Mountain Biking

Soul Collector

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby Soul Collector » April 3rd, 2019, 12:15 pm

Thanks for the insight and advice MG and Vexx! That's why I may put a little extra if need be to avoid the double spending.

I'll figure out where I'll be riding mostly and then do some research so when I go to the shops I'll at least have an idea of what I'm looking for.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 4th, 2019, 8:13 pm

If anyone interested, lightly used and too large for me. $450

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 9th, 2019, 10:27 am

Soul Collector wrote:Thanks for the insight and advice MG and Vexx! That's why I may put a little extra if need be to avoid the double spending.

I'll figure out where I'll be riding mostly and then do some research so when I go to the shops I'll at least have an idea of what I'm looking for.
Large would likely be your size. You won't get anything too good with that budget but honestly you probably won't even know the difference. Try and get a 27.5 or 29er at least. 26 will be a waste when you ready to upgrade it will be harder to sell. Stick to the major brands like trek, specialized, giant etc. Less chance stuff will break. Trek in particular has a rep of being tough.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 9th, 2019, 12:15 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:Thanks for the insight and advice MG and Vexx! That's why I may put a little extra if need be to avoid the double spending.

Large would likely be your size. You won't get anything too good with that budget but honestly you probably won't even know the difference. Try and get a 27.5 or 29er at least. 26 will be a waste when you ready to upgrade it will be harder to sell. Stick to the major brands like trek, specialized, giant etc. Less chance stuff will break. Trek in particular has a rep of being tough.
Yea my trex about 15 years and I have gone the worst places with it and going strong still

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 10th, 2019, 9:20 am

PariaMan wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Yea my trex about 15 years and I have gone the worst places with it and going strong still

I only got to check Bike Inn so far and the Fuji I was shown after describing what I'd like to do was around $4500 or so. It was only a quick visit and didn't get chance to go back to get the exact model of the Fuji & detailed specs as I can't recall all the stuff he was explaining to me.

My question however, is if I raised my budget to $5k max for the bike only, minus accessories, can that get me into Trek territory? From my reading online it's one of the MTB brands that stands out like you all say.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 10th, 2019, 9:26 am

Soul Collector wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

I only got to check Bike Inn so far and the Fuji I was shown after describing what I'd like to do was around $4500 or so. It was only a quick visit and didn't get chance to go back to get the exact model of the Fuji & detailed specs as I can't recall all the stuff he was explaining to me.

My question however, is if I raised my budget to $5k max for the bike only, minus accessories, can that get me into Trek territory? From my reading online it's one of the MTB brands that stands out like you all say.
Yes gene has the trek for around 5000

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 10th, 2019, 9:36 am

Thank you PariaMan! Will let you all know how it turns out.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2019, 9:40 am

also check Mike's for specialized. Good bang for buck.

If you also know your fit/framesize, also consider pre-owned on ebay. I got my current bike used for a fraction of the price locally. shipped with seabox

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 10th, 2019, 9:43 am

If I was more accustomed biking and had a better idea of size etc, I'd take the chance ordering but as a first timer in a way, I feel I need to get a feel for it in person to at least make sure I don't break meh ass lol. Will check the Specialized as well thanks. Saw it hovering at the top of the lists in my price range as well.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2019, 9:48 am

I hear ya.

Good luck with your purchase. Keep us posted and get some saddle time ASAP :)

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 10th, 2019, 10:57 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:also check Mike's for specialized. Good bang for buck.

If you also know your fit/framesize, also consider pre-owned on ebay. I got my current bike used for a fraction of the price locally. shipped with seabox
Best bang for buck here. I shipped mine with aeropost and paid $1000 to clear for a far from entry level bike. Op can go to the bike shop.,try the bikes and walk out.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 14th, 2019, 6:04 pm

today's run up Arena. Group of 12 of us....My Strava keeps conking out once i put it in my pocket....hadda find a solution for that.

https://video.relive.cc/6434810922_stra ... x-ref=site

Screen Shot 2019-04-14 at 6.06.34 PM.png

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 14th, 2019, 6:17 pm

Bess ride there pal.
I've been close to arena, but not on that road.
Regarding your dilemma, I got a Garmin wearable which has an auto sync to strava. Rides used to sap my phone battery and since I ride alone, I needed an active comms device.
A basic watch with hr capability is a couple hundred USD. A worthwhile spend if you're getting deeper into the rabbit hole

Postby ismithx » April 15th, 2019, 1:02 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:today's run up Arena. Group of 12 of us....My Strava keeps conking out once i put it in my pocket....hadda find a solution for that.

