March 13th, 2012, 9:50 am

crossdrilled wrote:Apparently your photography course was geared towards reading the catalog of BHphotovideo, selecting the optimum gear for every single thing you want to shoot under the sun, and upgrading every year when BH send out their catalog (I get it in the mail too). Seems that you enjoy gathering tools (just like some weekend warrior mechanics). Been there.... done that.... moved on. I upgrade my skill, not my cameras anymore.

I enjoy photography, and don't let the fact that I don't have a piece of equipment on me get me bummy (anymore).

For your lack of comprehension of my original post:

1) I said the camera is great, and technical quality is excellent. Yes there is better, but nothing that a beginner will notice for many years to come.

2) My BB is my tool sometimes. I rather take a shot with a low quality medium than have no record of a beautiful scene at all. If i don't have a spanner, I will use my mole pliers to loosen the nut. It ain't the best, but it works.

3) I am a film proponent. It is a dying medium and I encouraging as many people to take advantage of it's superior quality and aesthetic beauty before it goes away forever.

I said nothing else in my post but you extrapolated onsettashit from those points. I never tooted my own horn about my skill. I know some sh1t... I share, I listen, I learn. I am an amature photographer. The real professionals are not active in this thread, they are out in the field shooting, making a living to care about us noobs and our "what camera is best to learn photography" question that we get every week. If I wanted to be mean I could have just said "search b1tch, we beat out this topic weekly". I choose to answer the question every time, and my statement about equipment does not matter is meant to be encouraging the person to just use what they have and enjoy taking pics.. not worrying about buying mostly useless stuff before "getting into photography as a hobby". Take the chessbun down a notch.

What i have tried to say was that it is important to understand that equipment is just as important as skill.
We expect that most photographers will have the vision and skill required to see a shot from conceptualization to finish.
If this is true, then there should be nothing standing in your way as long as you have the right equipment.
don't get me wrong as I also use My BB to take fantastic shots on a whim but I know that I would get much better shots if I was using a SLR

Like you I also shoot in film although rarely as I am the proud owner of a Canon AE-1 Film SLR, but as in the case of instant gratification I much prefer use a DSLR.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 13th, 2012, 11:50 am

Ay i have a canon AE-1 also but i'm using it currently as a desk ornament. I would like to get it working so i can "discover the wonders of film photography". Anybody allyuh could recommend to service it.
Its getting power but not firing and the viewfinder has mold :(

tdavies

Postby tdavies » March 13th, 2012, 12:48 pm

Took mine to a chinese guy in westwood mall in malton, ontario.
That was over 5 yrs ago. Would like to meet up with you sometime.
Mines been out of use for 4 yrs would like to start her back up.

Postby RBphoto » March 13th, 2012, 12:49 pm

trini mk5 wrote: viewfinder has mold :(

RIP, bury that camera pallie. Will cost you less to buy one of the two other manual gems in the misc barg. Center.

Postby RBphoto » March 13th, 2012, 6:04 pm

Video men, I want to extract some frames from a movie I made with canon P&S. Any idea what software I can use to do this? I own Adobe CS5, but seriously only use photoshop and vector editing programs. I think I have priemire and afterefects. Advise any freeware that can do this.. please point me in the right direction.

Cheers.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » March 13th, 2012, 6:10 pm

tdavies

Postby tdavies » March 13th, 2012, 9:05 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Video men, I want to extract some frames from a movie I made with canon P&S. Any idea what software I can use to do this? I own Adobe CS5, but seriously only use photoshop and vector editing programs. I think I have priemire and afterefects. Advise any freeware that can do this.. please point me in the right direction.

Cheers.

You can do it off Adobe premiere CS5. Ive done it several times.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » March 13th, 2012, 9:25 pm

1.Select a clip in the Project panel or a Timeline.
2.Choose File > Export > Media.
3.In the Export Settings dialog box, select a still-image format from the Format menu. See Export Settings Format options.
4.If tabs are not visible below the Summary pane, click the Advanced Mode button .
5.On the Video tab, deselect the Export As Sequence option (if it is selected).
6.(Optional) To deinterlace the frame, select Progressive from the Field Type menu.
7.(Optional) To correct the pixel aspect ratio for display on computer screens, select Square Pixels from the Aspect menu.
8.Click the Output Name hot text.
9.Browse to the location where you want to save the still-image file, type a filename for it, and click Save.
10.In the Export Settings viewing area, drag the playhead to the frame you want to export as a still image.
11.Click OK.

Postby gastly369 » March 13th, 2012, 9:26 pm

*licks fingers*

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 13th, 2012, 10:28 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
trini mk5 wrote: viewfinder has mold :(

RIP, bury that camera pallie. Will cost you less to buy one of the two other manual gems in the misc barg. Center.

