Mountain Biking

cutthroatInt

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby cutthroatInt » January 22nd, 2017, 10:30 am

If anyone is interested,I'm considering selling my Cannondale f500 26" mountain bike. Comes with everyting needed for road and offroad riding. Have road rims and slicks also offroad rims and knobbies. Tools, pump, ppe etc. Tuned by Larry of Cannondale and been stored since. Interested parties can inbox.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 26th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the shifter is Shimano from the pics I took. I assume the derailleur and gears are Shimano too.

I'd go with either a 29er or 27.5 bike. 26 inch wheels are old trend thing. May be harder to sell when you choose to upgrade. Plus the bigger wheels will handle the bumps better

IvanTerrors

Mountain Biking

Postby IvanTerrors » January 26th, 2017, 11:00 pm

Bough this fuji nevada at bike Inn, haven't done any trails as yet but looking forward to do the trails at chaguaramas. But how is it like? And where do you enter from? South man here.
Last edited by IvanTerrors on January 26th, 2017, 11:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 27th, 2017, 8:31 am

So I think I'm jumping back into the entry-level pool and getting a hardtail so I can get some mileage in to mix up/add to my running . My birthday present to myself.

Read thru this thread and the big 5 with support seem to be
Trek, Fuji, Specialized, Felt and Cannondale.

I had a Fuji Nevada (bought used on tuner!) before and it was good - but I was terribly overweight and never put much distance into it, a couple trails here and there. Sold it when I relocated.

This time, I'm a bit more fit so I think I'll get a new machine that matches my height/weight and something that I can probably put 20-30 km rides on. I can run a 10k no sweat, so riding 20+ shouldn't be that bad. I think after sales service/warranty and support is key to spending that kinda coin on a bike, so my purchase is a factor of both bottom line cost, as well as after-sales support.

Checking Geronimo this weekend, and probably the Cannondale folks next.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2017, 9:08 am

The Fuji at Bike Inn seemed to be the best price. Just looking for a bike to ride around with my son.

Actually forgot about Larry. I'll look into Cannondale this weekend.

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2017, 9:17 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The Fuji at Bike Inn seemed to be the best price. Just looking for a bike to ride around with my son. .

All that gear to ride around the block?
Best you gimme ah $800 and take my schwinn

Mountain Biking

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2017, 9:18 am

Nah eventually I'll hit the trails. But need some road practice first. I haven't ridden in years.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » January 27th, 2017, 1:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The Fuji at Bike Inn seemed to be the best price. Just looking for a bike to ride around with my son.

Didn't know we gonna start riding... :|

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Nah eventually I'll hit the trails. But need some road practice first. I haven't ridden in years.

Pffft
My fat ass didn't ride a bike for 20 years and my first ride with the schwinn was on a chaguaramas trail
Didn't injure mihself until the 4th ride

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2017, 2:46 pm

stikid09 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The Fuji at Bike Inn seemed to be the best price. Just looking for a bike to ride around with my son.

Didn't know we gonna start riding... :|

It was at that moment when stinkydog realized Duane already had a son

Postby Redman » January 27th, 2017, 9:08 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:So I think I'm jumping back into the entry-level pool and getting a hardtail so I can get some mileage in to mix up/add to my running . My birthday present to myself.

Read thru this thread and the big 5 with support seem to be
Trek, Fuji, Specialized, Felt and Cannondale.

I had a Fuji Nevada (bought used on tuner!) before and it was good - but I was terribly overweight and never put much distance into it, a couple trails here and there. Sold it when I relocated.

This time, I'm a bit more fit so I think I'll get a new machine that matches my height/weight and something that I can probably put 20-30 km rides on. I can run a 10k no sweat, so riding 20+ shouldn't be that bad. I think after sales service/warranty and support is key to spending that kinda coin on a bike, so my purchase is a factor of both bottom line cost, as well as after-sales support.

Checking Geronimo this weekend, and probably the Cannondale folks next.

The trek 820 is holding up well......I broke a rear axel while exercising and Geronimos had replacement and other parts.

They've serviced the bike 3 times in the last 2 years same day..

Brans

Postby Brans » January 31st, 2017, 1:40 pm

Brans wrote:On a side note, if anyone is looking for a Marlin 5 Bike i have one for sale. Have some Maxxiss High Rollers 2 on, hardly ridden.
20160615_065220.jpg

$3900. PM or whatsapp 756-6294 if interested.

Hey guys I dropped the asking price to $3600
contact if interested

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2017, 1:49 pm

Brans wrote:
Brans wrote:On a side note, if anyone is looking for a Marlin 5 Bike i have one for sale. Have some Maxxiss High Rollers 2 on, hardly ridden.
20160615_065220.jpg

contact if interested
what size frame is it? 19?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 31st, 2017, 3:08 pm

Brans wrote:
20160615_065220.jpg

contact if interested

21, I checked it out last week. It's in good condition, he also mentioned it has a new chain, was gonna take it myself but I deciding to go new.

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » January 31st, 2017, 4:01 pm

Haven't been on the forum in quite a while. Glad to see there's so much interest. Started MTB in 2015 and it's the most enjoyable fitness / training ever! i have a Fuji Outland 1.1 29er Full Suspension

I'm usually in Chaguaramas for 6:30 AM on Sundays and occasionally on Saturdays as well.

Anyone here know of any other trails though? We've been to Victory Heights (Tacarigua) and the ones in Gran Couva. Anybody ever did Brasso Seco to Paria?

30hz

Postby 30hz » January 31st, 2017, 11:48 pm

Terabyte wrote: We've been to Victory Heights (Tacarigua)

Victory heights have a trail??
I've been on the St Micheal Road(Tacarigua) trails(Maribonta),
real ketch ass, spend plenty time walking bike uphill

could see victory heights from there.

Terabyte

Re: RE: Re: Mountain Biking

Postby Terabyte » January 31st, 2017, 11:52 pm

30hz wrote:
Terabyte wrote: We've been to Victory Heights (Tacarigua)

Victory heights have a trail??
I've been on the St Micheal Road(Tacarigua) trails(Maribonta),
real ketch ass, spend plenty time walking bike uphill

could see victory heights from there.

I guess it's the same area I'm referring to. I understand that there are some more trails in the area now. Most likely will be checking it out this Sunday.

Brans

Postby Brans » February 2nd, 2017, 10:04 am

Brans wrote:
20160615_065220.jpg

contact if interested

Hey, its 21" as my friend here says. Im not sure if you know how Trek do their measurements but they have it as 21", actual size 20"

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » February 2nd, 2017, 9:29 pm

Looking for sum reasonable priced for. My Lil bro 1000 price Range. Mountain bike.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 2nd, 2017, 9:46 pm

I'm looking for a mountain bike as well. Budget about 2500

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 21st, 2017, 7:45 pm

Selling my >Fuji Nevada 1.5< if anyone interested, bike still under warranty from bike inn St. James.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 2nd, 2017, 10:55 pm

^ price? hydraulic brakes?

Postby MG Man » March 3rd, 2017, 6:25 am

U and this obsession wid hydraulic brakes

Postby ismithx » March 3rd, 2017, 8:24 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ price? hydraulic brakes?

padna, you don't need hydraulic. If you tune your brakes right and use them properly you can get by just fine

Postby sMASH » March 3rd, 2017, 8:37 am

^^ need hydraulic for the abs to work properly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 3rd, 2017, 8:57 am

Oh goar. I ask the man if the bike he's selling has hydraulic brakes, not if hydraulic brakes are necessary.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 3rd, 2017, 10:02 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Oh goar. I ask the man if the bike he's selling has hydraulic brakes, not if hydraulic brakes are necessary.

Yes front and rear, $4500. I left a link to my for sale post.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 3rd, 2017, 8:56 pm

Duane there's also a Trek Xcaliber-7 looks like the 2016 model on the misc forum.
Looks like a killer deal too.
I sorta have my mind set on a new specialized, else I woulda take either this Fuji or the Trek

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 3rd, 2017, 9:31 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Duane there's also a Trek Xcaliber-7 looks like the 2016 model on the misc forum.
Looks like a killer deal too.
I sorta have my mind set on a new specialized, else I woulda take either this Fuji or the Trek

Thanks. Will check it out.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 5th, 2017, 7:47 pm

Got this yest.
Specialized pitch comp 650b. Man, this thing purrs like a kitten. Lovely shimano components, and shimano hydro brakes good 27.5x2.1" tyres. Still have to fine tune ride height a little tho.
First ride in over 8 years and I put down a 35Kms ride in 90 mins on mixed terrain. Bear in mind, I never did distance riding before eh, but I'm a little better conditioned now.
My only gripe is that the handlegrips are harsh and made my fingers numb after an hour. Seat comfy and pedals, although prob not the best, good for my big and wide feet.
They also threw in a free helmet, and of course I take the faux carbon fiber look one to match the matte black bike ;)

AH LOVE IT