https://video.relive.cc/6434810922_stra ... x-ref=site

Screen Shot 2019-04-14 at 6.06.34 PM.png

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01IT ... UTF8&psc=1

very good, just electrical tape the two pieces together for security, phone will never come out of this

also how often does your group run and how can I join?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 19th, 2019, 10:56 am

Good Friday Ride
Screenshot_20190419-105443.jpeg

Postby MG Man » April 26th, 2019, 7:36 am

anybody ridden the trail in Gran Couva by the playground lately?
Is it still maintained, and safe for an early morning ride?
Gran Couva mtb trail.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 26th, 2019, 12:37 pm

Most of the roads in and around Gran couva are usually very quiet on a Sunday morning. Very little traffic. Can't speak to the conditions on Sat

Postby MG Man » April 26th, 2019, 1:27 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Most of the roads in and around Gran couva are usually very quiet on a Sunday morning. Very little traffic. Can't speak to the conditions on Sat

nah not the road, the actual dirt mtb trail
If you look at the map, there's a big playground. South of it among the trees, there was a decent mtb trail. There are vids of ppl riding it up to this same time last year
Thinking to try it out Sunday

Postby MG Man » April 27th, 2019, 8:13 am

so me and a few similarly unfit friends gonna try this trail tomorrow, say around 7, if any of you guys want to come and have a good laugh

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 27th, 2019, 8:18 am

MG Man wrote:so me and a few similarly unfit friends gonna try this trail tomorrow, say around 7, if any of you guys want to come and have a good laugh
How far is the trail

Postby MG Man » April 27th, 2019, 8:52 am

from the maps and youtube vids, it's just trails cut into the side of a hill. Not more than a couple km for the circuit

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2019, 10:05 am

MG Man wrote:so me and a few similarly unfit friends gonna try this trail tomorrow, say around 7, if any of you guys want to come and have a good laugh

I'll try to make it, but I'll be among the laughees, not the laughers :lol:

Postby MG Man » April 27th, 2019, 10:09 am

lol nice
Man now call and tell me that trail is real pressure...we'll see

Postby MG Man » April 28th, 2019, 12:24 pm

IMG_9710.JPG
IMG_9711.JPG
IMG_9706.JPG
IMG_9682.JPG
IMG_9686.JPG
IMG_9687.JPG
IMG_9694.JPG

Plenty walking / pushing (meem posting nobody else map to impress nobody)but epic adventure

That trail has some brutal uphills but enough flats, inclines, dips and views to be enjoyable

Postby De Dragon » April 28th, 2019, 9:24 pm

Couldn't make MG, wifey had a sudden death in her family and went wake last night so I had to take my daughter to an early am appointment.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 28th, 2019, 9:43 pm

MG Man wrote:IMG_9710.JPGIMG_9711.JPGIMG_9706.JPGIMG_9682.JPGIMG_9686.JPGIMG_9687.JPGIMG_9694.JPG

Plenty walking / pushing (meem posting nobody else map to impress nobody)but epic adventure

That trail has some brutal uphills but enough flats, inclines, dips and views to be enjoyable

Having fun is the most important part!
Well done

Postby MG Man » April 29th, 2019, 8:30 am

De Dragon wrote:Couldn't make MG, wifey had a sudden death in her family and went wake last night so I had to take my daughter to an early am appointment.

Sorry to hear that
I will definitely go back on any Sunday that I don’t have to work

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 29th, 2019, 10:39 am

Goshhhhh dred, yall men have me tizik here!! :D Hope to join in on some of the fun soooooooooooon! That trail above looks pretty awesome compared to the usual, noice.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 29th, 2019, 4:55 pm

Made a 92km loop this weekend. Usually I make the 100, but between headwinds and ahole drivers I just wanted to reach home.
One section in particular down longdenville I had to put down some brakes on a 40kmh power sprint...skid for 15+ft but thankfully eh hit the jackass who slam brakes and blind turn on me.

Wanna make a block from Couva, Piarco, talparo, back thru carlsen field side but don't know the road too well from San Rafael to caparo

Postby Monk BANzai » April 29th, 2019, 6:39 pm

MG Man wrote:IMG_9710.JPGIMG_9711.JPGIMG_9706.JPGIMG_9682.JPGIMG_9686.JPGIMG_9687.JPGIMG_9694.JPG

Nice nice...trail looks interesting.. might try it out.... *dials VexxDog

(lol at other ppl's maps...)