Best doubles in T&T

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 1st, 2008, 3:39 am

Why doesn't someone just provide a breakdown of the ingredients and calculate the cost (materials, labour and equipment costs)? Add a 15 to 20% markup for overheads and profit and see what is the final price. You could get the ingredients out of the NGHS cookbook.

Then you could go and complain on the Public Complaints forum of www.3nebarra4u.com or just shut up.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 1st, 2008, 4:33 am

^^^by de time yuh do dat, yuh go be hungry and yuh will go an buy de doubles neway :mrgreen:

Postby De Dragon » April 1st, 2008, 6:56 am

RPM wrote:allyuh feel it easy to make doubles awa
4 is still a good price everything going up n allyuh fighting down d doubles man hahaha

Yet if anyone else raises prices is dig out eye bizness :?

Postby RBphoto » April 1st, 2008, 7:08 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:Most double vendors are of East Indian or Muslim ancestry and most East Indian and Muslims families believe in communal living with close and distant relatives.

I am not surprised if blue-collared workers are able to afford such sizeable homes and decently priced vehicles as most pool their resources and save over a span of several years.

At the end of it all, their children are the beneficiaries and most importantly, life KFC, doubles will continue to sell.

Damn straight.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 1st, 2008, 7:26 am

it will still be the the cheapest, fastest source of food..

no way it will stop selling...not even slow down.

Terran

Postby Terran » April 1st, 2008, 8:32 am

Guys, find something else to eat. While we are yet to know the cost of producing doubles, I am sure some of you will admit that you had to think twice when the price went to $4, worse yet if/when it hits $5. Why? Because it's seemingly unreasonable at that price. But because your pocket can afford it (what's an extra $3 for 3 doubles), you buy it without thinking twice. Consider that the price of doubles raised by 33% to $4, and now it's likely to jump another 25% to $5. What has accounted for the price increase by 33% in the first instance and another possible 25% in the second instance? Yes, the price of flour is set to increase by as much as 39%, but the likely $1 increase implies that the amount of flour it would cost to make one doubles is approximately $3.56. Currently, it costs only $0.30. So as far as I can see, the price of doubles is not justified, inflated, and ridiculous. We could be facing a price increase of 67% within 2-3 months (from $3 to $5). WHAT has brought this about?

I think I have mentioned all the ingredients/packaging components that goes into producing doubles, so if there's someone in a position to cost all the items, by all means, enlighten us.

larafan

Postby larafan » April 1st, 2008, 8:56 am

so a doubles man cyah make money too???...everyone else rolling in money and working half as hard as ah doubles man....

now having said that....no one love a doubles more than me eh..i gave up this shite for lent..now it looks like i'll have to give it up for much more..cause i mean...i'll go and eat 4 doubles..normal normal....das 16 dollars dey...depending on where i buy......now...i coulda jess put $2.25 more and buy some kam wah and be just as satisfied...das my logic....doubles is no longer the bang for ur buck kinda food as it used to be...dat used to be wha yuh buy when yuh brokes and ting...now....it looking like is only when yuh get paid that yuh coulda eat a doubles...

das a good point tho....bout ppl complaining bout 4 dollars when they would spend 4-500 in TGIF and those places....

and now....yuh doh even get the kinda quality doubles yuh would expect....i know of one doubles i would gladly pay 4 dollars for....de man behind uwee doubles in de car park..where yuh getting mango....cucumber..pepper...shadow beni..and coconut....and is a decent sized doubles too!!!...now that worth 4 dollar!!!!!...sigh...miss those uwi days...

TK!

Postby TK! » April 1st, 2008, 10:26 am

Terran wrote:Guys, find something else to eat. While we are yet to know the cost of producing doubles, I am sure some of you will admit that you had to think twice when the price went to $4, worse yet if/when it hits $5. Why? Because it's seemingly unreasonable at that price. But because your pocket can afford it (what's an extra $3 for 3 doubles), you buy it without thinking twice. Consider that the price of doubles raised by 33% to $4, and now it's likely to jump another 25% to $5. What has accounted for the price increase by 33% in the first instance and another possible 25% in the second instance? Yes, the price of flour is set to increase by as much as 39%, but the likely $1 increase implies that the amount of flour it would cost to make one doubles is approximately $3.56. Currently, it costs only $0.30. So as far as I can see, the price of doubles is not justified, inflated, and ridiculous. We could be facing a price increase of 67% within 2-3 months (from $3 to $5). WHAT has brought this about?

I think I have mentioned all the ingredients/packaging components that goes into producing doubles, so if there's someone in a position to cost all the items, by all means, enlighten us.

yuh damn rite ... ppl getting chain up dotish...

if flour go up 39%, that doh mean the cost of a doubles of now 39% higher.