Serious?? Very disappointed :(

hot blue

Postby hot blue » March 13th, 2012, 10:36 pm

A few shots from Pan Semis 2012

IMG_7226-2 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7238-2 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7242-2 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7207 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7197 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7196-2 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7193 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7196 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7192-Edit by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7192-2 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7191-2 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7191 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7199-3 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

IMG_7202-2 by GlynnChaz, on Flickr

Postby RBphoto » March 14th, 2012, 7:18 am

tdavies wrote:1.Select a clip in the Project panel or a Timeline.
2.Choose File > Export > Media.
3.In the Export Settings dialog box, select a still-image format from the Format menu. See Export Settings Format options.
4.If tabs are not visible below the Summary pane, click the Advanced Mode button .
5.On the Video tab, deselect the Export As Sequence option (if it is selected).
6.(Optional) To deinterlace the frame, select Progressive from the Field Type menu.
7.(Optional) To correct the pixel aspect ratio for display on computer screens, select Square Pixels from the Aspect menu.
8.Click the Output Name hot text.
9.Browse to the location where you want to save the still-image file, type a filename for it, and click Save.
10.In the Export Settings viewing area, drag the playhead to the frame you want to export as a still image.
11.Click OK.

Thanks a bunch T.

Postby DVSTT » March 14th, 2012, 1:34 pm

Dog Fighting by DHARIN, on Flickr

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » March 15th, 2012, 3:55 pm

tdavies wrote:Dragist, I want to come an check your Bigma Lens.

pics i posted on pg 200 are the 100-400 canon

Postby DVSTT » March 15th, 2012, 4:16 pm

What are good third party LP-E8 batteries for a canon t2i? The official canon ones are $80 USD each!

Postby gastly369 » March 15th, 2012, 4:56 pm

DVSTT have some really good shots i must say.. keep up the good work

Postby gastly369 » March 17th, 2012, 2:16 pm

*le point n shoot* :oops:

mrkessy

Postby mrkessy » March 17th, 2012, 7:31 pm

To the more experienced guys, i took the below pic without paying enough attention to my settings, and i left long exposure compensation off *stupid, yes i know*
Any ideas on postprocessing to clean up some of the noise? I tried a bit in lightroom, didnt particularly give the salvation i was hoping for to the pic... ideas welcomed.

Postby RBphoto » March 18th, 2012, 12:58 am

^^^by Hyatt? Leave noise compensation off...it is a PITA. What noise are you talking about? Don't see any. I think you are trying to fix the wrong problem thinking it is noise. Post a 100% crop of a problem area and describe what you want to fix.

Postby RBphoto » March 18th, 2012, 1:30 am

A lil blackberry pic. Hope more people use the camera they have instead of making Nikon and Canon richer.
IMG00360-20120316-1212edit.jpg
Yearning for shelter

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2012, 10:12 am

DVSTT wrote:What are good third party LP-E8 batteries for a canon t2i? The official canon ones are $80 USD each!

I have 2 Energizer replacement/extra/spare batteries for my 550D (I has some vouchers that needed using up). I paid I fink 15£ from amazon and honestly have not seen any difference. I used both the Canon & energizer batteries in sub zero degrees C, and at 35 odd degress with high humidity and both seemed to last just as long. I am yet to do day a full day where I start with a full battery and have to replace it, but that will change next month as I plan to be doing a few long days.

hope that helps,

oh...The product code is CA-LPE8..and please do not hold me responsible if you dont like eet.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 19th, 2012, 6:52 am

Some shots i took down by the temple. First time i've been there. Critique always welcomed :cool:

and a very friendly cat that likes photos

Postby RBphoto » March 19th, 2012, 3:07 pm

I have seen all of those perspectives in other peoples work except the one with the sun flare in the fourth one. Quite unique.

Nice perspective on the first one.

You are getting some posterization in the 2nd to last one. Shoot in neutral mode and adjust vinbrance, not saturation in post to prevent the most saturated colors from blowing out like that.

As for the cat on a nikon strap...... no comment.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 19th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Could very well be a default desktop that comes with PC's.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 19th, 2012, 4:19 pm

crossdrilled wrote:I have seen all of those perspectives in other peoples work except the one with the sun flare in the fourth one. Quite unique.

Nice perspective on the first one.

You are getting some posterization in the 2nd to last one. Shoot in neutral mode and adjust vinbrance, not saturation in post to prevent the most saturated colors from blowing out like that.

As for the cat on a nikon strap...... no comment.

what is posterization? I shot in RAW so no input form the camera, and no saturation was used either, i just adjusted the tint bar some contrast and clarity.
But thanks for the feed back.