3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 25th, 2008, 7:32 pm

obeiron wrote:http://www.ryanolton.com/V3/photos/other/IMG_1422.jpg

Macro lens? :o
That pic rel mad. And your website design even madder! 8-)

scientist

Postby scientist » January 25th, 2008, 7:47 pm

one of my more recent ones

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 25th, 2008, 7:50 pm

great design work on your site obeiron!

obeiron

Postby obeiron » January 25th, 2008, 8:36 pm

Rensh wrote:
obeiron wrote:http://www.ryanolton.com/V3/photos/other/IMG_1422.jpg

Macro lens? :o
That pic rel mad. And your website design even madder! 8-)

Thanks for the kind comments. The lens is a Tamron 70-300mm Tele-Macro.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:great design work on your site obeiron!

Thanks Duane 3NE 2NR!

Manchungster

Postby Manchungster » January 26th, 2008, 12:07 am

Great pics. I'm going to have make a early morning trip to POS when next I in 3NE. Definitely will roam around with the camera more.

Here's some I took over the Christmas holidays with a Nikon D80 and 18-135 lens.

Lopinot

Lopinot

Dove soaking the view from the Mount

One of the most photographed parts of t&T

Boat sticker
Last edited by Manchungster on January 26th, 2008, 12:12 am, edited 2 times in total.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 26th, 2008, 12:08 am

*flings 6230i*

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 26th, 2008, 8:38 am

Keep it up guys ........................ Not you Q :shock:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 26th, 2008, 3:51 pm

Dragist wrote:Keep it up guys ........................ Not you Q :shock:
oh gosh... 1 mistake

Postby cinco » January 26th, 2008, 4:09 pm

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 26th, 2008, 9:38 pm

Postby r3iXmann » January 26th, 2008, 9:44 pm

some of mine from macqueripe:

Postby Maserati » January 26th, 2008, 9:51 pm

reiXmann,nice shots

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 27th, 2008, 12:57 am

Good shots :evil:

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 27th, 2008, 1:55 am

Them pics cool! I doh have pics of that most photographed place though. :oops:
Parrot pic is kix lol.

Dragist, wha yuh sulking for eh? :lol:

Two old pics here, taken in Curacao.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 27th, 2008, 2:26 pm

This thread inspired me to shoot some stuff yesterday, and after a few shots around the mas camp, and then a couple hundred shots over a 20 mins on the foreshore lookin at the sun I came up with these :D

I threw in a couple from the mas camp a few weeks ago too.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 27th, 2008, 2:29 pm

I'll straighten the horizons later :lol:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 27th, 2008, 2:31 pm

Scully that last shot wins , I would crop a bit off the bottom .

Great stuff Scully

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 27th, 2008, 3:13 pm

Notorious Scullman, liking the sunset shots.

:| ........me ain't take no pics in a long time

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 27th, 2008, 3:27 pm

Zuki I aint seeing nothing from you these days , I updated my Flickr page

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 27th, 2008, 7:42 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:This thread inspired me to shoot some stuff yesterday, and after a few shots around the mas camp, and then a couple hundred shots over a 20 mins on the foreshore lookin at the sun I came up with these :D

Yes man, daz what we talking bout.. some inspiration. 8-)
Yuh used a tripod for the sunset pics btw?
Liking the paint can picture! The covered can interrupted the flow though.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 28th, 2008, 8:01 am

No tripod for the sunset. Didn't have time to pick it up.
Only used a circular polarizing filter for contrast, 18-55mm and 75-300mm

Yeah, realised the cover threw it off when I got it off the card

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 28th, 2008, 3:30 pm

varung

Postby varung » January 29th, 2008, 4:17 pm

ANY ONE HAVE AN OPINION ON THE TAMRON 28-80MM LENS

obeiron

Postby obeiron » January 29th, 2008, 5:00 pm

varung wrote:ANY ONE HAVE AN OPINION ON THE TAMRON 28-80MM LENS

Not sure if this helps but I have a Tamron 70-300mm lens. Its a good lens but the auto-focus is SLOW.

varung

Postby varung » January 29th, 2008, 5:02 pm

outside of canon lenses. which are nearest in performance?

i seeing real lense combos on ebay for new camers (XTi) but a lot is with Tamron lenses

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 29th, 2008, 5:04 pm

^^ I was seeing the same thing on ebay but dont have a clue about those lenses .

Manchungster

Postby Manchungster » January 29th, 2008, 5:32 pm

Sigmas are great lenses for these cameras. Tamron are good as well.

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 29th, 2008, 6:20 pm

varung wrote:outside of canon lenses. which are nearest in performance?

i seeing real lense combos on ebay for new camers (XTi) but a lot is with Tamron lenses

Sigma and Tamron are pretty good 'other' lenses. Oh and Tokina is another brand that I've heard of as well. But just remember eh, you get what you pay for. 8-)

This link should help. They have sample images taken with various lenses, by pros and beginners. Very useful as they have all sorts of lenses. 8-)

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/sho ... p?t=141406

ziig

Postby ziig » January 29th, 2008, 6:35 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 29th, 2008, 6:36 pm

WRT Sigma lenses:
my most versatile lens for my Canon 40D is a Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 OS (object stabilisation)

its not as fast in autofocus as an L series but it is faster than a 28-135mm IS Canon lens.

18 means you get pretty wide and 200 means you get decent zoom - all in one lens with image stabilisation. Its a great workhorse lens and very very versatile. In fact its so versatile it hardly ever comes off the camera since I hardly ever need to change it!

Sigma is also usually cheaper than Canon - in fact nearly everything is usually cheaper than Canon, even Nikon!

The problem with Sigma and Tamron lenses is that their quality control is not as good as Canon's and you can get a bad copy of a lens, maybe with a softspot somewhere in all your pictures or unsually slow auto focus - the best way to buy a SIgma or Tamron is to go try ti out yourself at a store - and that is difficult for us here in T&T to do.

I have three Sigma lenses
a 10-20mm EX
a 18-200mm OS DC
and a 50-500mm EX

and 1 Canon lens - a fixed 50mm f/1.8

I ordered all through Amazon.com, never had a problem with any - but I've heard some horror stories and lenses having to be returned from other online buyers who werent able to check the lens before purchasing.