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » April 1st, 2008, 10:30 am

eh, since de price of flour gone up today, doubles go and go up, and dem doubles men goin an ddrive benz

Postby crazybalhead » April 1st, 2008, 10:36 am

eh, dem cud trow dey frame..

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 1st, 2008, 10:37 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:NO the children have no jobs...but to drive round trinidad playing hard music and liming.....

Hmm...Ah in the wrong flicking business....but like other posts here yuh have to give these people props...this is no easy business...anything in the food business it takes a lot of hard, hard work. And if yuh could enjoy the fruits of your labour then I say yuh have your life balanced out.

Work hard....make the money, but you must be able to enjoy your life.

Now ah feeling for 2....slight and a red solo.....where dat doubles man gone?

And while we talking doubles....what's your preference? Where's the bess?

Postby teems1 » April 1st, 2008, 11:03 am

^^ slight pepper + cucumber from valpark or airport.

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2008, 11:03 am

teems1, try and get out more

Postby crazybalhead » April 1st, 2008, 11:04 am

Yuh understand? Persad in P-Town. Muh wife inform meh it have a decent one on chin chin road somewhere.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » April 1st, 2008, 11:16 am

I hate to hear doubles vendors crying things hard......they need to remember it's firetruck tax free money they making.......

Manning should shaft they MC and let dem see how de tax man does firetruck play....

and it's not our fault they choose to be doubles vendors.......

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 1st, 2008, 11:19 am

^true that..
tax free fcuking money!

Terran

Postby Terran » April 1st, 2008, 11:19 am

bluespeed wrote:I hate to hear doubles vendors crying things hard......they need to remember it's firetruck tax free money they making.......
Manning should shaft they MC and let dem see how de tax man does firetruck play....

and it's not our fault they choose to be doubles vendors.......

Good point. And they can pick up themselves any day and go anywhere they choose to sell. They don't have a rent to pay.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 1st, 2008, 11:30 am

i'll go and eat 4 doubles..normal normal....das 16 dollars dey...depending on where i buy......now...i coulda jess put $2.25 more and buy some kam wah and be just as satisfied...das my logic....

agreed......or a channa/potato or chicken roti........more worth for my money.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 1st, 2008, 11:32 am

:lol: oh gosh kix yes, outta all d ppl on 2nr and it doh have a doubles man :| ...hmmm....
but yea d doubles man behind uwi doubles in the car park...he doubles does reallly taste good jed....

there is also a guy by medford gas station in chaguanas, well opposite, he sells from a van...mhmmm!!

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » April 1st, 2008, 11:49 am

^ yea it have a man on tuner by the name jaggi is ah doubles vendor.....

the man in de car park behind UWI is Frank...

snowflake

Postby snowflake » April 1st, 2008, 11:59 am

i reach debe yesterday,effective 31st march..all items is $4.00!

i spend 110 in doubles! :shock:

gone wit the days when doubles was poor man food!

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2008, 12:01 pm

carcrazie, you real phorquin greedy dread

Postby Greypatch » April 1st, 2008, 12:02 pm

debe is the last place u should buy doubles...

lol @ doubles mafia

snowflake

Postby snowflake » April 1st, 2008, 12:05 pm

nah jus a few ppl!

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 1st, 2008, 12:38 pm

$5 is Really ridiculous for a doubles....ah dont care what time dey get up..how much sweat fallin in dey...but for $5, that have to be the size of roti...
i could handle $3/3.50 but not $5..and tax free too :roll:

firetruck whoever sellin for 5$... ppl have to control themselves and Boycott KFC and doubles and u will see if any price goin up again :fist:

snowflake

Postby snowflake » April 1st, 2008, 12:52 pm

Heck i learning to cook!

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 1st, 2008, 12:56 pm

when u learn, check meh :oops:

Postby Greypatch » April 1st, 2008, 12:57 pm

Postby X2 » April 1st, 2008, 1:30 pm

tk421 wrote:
yuh damn rite ... ppl getting chain up dotish...

if flour go up 39%, that doh mean the cost of a doubles of now 39% higher.

We like eet soooo !!!

My material costs went up 15% last year and 25% this year... and if I even TRY to raise prices to compensate... our market will revolt and buy everything out of china.

Maybe we should import some chinee doubles vendors to control prices ??

whitecpninea

Postby whitecpninea » April 1st, 2008, 1:39 pm

oh gosh kix yes, outta all d ppl on 2nr and it doh have a doubles man ...hmmm....

I sell doubles :cry: