Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 30th, 2018, 8:25 pm

I troll for deals on blueskycycling.com, jensonusa.com, or amazon.
sometimes you get some sweet discounts for less than 1/4 local price :/ and that is with Aerorape and customsfux

Postby shogun » October 30th, 2018, 11:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I troll for deals on blueskycycling.com, jensonusa.com, or amazon.
sometimes you get some sweet discounts for less than 1/4 local price :/ and that is with Aerorape and customsfux

Not bad.

Aerorape :lol:

Only laughing because it's too true. :?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 11th, 2018, 1:20 pm

Made the 100k. For me this is a huge achievement , especially since I incorporated some central range hills in the mix. Them Gran Couva hills alone does mash me up.

Y'all riding these days or wah?
IMG_20181111_112050_906.jpeg

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 16th, 2018, 8:57 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Made the 100k. For me this is a huge achievement , especially since I incorporated some central range hills in the mix. Them Gran Couva hills alone does mash me up.

Y'all riding these days or wah?
IMG_20181111_112050_906.jpeg
Congrats man. You rode this alone?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 16th, 2018, 9:03 am

Yup. My timing doesn't mesh well with others and I only have one day for the week to ride.
I like riding alone, though.

Company is good if you can have a few friends with similar capability. I dont like frequent stops because it wrecks my vibe and I don't like to feel like I holding back a faster group.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 16th, 2018, 9:05 am

I glad for the gear range on this MTB. Works good on flat too.
5 hours is tough on the gluteus maximus tho. Literal butthurt

Postby Redman » November 16th, 2018, 1:14 pm

I'm down with Pneumonia and then the smallman gimme the flu he bring from school.

So salt for the last month

Postby shogun » November 17th, 2018, 3:24 pm

^Damn dude. Ress up. Don't play with that combo nuh. Recipe for disaster.

VexXx Dogg wrote:Made the 100k. For me this is a huge achievement , especially since I incorporated some central range hills in the mix. Them Gran Couva hills alone does mash me up.

Congrats man. Effing epic.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 17th, 2018, 3:40 pm

I like the mountains
I tracked one way alone since back is mostly downhill
13km one way
Screenshot_20181117-153732.jpeg
Screenshot_20181117-153715.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 19th, 2018, 10:31 am

PariaMan wrote:I like the mountains
I tracked one way alone since back is mostly downhill
13km one way Screenshot_20181117-153715.jpegScreenshot_20181117-153732.jpeg

that is climb.

Them little hill down gran couva does give me thunder. Slow burn, granny gear for it. If I play brave and pump and climb it, I'll deplete all my reserves for the flats. Couple times I pounded the hills with a tallish gear (at least not the granny) and had to stop for a couple mins to ketch myself. Some dizziness hit me like a truck

Central Spokes had a ride from Arima to Blanchisseusse over the northern range last week. You mighta mash that up normal. I eh ready for that kinda climb yet.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 19th, 2018, 6:34 pm

Yep very draining next ride is in from Blanchisseuse to Morne la Croix and back will post up the elevation and distance

PariaMan

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby PariaMan » November 26th, 2018, 10:00 am

Blanchisseuse to Morne la Croix

Very tiring with lots of climbing
Screenshot_20181126-083249.jpeg
Screenshot_20181126-083403.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 26th, 2018, 10:57 am

Man that is some serious climb!
well done.

This was my sunday morning.
https://www.strava.com/activities/1984305864
20181125.png

Roads starting to get busy close to Xmas - I think I might have to avoid Chag/Enterprise/Munroe Rd/Piarco for a while. I actually had to spend time in traffic. On my bike. Imagine that. Road too narrow to split the lanes, and that main rd from enterprise to caroni full of ahole driving.

Next few weeks might head south.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 26th, 2018, 11:15 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Man that is some serious climb!
well done.

This was my sunday morning.
https://www.strava.com/activities/1984305864
20181125.png

Roads starting to get busy close to Xmas - I think I might have to avoid Chag/Enterprise/Munroe Rd/Piarco for a while. I actually had to spend time in traffic. On my bike. Imagine that. Road too narrow to split the lanes, and that main rd from enterprise to caroni full of ahole driving.

Next few weeks might head south.
Nice nice

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 26th, 2018, 11:36 am

That's a lot of miles covered

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 28th, 2018, 2:10 pm

For those that may be interested. Should be a fun ride for a good causeImage

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 14th, 2018, 10:06 pm

Decided I want another bike. Not road. I like the Cyclocross/Gravel bike flick.
It's a bridge between MTB and Road that I think is perfect for me. Want to nail some distances more than 100kms and the MTB is getting uncomfortable at that kinda distance.

Made a couple bids on fleabay and won this:
2015 specialized Diverge used, with a couple S-Works upgrades.
Hard to find a used bike that met what I wanted.
My wishlist was
2x11 drivetrain
Shimano 105 or better groupset
Hydro brakes

The only thing I think this didn't meet was my tyre width want of 700x35 or bigger. This comes in at 700x32c

Sending it from vendor using BikeFlights.com, then to seabox.
Hopefully I eh regret the total cost.

The only thing is that my MTB is 56 and this is 58. I'm just a tad under 6', so it should be fine.

Should compliment my existing MTB.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 18th, 2018, 5:34 pm

You told the seller not to put a receipt? Brought in two bikes valued at over 20k each. The exact same size. I paid $1000 each time to clear at aeropost.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Decided I want another bike. Not road. I like the Cyclocross/Gravel bike flick.
It's a bridge between MTB and Road that I think is perfect for me. Want to nail some distances more than 100kms and the MTB is getting uncomfortable at that kinda distance.

Made a couple bids on fleabay and won this:
2015 specialized Diverge used, with a couple S-Works upgrades.
Hard to find a used bike that met what I wanted.
My wishlist was
2x11 drivetrain
Shimano 105 or better groupset
Hydro brakes

The only thing I think this didn't meet was my tyre width want of 700x35 or bigger. This comes in at 700x32c

Sending it from vendor using BikeFlights.com, then to seabox.
Hopefully I eh regret the total cost.

The only thing is that my MTB is 56 and this is 58. I'm just a tad under 6', so it should be fine.

Should compliment my existing MTB.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 18th, 2018, 5:57 pm

First bike bought online, trying seabox instead because of the weight.

Didn't think about not including a receipt, but it's from a person, not a company so dunno how it will play out.

Hopefully I eh get buttfuck like the time I play fass and brought in a massive intercooler kit with piping thru Aeropost

Postby ismithx » December 23rd, 2018, 12:59 pm

Went for a ride today in blanchiseusse with some padnas... was nice, wiped out twice, was a good learning experience. Would only recommend this if you are experienced/have body armor
47056371_696123307449461_5335746798918157661_n.jpg
45337515_347026822783598_6137884010852405863_n.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 23rd, 2018, 8:14 pm

damn good time for that kinda climb!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 23rd, 2018, 8:15 pm

ismithx wrote:Went for a ride today in blanchiseusse with some padnas... was nice, wiped out twice, was a good learning experience. Would only recommend this if you are experienced/have body armor
where exactly you start and finish

Postby ismithx » December 23rd, 2018, 9:02 pm

wasn't a climb, was downhill from by the tstt cell tower down to the bottom of the arima bypass road

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 11th, 2019, 4:05 pm

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=738314&p=9871710&hilit=specialized#p9871710

Just in case anyone looking for a great deal on a used MTB

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2019, 4:11 pm

anybody look at dem mtb courts selling? Online reviews are surprisingly ok

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 11th, 2019, 5:52 pm

Land ranger?
Checked them out before buying elsewhere.

If it's what you can afford, that is fine.

Won't last with any sort of riding outside your block.

Cliffs: heavy frame, low quality components, cheap build. Expect shifting issues, maybe some flimsy drivetrain breakage. For suspension bikes, the shocks will likely bottom out or blow out.

I had experience with similar generic bike as a teenager, and that was mostly riding around 10-15kms from home.

For anyone wanting to so moderate to serious biking, don't buy that, because you're probably gonna have to double spend.

Postby ismithx » February 12th, 2019, 6:11 am

MG Man wrote:anybody look at dem mtb courts selling? Online reviews are surprisingly ok

Do yourself a favor and don't go there, if you want a good bike go a reputable bike shop and buy a used bike. The quality of them courts bikes is chalk compared to a good brand bike

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 12th, 2019, 6:42 am

Years ago my pal and I bought bikes together. I bought a trex and my buy bought a cheap bike

Hi intention was as things go bad he will buy good parts

One day while in chaguaramas while going over a hump the fork gave away

Ended up in hospital with 8 front teeth missing and a grated face

Postby MG Man » February 12th, 2019, 7:55 am

cool
thanks guys
I was just curious....will probably buy a used Felt or similar
My biggest problem right now is none of my vehicles can hold a bike rack :|
Well the MINI is built for a roof f=rack but that crap will cost more than the bike :|
Hoping to find something that would hang off the back of the MGF
Until then, going round and round my block

Postby 16 cycles » February 12th, 2019, 8:06 am

If front tire has quick release...you can part disassemble bike and fit it....seen ppl remove both wheels and fit bike in trunk of sedan...